Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'LEGENDARY 'SCOTTISH' HERO 'WILLIAM WALLACE' (STUNNING MOVIE)
Among one of the Greatest
Movies of all time, if but straying from historic accuracy, for me, it's a great watch.
It tells the story of 'William Wallace' who became a legendary 'Scottish' Hero during the
reign of 'King Edward 1st' known as 'Edward Longshanks' a tyrannical and oppressive
ruler between 1272 and 1307
'William Wallace' was born in...
Published 11 months ago by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
Positives- Moving soundtrack, lovely cinematography, Well fleshed out main character with clear motivation.
Negatives - historically flawed, a little obsessed with graphic torture, and rather anti-English in content.
Published 1 month ago by Lee09


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'LEGENDARY 'SCOTTISH' HERO 'WILLIAM WALLACE' (STUNNING MOVIE), 19 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Among one of the Greatest
Movies of all time, if but straying from historic accuracy, for me, it's a great watch.
It tells the story of 'William Wallace' who became a legendary 'Scottish' Hero during the
reign of 'King Edward 1st' known as 'Edward Longshanks' a tyrannical and oppressive
ruler between 1272 and 1307
'William Wallace' was born in 1270 and was executed by order of 'Longshanks' 23rd of
August 1305.....The charge against him - High Treason
After his Father and Brother were killed in battle, young 'William' went to live with his uncle
'Argyle'
During his years living with his uncle 'William' was taught many things including the art of
Combat.
When of age 'William' returns to the lands of his Childhood, there he re-meets the young
girl, now all grown-up of course that gave him a thistle at his Father and Brothers funeral
years past.
After seeing the injustices to both himself and kinsmen which included the mindless killing
of his now wife, 'William' was able to persuade his fellow Countrymen to follow him in an
effort to escape the cruelty dished out by 'King Edward'
Early on he led his men to many famous victories over the 'Kings' forces including 'Stirling
Bridge' in September '1297' after which 'William Wallace' was appointed 'Guardian of Scotland'
This post he relinquished less than a year on after a crushing defeat at 'Falkirk' where he had
been betrayed by his own.
His ultimate capture some 8 years later 'August 1305 in 'Robroyston'
This arguably one of the finest role's 'Mel Gibson' ever played (He also directed the Film)
Perhaps the film strays from Historical fact from time to time, however many of the incidents
depicted are based on true happenings.
The film contains some of the most graphic and intense battle scenes ever brought to screen,
this a sprawling epic of outstanding quality.
The Film does contain graphic violence and torture sequences.
A Monument built to reflect 'William Wallace's' loyalty and bravery in the 'Scottish' cause still
stands today near 'Stirling Bridge' the scene of his most famous victory.
STEELBOOK EDITION - GREAT COLLECTORS ITEM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget historical accuracy just enjoy the ride, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
IP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Braveheart [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

When I see quality films like this I have to wonder why all films aren't made with the same passion and spirit as this one! While the film played footloose and fancy free with historical facts is of little or no consequence when the end result is a high calibre Epic, of which many (myself included) deem to be a modern day masterpiece!

Those fight scenes are filmed in such an epic and brutal way that they will never be topped. Patrick McGoohan is brilliant as Longshanks, and it makes Scotland look amazing, despite most of it being filmed in Ireland. It has enough violence, humour, cheese, romance and film making skills to please everyone.

When Wallace gave his rousing cry of freedom speech before his men I swear a battle cry was welling up in my throat as my hand searched for a sword that wasn't there! At that split second I knew I would follow him into battle and if need be I'd die for him from the comfort of my easy chair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOLD, HOLD, HOLD, HOLD, NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 1 April 2015
By 
MR SCULLY (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Braveheart [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films ever made, I know a lot of people say the true facts in this film are all wrong, but there is one thing you can't take away from this film and that is the stunning music which was composed by James Horner, for me this has been his best ever score to date. The other great thing about this film are the battle scenes, they were so brutal, the best battle was when the English attack on there horses but the scots were hiding their long spears. What got me was when William Wallace(Mel Gibson) was saying HOLD, HOLD, HOLD, HOLD, NOW!!!!! and then the scots pulled up their spears to stop the English in there tracks, then Wallace and shouts CHARGE!!!!!!! and the scots attack the English army, then there is a great battle of blood and guts flying everywhere. This Is a brilliant film and one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the legend becomes fact, print the legend, 4 Jun. 2015
Let's be clear, the history is on very, very shaky ground. The bridge from the important battle of Stirling Bridge missing, Robert The Bruce's role in the wars of the Independence is rewritten completely, and the William Wallace's of this film bares little resemblance to the historical Wallace. Same goes with Edward 1 who was a rather splendid King of England and not the monster portrayed here. And yet...this movie is incredible and moving and exciting and epic as only Hollywood can make. So, throw away the text books and brace Mel Gibson's stirring, action packed epic as pure escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray quality, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Well,
My Braveheart blu-ray arrived yesterday morning,and I watched it last night,no review of the actual film,EVERYBODY has seen it,I,m reviewing the blu-ray quality.
I read that the first 15-20 minutes of this film is so-so quality,and gets much better afterwards,well,I didn,t see so-so quality,I think this is a really beautiful transfer,and the sound quality is tremendous,you think you,re actually at the Battle of Stirling!!!
Whoever was behind this glorious transfer deserves all the plaudits going,I haven,t checked the Special Features yet,I would highly recommend this blu-ray,if you have seen Braveheart,this is the only way to watch it,it knocks spots of the dvd,if you haven,t seen it,jeez are you in for a treat.
I,m not comparing it to any other blu-ray,Braveheart stands on it,s own blu-ray quality,a MUST buy.
Davy Cairns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hollywood medievil die hard., 15 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As acurate historicaly as Robin hood prince of thieves (climbing hadrians wall on the way from dover to nottingham ?)this is a lads action movie very loosely based on a rough time in history ,when one of England's most ruthless kings tried to annexe scotland and buggered it up somewhat lol, like most hollywood epics it's nonsense most of it ,but this is a great action movie , great music , great acting and directing,if not taken too serious by certain english and scottish "historians"there is some truth in the script ,but most of it is fantasy, where was the bridge at the stirling bridge battle?Ienjoyed it and it'll take pride in my collection .Wallace was a hero but in a very dark time in history ,a time we cannot judge by our standards, and Edward did have every man ,woman and child killed in Berwick, even by those dark days was brutal and enough to upset the old haggis bashers . lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray barbarian, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
William Wallace leads a Scottish rebellion against the King of England, Edward I. A stirring nationalistic epic that takes more than a few liberties with historical accuracy in the interests of delivering cinematic entertainment, but it is acted and directed with great gusto, creating a sense of myth and legend with its sweep and passion. As for Mel Gibson in the leading role, it wasn't so much his faux Scottish accent that let him down, rather it was some of his cheeky facial expressions that I'm sure I have seen in one or other of his Lethal Weapon outings.

As a Blu-Ray film this is far better than the standard DVD, so in the faint possibility that you have yet to see Braveheart, and assuming you have the necessary HD hardware of course, then this is surely the best version to watch. It isn't quite as good as the very latest high-definition films but it's nevertheless a worthwhile choice. The audio options included English/French/German 5.1 dts, and another with a commentary by Mel Gibson. Subtitles are in English, French, German, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish and Dutch. Spoken language options are English, French, and German. Special features include 'William Wallace's World', a re-run of the film with in-set maps and historical commentary about Wallace and the lives of the Scottish in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 24 Feb. 2007
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braveheart [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Those that have yet to watch this would do well to take advantage of such a bargain. Whilst it is not an accurate account of time gone by it is enjoyable to watch. Braveheart is a film that won't bore you and will keep you on your toes. I enjoy it every time I watch it and can't help but want the Scots to win (despite being English!) I've got one or two issues with Mel Gibsons 'scottish' accent but its not that bad. Despite a long running time of 171 minutes I find this flies by. Don't be put off by the not so accurate historical facts. This does not hurt what is in all fairness an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 7 April 2015
By 
L. R. Everitt (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film to watch with a great cast of actors and actresses even though it is historically not correct in places. Mel Gibson is also great in the lead role as always never lets us down. As much as I enjoyed this film and would also recommend it to all to add to their collection I somtimes wonder what this already great film would of been like if the great Liam Neeson was in the lead role ?. To understand what I mean watch another great film called Rob Roy then all will become clear. Regardless of aa that this film is a must have in my opinion and hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...A Cun-Three Of Hour Owen!" - Braveheart on BLU RAY, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Re-watching 1995's "Braveheart" on a 2009 BLU RAY - you're struck by several things...

The downsides - Mel Gibson's truly awful mime of a Scottish accent (title above)...his ludicrous hair and wigs...and it just goes on for too long.

Upsides - Mel was also the most handsome man on the planet at the time of filming, Patrick McGoohan was chillingly brilliant as Longshanks The King, it had loads of tremendous support actors throughout (Brian Cox as Wallace's Uncle, Brendan Gleeson as Hamish his friend, Angus MacFayden as the Scottish King in waiting, David O'Hara as a fighting clansman, Ian Bannen as the Leper and the mad-eyed James Cosmo). And to top it all off - you get both Catherine McCormack and Sophie Marceau in the same film - easily two of the most beautiful women in the world. And of course there's also James Horner's haunting musical score - a beautiful air played on the Pipes which kicks in at key moments in the story; it can still bring a tear to your eye and a quickening to the pulse...

But most of the time you are seriously impressed with the cleaned up PRINT - because on BLU RAY - "Braveheart" is BEAUTIFUL to look at - it really is. Apart from a few lines in the opening shots of the Highlands, the transfer is almost faultless throughout and really adds to your enjoyment of the scenery, the costumes and the fantsically well-staged battle scenes. In fact, I also now remember why I liked it so much at the time - it had passion and fire - like "Gladiator" did - and still does.

The original bonus material remains intact, there's two extra hours of added-on special features and the whole 2-Disc set now comes in a tasty outer card wrap (like the Bond titles).

On BLU RAY "Braveheart" is a very handsome thing indeed - a sweetheart. And it has never looked this good and that's for damn sure.

Recommended.

PS: for other superb restorations on BLU RAY, see also my reviews for "The Italian Job", "Saturday Night, Sunday Morning", "The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner", "Zulu", "The Dambusters", "Quo Vadis", "North By Northwest", "Cool Hand Luke", "The Prisoner - The Complete (TV) Series In High Definition", "Goldfinger", "The Ladykillers", "Snatch" and "The African Queen"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Braveheart - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1995]
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews