Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 is just as good as part 1
After hearing that down we're releasing 4 eps instead of an album I thought this was a bit of a gimmick and maybe it is but I can honestly say that after the first 2 ep releases I can't wait to hear part 3 and part 4,Phil and the lads are on top stoner doom form and I've listened to this(part2)at least 20 times since I got it,the team super group is a very lose term in...
Published 11 months ago by ricky cole

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anselmo strikes again
If it wasnt for the presence of phil anselmo then i would be giving this album 5 stars. The music itself is pretty awesome. Big fat de-tuned riffs but surprisingly tuneful and with some very interesting melodies, the opening track 'steeple' being a fine example. I was loving it until old phil appears and murders the whole thing with his tuneless, 'tough-guy' (sic)...
Published 4 months ago by The lone voice of reason


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 is just as good as part 1, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
After hearing that down we're releasing 4 eps instead of an album I thought this was a bit of a gimmick and maybe it is but I can honestly say that after the first 2 ep releases I can't wait to hear part 3 and part 4,Phil and the lads are on top stoner doom form and I've listened to this(part2)at least 20 times since I got it,the team super group is a very lose term in music but this is a proper super group,all the influences are there from ihategod,C.O.C,pantera and the major influence of black sabbath and trouble can't be denied either,in summing up part one an two are must haves and part three and four will be must gets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O.M.G.!!!!!! TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
This latest Down IV Part 2 EP is absolutely AWESOME! So heavy, with real gutsy riffs and pounding bass it delivers everything we have been waiting for since the release of Down IV Part 1. Phil Anselmo's voice is just going from strength to strength with each new album. If you're a Down fan you can't be without this. I can't rate it highly enough as I just LOVE IT! There's not a single weak track on it. There's just not enough bands around of this calibre. Keep making them like this guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down - Down IV Part II, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
Down IV Part 2 is the American Metal super-group Down’s 2014 release. As its title suggests, it is the second in a series of EPs released under the Down IV title, following up 2012’s “Down IV Part I – The Purple EP.” It was produced by Michael Thompson along with the band themselves and released independently.

This was the band’s first official release without longtime member Kirk Weinstein of Crowbar fame, who is replaced here by Bobby Landgraf. Ironically, this EP is probably closer in sound to Crowbar than to Pantera, Eyehategod or Corrosion Of Conformity (the other groups besides Crowbar that the band are usually associated with).

First up, for an EP, this is actually pretty substantial, a total running time of almost 37 minutes leaves it longer than many albums anyway.

The focus of songwriting this time around seems to focus on the heavier, mid-paced side of the band’s repertoire. I don’t think the distinction between EPs 1 & 2 is all that strict, as in, its not a clear cut case of one has all the fast songs, one has all the slow songs, or one has all the basic songs and the other has all the progressive songs. This EP is essentially more of the Down mid-ground. Its not the most “instant” release in their catalogue, and may take a few spins to really get to grips with, but if you give it the time it asks for, you’ll get the rewards it promises.

Highlights include the brief “Hogshead/Dogshead,” and “Sufferer’s Years,” which is particularly catchy with its “I hate this time of year” sing-along, and the fat ‘60s/’70s sounding riffs in the pre-chorus. It is a nice mixture of the bands Doom, Sludge & Stoner sides, approaching vintage Hard Rock in 2014 from multiple angles. This is perhaps the most definitively “Down” track on the album, and hopefully it will become a concert staple.

The record ends with the almost nine-minute long “Bacchanalia,” one of the looser and more jam-feeling songs on the record. You imagine it got its title from the drunken party in which it probably spawned (as opposed to a secret love of Batman No Man’s Land). This track in turn ends with a softer acoustic moment, likely foreshadowing Down IV Part 3 as the promised all-acoustic EP originally mentioned when the band come up with splitting the album into different EPs.

Overall; this is not necessarily bold new ground for the band, and the focus on mostly similar direction material may leave some fans feeling an acute lack of variety or excitement, but for what it is, to me personally, Down IV Part II is an entertaining collection of Down songs and a worthy addition to the catalogue. If you’re burned out by the formula, or want something fresh and new from these guys, maybe give it a miss, but if you can’t get enough Down, then by all means jump on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, easily digestible meal, 17 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
Down are an amazing band and have a number of albums which prove that. These albums however whilst of a very high quality have tended to feel overlong (in my opinion), Fine for lazy evenings but quite hard to digest without the fleeting gift of free time. These EPs that Down have been releasing have been very welcome, in that while there is less material contained on the CD it feels like a solid piece of work which you can dig much deeper with, meaning you can give each song the attention it deserves.

The song ‘Steeple’ which kicks off this EP starts off like it is going to be a slow grinder before stepping up a gear and blasting all in its path like some crazy hyper Godzilla, the song veers between powerful slow rhythms and blistering leads. ‘We knew Him Well...’ Has a refrain that recalls ‘Battalion of Zero’s’ from Anselmo’s own ‘Walk Through Exits Only’ album. ‘Cunjure’ is perhaps a bit too obvious in its aping of Black Sabbath but is still an excellent slow burner of a song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing, 29 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
awesome Ep Down 4 part 2 is as good as part 1, all strong tunes. Keep up the horns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Heavy and..., 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
Favorite band. Sincere and always passionate about their music. Their masterpieces though go back at their first 3 albums.
This new attempt concerning the releases of ep's that they have chosen, is still heavy. Black Sabbath is here, C.O.C. is here and hard rocking is also here. The two opoening tracks are super heavy and up tempo. ''Conjure'' continues doom. At ''sufferer's years'' Phil gives an awesome performance. 4 blasting songs and 2 so and so. Personal opinion and mood. Nice digipack. Support the bands that you like. Welcome back guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The other E.P.........at last, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down IV - Part 2 (MP3 Download)
Quality control has definitely been high on this one. A great continuance of the themes from the last E.P, put together they form quite a body of work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down continue their rich vein of form even without Kirk Windstein., 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
The big news prior to the release of this album was that founding member and guitarist Kirk Windstein had decided to quit Down to fully concentrate on Crowbar. I, like others, was concerned about how this would affect the band. Kirk is well known as being the so-called 'Riff Lord' and that he no doubt is, but I guess this just shows how underestimated Pepper Keenan is and if you take a quick look and the past Down records' writing credits, you will see that Keenan is by far a bigger contributor to the song writing process, especially on their classic debut 'NOLA.'
Opening track 'Steeple' roars into life, with an unusual Phil Anselmo growl, a heavy and drawn out down tuned chord based intro before shifting up through the gears to a fast paced Thrash / Old School Heavy Metal riff frenzy.
Single 'We Knew Him Well' confirms that they can still write awesome riffs without Kirk and the down tuned, blues based second riff carries the song well, my personal favourite.
'Conjure' is about as close to Black Sabbath as you get without actually being Messrs Osborne, Iommi, Ward and Butler and you would swear you'd have heard the verse before.
'Bacchanalia' is a near 9 minutes long epic, but could almost be classed as two different parts, as there is a long drawn acoustic outro, that follows the bulk of the song performed on electric guitar.
The half-moon on the side of the album covering suggests that the band at least still intends to fulfil its promise of 4 EP's, so hopefully, there is at least another 2 Down EP's on the way, and if they maintain the standards set by Parts 1 and 2 we're in for a real treat.
A cracking EP that, while not as good as Part 1, is nevertheless a very addition to the Down catalogue, if you love down tuned, Black Sabbath-esque riffs, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part 2, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
K. Grundy "Grundog" (Donnington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down IV - Part 2 (MP3 Download)
"Conjure" is an exceptional track. If you are into early Sabbath, and bluesy riffs. This is a must.
Nola - the first down album was perfection first track to last. This album - definitely a must have for all stoners...
Looking forward to their slot at Bloodstock festival in August
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down lV Part 2., 9 Aug. 2014
By 
H. C. Davison (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv - Part 2 (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my son. He loves Down lV Part 1 and this is as good if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down IV - Part 2
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews