Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice on Living and Writing, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
I love the cover art for this book. It couldn’t be much clearer that it is about learning as a horror writer. This isn’t just a book about the technical side of writing though. Some of the articles in this book pay attention to how you should conduct yourself. It basically boils down to not being a douche. This advice has very little to do with writing and everything to do with being a human being that anybody would want to be in a room with. This couldn’t be made more clear than by Theresa Derwin in her contribution about women in horror. I’ve exchanged emails with Theresa and she has sent me books to review in the past. She’s always come across as professional and I’ve never considered her gender before. I haven’t needed to. That is the point. I didn’t reply to her emails asking for naked pictures or by asking inappropriate questions, and I certainly didn’t try to belittle her because of her gender. Neither should you to her or anybody else! I’ll get off my soapbox now but please remember to treat everybody well. It is good manners and you never know who will be in what position in the future. As one of the authors in this book says ‘DO NOT BURN BRIDGES’.

On to the more technical aspects of this book. There are a lot of contributors in this book and they all have something different and useful to say. A lot of it is just as applicable to me as a reviewer and office worker as it is to a working author. There are some really good pieces of advice in here that are very specific about what makes good horror. Even as a horror reader they made me think about books I’ve read.

Most importantly for me I finished this book and already had a list of some books and authors that I need to check out. The article by Simon Marshall-Jones resonated so much that I stopped reading this book and bought a Spectral Press book there and then.

This is a really interesting book that is useful to anybody with an interest in the Horror genre. With a price of £0.77 it is cheaper than a packet of crisps. With four hundred pages packed with advice it is not only a good read but a reference book to come back to when you are struggling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this Book, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
This book has to be the best purchase of the year! Besides proving wrong the naysayers who for the last 30 years have bleated: 'Horror is dead' - yeah, about as dead as post-modern zombies! - there is invaluable advice from those who know.

Whether you practice quiet horror or gore-ror, whether you're a seasoned warrior - as Voltaire said, to hold a pen is to be at war - or a tender greenfoot, BUY THIS BOOK. Sorry to shout but it needs shouting about. I only wish it had been around when I started out back in '85 (19, not 18. Cheeky. ;o)

If you're serious about your craft, buy this book. If you want that extra edge or push, buy this book. If you've finished an opus and you're not sure what to do next, buy this book.If you enjoy good writing, buy this book. Did I say you should buy this book?

And if I were you, I'd do it before the price goes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice from some great writers, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
An essential collection of tips and advice - looking forward to the paperback version too since I like scribbling notes in margins! Recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way forward...well yes, it is., 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
Whilst Horror 101: The way forward is not a technical instructional manual it is a useful guide written in the spirit of "How to write Tales of Horror, Fantasy & Science Fiction" (J.N. Williamson) for a new generation. For a more technical book, which covers the fundamentals with diagrams etc. I’d recommend one of the “Teach yourself books”.
That aside, I personally believe that this book, coupled with "The Elements of Style" (William Strunk and E.B.White) and "Bullies, Bastards & Bitches" (Jessica Page Morrell) is all the modern writer will ever need. It covers everything from self-publishing to traditional, it ponders over the necessity of an agent. Also covered (which you do not get with other books of this kin) is how and where to get the best support within the field (which in this case is the H.W.A. or Horror Writers Association). How to market, pitch, and write comics, screenplays, and poetry! It will teach you how to ghostwrite, prepare an audio book, and write for kids, review, and how to set up a website! How to edit, how to respond to rejection, network, how to grow ideas! What this does not cover is not worth knowing about. The best in the field dispense advice, talented writers such as Gary McMahon, Ramsey Campbell, Graham Masterton, Jack Ketchum, Mort Castle, and Ellen Datlow to name but a few…
If you want to learn more about this business, then this is the book for you. I’ve read a lot of books like this and none comes close to this on a scale of excellence. None.
Truly, this is the way forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for writers of horror, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
There are a number of books aimed at the would be horror writer. Some of them are rather good (Stephen Kings' 'On Writing), and some of them are...well, let's try to forget about those. Horror 101: The Way Forward, I'm pleased to say is not only one of the better ones, but to my mind, the best. Praise indeed, but just take a look at what is on offer here:
Advice on prose and style: Check
Working habits: Check
Writing for screen, comics and audio books: Check
Editing: Check
Promotion: Check
Submitting and formatting: Check
I could go on and on, but suffice to say, if there is another book so stuffed to the gills with advice and help, I have yet to find it. This has it all. Suffering from writers block or lack of inspiration? Mark West and Emma Audsley are there to help. Thinking of creating a website to promote your masterpiece? Then Michael Wilson has just the article for you. Want to find an editor or write a kindle book, yep, you guessed it, all covered. And these guys (and gals) know what they're talking about. Too many books of this sort are put together by writers who's only publishing credit is the 'how to book' with their name on it. With Horror 101 though, you have banquet of talent. Authors like Graham Masterton, Edward Lee and Ramsey Campbell; these people know their craft and are more than happy to share their insights with you. It's like attending a week long camp with your favorite writers but without the hangover.
I could go on and on about this title, but I will end in saying that as a fledgling writer myself, this has, and continues to be invaluable. If you want to write (and not just horror, as it is beneficial to all writers) then you need this book. Simple as that.

Inspirational. Helpful. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a lot to recommend about this book, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
There's a lot to recommend about this book. All of the advice inside is concise, no-nonsense stuff aimed at kicking the beginning, pro, or talented writers prone to procrastination and self doubt a swift kick up the behind. I particularly enjoyed Jack Ketchum's chapter. The writing exercises are valuable as well, since what's the point of reading all of this professional advice on how to write if you're not putting anything to paper as well. Even non writers will probably find this interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, informative & fun., 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
An essential collection of essays written by some of the leading voices in the genre today. Each contribution gives a genuine insight into what it means to be a writer & how this ambition might be achieved (even by a wannabe like me). Anyone who aspires to see their own work in print needs to read this book. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to write horror? Get this., 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horror 101: The Way Forward (Kindle Edition)
This is a superb book if you want to learn about writing horror. Simples!

A Slow Burn: A Post-Apocalyptic Horror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horror 101: The Way Forward
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews