Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings the memories flooding back
A great all round CD. The music brings back all the memories of the 60's. Back to the days of freedom and flower power. All original tracks of the type you can't get today. Well worth it.
Published on 11 Jan 2002 by colingoodes@aol.com

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe Meek's peak
The sound quality isn't great in some parts, but at the price this CD is worth it just for Telstar alone with the other tracks as a bonus.
Published on 13 Aug 2012 by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings the memories flooding back, 11 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
A great all round CD. The music brings back all the memories of the 60's. Back to the days of freedom and flower power. All original tracks of the type you can't get today. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
I always loved "Telstar". One of the best instrumentals of the 60's. Plenty of other great Tornados songs on this CD. All the originals too, so good value to snap up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun All The Way, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Mark Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
Fairly lightweight R'n'R instrumental stuff of (theoretically) no importance. BUT...

...it's fun, happy, joyful, uplifting and just great to listen to.

From a time when pop music was much simpler, it contains no outstandingly tricky guitar or keyboard work but simply fits together terrifically.

The title track, named after the first transatlantic TV satellite, can be a little stirring and it's just great to listen to. (It made No. 1 whilst I was at junior school!) Other tracks vary from originals to the Tornados take on film classics (Exodus), their take on traditional music (Stompin' Through The Rye) and Rock and Roll classics such as Long Tall Sally done a few years before a certain Scouser group did the same. (I reckon this one's better even though I like the other version.)

Sit back - or dance around - and listen to this wonderful sound that made the early '60s FUN, without being sophisticated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe Meek's peak, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Jim (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
The sound quality isn't great in some parts, but at the price this CD is worth it just for Telstar alone with the other tracks as a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telstar., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
Apart from their number one Hit the Tornadoes, I like the instrumental tracks of the 1960's an the Ice-Cream man is a good one on this. This may not be a very helpful review but you need to buy there album and like instrumental music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
I bought this for my husband as a 54th birthday pressie.
He has always said he would like it, and was really surprised I found it. He was happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telstar, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, would recommend anyone brought up in the 60's to purchase this one, excellent value for the purchase price..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tornados, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
I bought this purely for the nostalgia. As a person of a certain age, this really brought back memories. Excellent music from an excellent group. How come the 60's produced a burst of talent which seems to be totally lacking these days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 2 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "BuddieHollie" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
Excellent collection of instrumentals, almost every track a gem. Oh and they are ALL ORIGINAL recordings alright. Worth every penny I paid for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories re-visited, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstar (Audio CD)
Need I say more, music I remember, will not forget, and can now listen to in the future. What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Telstar (Mono Version)
Telstar (Mono Version) by The Tornados
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews