Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
139
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.88
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2014
Monster In His Eyes (Monster In His Eyes, #1) by JM Darhower
5 amazing stars!!

“Love means seeing the beauty in the ugly, the light in the dark, and accepting that even if the lights are off…turning yourself inside out, handing yourself over to somebody else, and trusting them…trusting them to touch you, to handle you, to bend you, but never, ever break what you give them.”

I absolutely adore this author, after being introduced to Sempre and Sempre Redemption last year, JM Darhower became an auto buy author for me. I couldn’t wait to start this book so as soon as I got it, it was opened…and then time ceased to exist, so did the world, the kids, the husband, the house work, everything. I was totally and utterly captivated until I read the last word on the last page, so engrossing is this book that you feel as if you have only been reading five minutes when in fact it has been hours.

JM Darhowers style of writing is mesmerising, it pulls you in from the first word, perfectly paced, perfectly balanced and full of plot twists and turns that will keep you guessing from start to finish. A book full of suspense and intrigue as well as a broken yet enigmatic man called Ignazio Vitale aka Naz.

“Be careful what you ask,” he says quietly, his hands drifting along my jeans to cup my ass. “The answers aren’t always pretty.”

Naz is a man that you should “hate” yet you cannot help but love him, there is something about this man that sucks you in, the way his persona is conveyed through words draws you into his life, his world and grabs a hold of you and never lets you go. He is very guarded, secretive, possessive, alpha and incredibly hot. So charismatic on one hand yet terrifying on the other. You know there is more to the man, you want to know and yet you are only slowly drip fed his story, but this only makes his character more enthralling, it is like JM Darhower has the bait on a hook and keeps dragging it slowly away, keeping you moving towards the prize and Naz is definitely some prize. At 36 years old, he is experienced, a man of the world yet is so totally and utterly captivating Karissa didn’t stand a chance.

“And I ate you alive, sweetheart. You never had a chance.”

Karissa was a beautiful character on the inside and out, 18 years old, young and naïve, a student and away from home for the first time. Her mum has warned her of the dangers and yet she cannot help but disregard those warnings when it comes to Naz. Intrigued that this man would even be remotely interested in her the power of his seduction is evident in the pages and you cannot help but dance the dance with them. You know that it is so wrong, yet you cannot help but feel it is so right and champion them along. Karissa knows that Naz is dangerous, yet he is like her crack and she cannot help but keep going back for another hit.

“And I know it when I look at him, seeing such serenity in his expression. I want every cell of him in every cell of me, because when he’s inside of me, I feel beautiful. I feel strong. I feel like I know what love means.”

I really cannot spill anymore without giving away too much of the story. All I can say is that this book deserves to be read, devoured and inhaled. The chemistry between these two is seriously off the charts, the words are fluid and powerful and the age gap between the two pales into insignificance. Could this really be a Cinderella style fairytale? With curve balls thrown from all angles you will be left reeling, left like a wanton hussy waiting for the next instalment. I seriously cannot wait, once again JM Darhower has pulled me in and I for one will be the first in line to read the conclusion to this fantastic story. Naz Vitale is already calling, he is like a siren, Fall 2014 cannot come quick enough.

“I fell in love with him, and that’s what destroyed me in the end.
He says he would never hurt me, but he doesn’t realize he already has.
He hurt me by loving me.
By being who he is.
Because I am who I am.”

Go 1click, you won’t be disappointed!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
What can I say, I love Bad Men I'm instantly drawn to them and this book has one his name is Ignazio Vitale.
He had this Dark Dominance about him that just drew me in. You know straight away he's not a good man but he has this way about him that just captivates you.
This story was intense, just waiting for secrets to be revealed.
A chance meeting at college for student Karrisa brings her face to face with a handsome older stranger.
She's instantly attracted to him and can't believe he shows interest in her, a nobody. She's just an ordinary girl.
Karrisa is swept off her feet, who is this man that people fall over themselves to help wherever he goes.
It's all fun and she likes the excitement that being with a man like Naz provides. She's head over heels in no time, but things are never quite that simple.
Things happen that have her questioning the Dark side she knows is there, but chooses to ignore.
Just who is this man she's in love with, who is the Real Ignazio and will she feel the same way when she discovers the Monster behind those eyes.
I loved this book, can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Interesting story. It's not badly written in terms of grammar and stuff, but.....it's half written almost like poetry or a mythical dream. I like a books that are written as people would speak and think otherwise I find it hard to connect with the characters. I didn't think there was much.....depth or development to the characters in this book and there could have been a lot more depth. I'm not sure I'll read the same book if it's just more of the same. In summary; good plot, some interesting ideas not fully exploited.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
First I must say that I love the writing style of J.M. Darhower. Her books ‘Made’ and ‘Sempre’ for me were exceptional. But I think the author tried a new direction with Monster in his Eyes and ability to draw you into the characters got slightly lost in this book.

I enjoyed the story and plot very much when things actually started to get going, which was about 50% into the book. The first half was a chore to read. The book is written from Karissa’s point of view, but for me, had too much internal dialogue. There should have been more dialogue and interaction with Karissa and Naz as I couldn't form any kind of connection with either of them to begin with. I could see Karissa’s attraction in Naz, but couldn’t see why he fell for Karissa. She wasn’t exceptional looking, had no talent, and wasn’t academically smart. She came across as rather dull. I understand she is young and naive but there was nothing really endearing about her. I also wasn’t keen on the rough sex scene! It’s not passionate and defiantly not romantic to read about.

Having said that, after the initial slow start I slowly began to be sucked into the story and enjoyed the rest of the book very much. The good points of the book are the suspense and intrigue. Everyone is connected somehow! The author has an excellent way of dropping the right amount of breadcrumbs to make you want to read more. She leaves you wondering what direction the books going to take and you can’t stop reading. I thought the ending was brilliant and I will definitely be reading the follow on. I would recommend this book, although you may find yourself skim reading the first half to get to the good bits!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Firstly I'd like to thank this author for saving me from a massive reading slump. I've read so much dross of late that I have to admit that I read the 5 star reviews thinking, "whatever!". I was desperate to find a book with shiny 5 star reviews that was actually worthy of them. So like I said, thanks for taking away the pessimism, even if only for a little while!
This book was really well executed. Yes there were a few editing/grammatical errors, and yes it's in a series, which I have to say is a bit of an irritant for me, so 4.5 stars instead of 5...however, the quality of writing, the gripping plot, engaging characters and overall writing style swung the balance to the higher end. It was so refreshing to read a well thought out story that is an actual story, not just a an excuse for pointless, mindless, constant sex scenes. The raunchy scenes are there, and they are definitely steamy, but they couldn't be further removed from some of the unrealistic rubbish I've had the misfortune to read of late. They are so well written and for me served a purpose, other than just being there as soft porn, which seems to have become the norm in this genre. The scenes served to add to the development of the main protagonists' relationship, complementing and adding to the book as a whole, rather than overwhelming and ruining it. The Mafia inspired plot was believable, well thought out, and with not a low budget afternoon film scene in sight. Really well balanced...will definitely be reading the sequel and if the standard remains, many more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Okay, this isn't easy for me, because I really love the author and I so wanted to love the book. I really tried to love it. But it wasn't until the 70% mark that it started to really grab my attention.

Unfortunately, until then it was drawn out and very repetitive. Maybe I just couldn't relate to the heroine Karissa. I don't do well with weak heroines and this is what Karissa appeared like to me. She had no personality at all and that makes it impossible give a damn about her.

She meets a guy who screams danger, and not the let's smoke some pot and make out in the parking lot kind of danger. She even recognizes that about him. Yet her brain cells seem to have gone on vacation. For the first 70% she either has sex with him, or thinks about having sex with him or misses him because she can't have sex with him. And when she takes a short break from that, she obsesses over how she isn't good enough for him.
I'm sorry, but no, just no. I can't relate or respect a character who suddenly forgets everything around her, who only lives and breathes for the guy. It drove me insane and I couldn't see what Naz saw in her. Not that he was perfect by any means. Besides being a dangerous, bad man, he's also somewhat of a jerk towards her. I personally would have given him a swift kick to the groin and went my merry way. But that's besides the point.
I couldn't get a feel for why they care about each other. There wasn't an explanation why Karissa is so fascinated by him, why she likes him so much, other than the sex and the attention she gets.

Because I couldn't connect with either character, it was impossible to find the sex scenes hot. I didn't feel the passion. He liked it rough, she liked whatever he liked and that was about it.

2 I-really-tried stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
I have only one word to say: WOW.

I've recently started reading Mob stories and came across the name of this book I bought it. And I am so glad, otherwise I would have missed out on a wonderful series. After reading the first few scenes, I just bought the second book without even looking then spend the next 2 days just reading them.

Though the book is written from the heroine's POV the author skillfully makes you aware that there is more to Naz than meets the eyes. He is secretive, tragic and despite his awful job you just want to give him a hug (but maybe not meet him in real life, lol). I did wonder though if Karissa isn't too young for him, to innocent to understand him but the author reassured me on that point.

Again Wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Got this last year when it was 77p Started reading it,but could not get into it at all Spur of mo , tried it again couple of nights ago,got hooked and stayed up to silly o'clock reading it I thought Naz was in the mob,( that is not a spoiler ,as it is pretty obvious from very near the beginning that he is ),but other than that ,this was not remotely what I expected Way way better There is not that much sex, (from the point of view of someone who reads Sylvia Day,Beth Kery ,etc ) but it really does not matter as the storyline is so strong Like the writer's writing style a lot Nothing is all 'syruply sweet ', as is often the case in this genre One drawback ,I thought it was a standalone when I got it but there is a part two Have to make the time to read that !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I have read some of JM Darhowers other books and loved them, so dived right into this and was not dissapointed.

The story was a little slow to get started, but maybe that was just me wanting it all up front, but the build up to Naz being introduced was worth the wait. He is dark, very dark and I LOVED him for it

There is an age difference between the two main characters, Karissa and Ignazio (Naz) but the way the story is written makes your forget that, you see that she has fallen in love with him despite knowing that there is something to fear about this man. Naz plays his cards so very close to his chest you just want to know what secrets he is hiding deep inside.

The story kept me up late at night, chanting that familiar mantra 'just one more chapter' and when I woke early on a morning I went straight to read instead of trying to get back to sleep.

There were points where I actually shouted out while reading it, yup I kid you not, that is how invested in these characters I became.

Now there is a huge hole while I wait for the next installment, and it cannot come quick enough for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
You know a good book when everything else in your life doesn't seem to exist. This book had me gripped from the beginning, Naz was such a brillant character and the way he feel in love with Karrisa was a beautiful and moving story.
I have read quite a few 4* books recently but i had no hesitation with giving this a 5*. I really enjoyed the mixture of passion, violence and sorrow which made me carry this book around with me reading it at every chance i could. I was suppose to do christmas shopping but i just wanted to keep reading to find out what was going to happen. After this book I ordered another 5 books by j m Darhower to read. What a an emotional story and just enough sex and love to not be over the top.Def one to recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.