Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the *only* account worth reading.
After all the hyperbole surrounding the various channels and media being used by people to cash in on the demise of 9M-MRO, Sylvia Wrigley’s book at long last represents a bit of writing that’s straightforward and worth reading. Aptly titled “The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370”, this is a totally no-nonsense account of the sequence of...
Published 7 months ago by rockstro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars an ok book
It's an ok book. Worth a few quid I suppose. Doesn't really go into enough about what happened tbh.

Just needs a bit more for me. Overall it is decent
Published 1 month ago by Steve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the *only* account worth reading., 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
After all the hyperbole surrounding the various channels and media being used by people to cash in on the demise of 9M-MRO, Sylvia Wrigley’s book at long last represents a bit of writing that’s straightforward and worth reading. Aptly titled “The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370”, this is a totally no-nonsense account of the sequence of events, and their possible reasoning, that takes us up to the end of April (although updates are available from [...]).

Unlike those who have poked about at hypothesis, and chucked in a few fantasies of their own, Wrigley sticks to facts and common-sense. Although she includes examples of accidents to explain how and why incidents happen, these add value to the text rather than merely being chunks of padding to fill out the pagination. As a result, the pages ooze experience and first-hand knowledge rather than a feeling of “copy and paste” from elsewhere, with a quick edit to avoid plagiarism.

For anyone wanting to recap on how the earlier events panned out, this is the volume to choose. Penned by someone who is both a pilot and an aviation writer, Wrigley is to be applauded for presenting a nuts-and-bolts account which is easy to understand yet provides plenty of technical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simultaneously poignant and breathtaking, 20 May 2014
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
The mystery surrounding the missing Malaysia Airlines flight 370 is perhaps the most baffling disappearances in recent history mainly because of one thing: it happened in this day and age when everyone’s supposedly connected with everyone else 24/7. How could a plane full of people suddenly disappear seemingly without a trace? Sylvia Wrigley’s book, ‘the Mystery of Malaysia Airlines flight 370’ answers the most pressing questions and more.

Sylvia’s book is comprehensive—from the airline’s history down to the moment flight 370 left the airport and had its last radio contact with the air traffic control tower, to the frantic search and rescue efforts, to the blow-by-blow account of the quickly evolving (and devolving) media accounts and speculation surrounding the ill-fated flight, this is a book that will take your breath away. Indeed, ‘The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370’ is easily one of the most thought-provoking, well-written books I’ve read in the past several months. Author Sylvia Wrigley has an uncanny knack for suspenseful narrative—even if she’s essentially discussing nonfiction, she writes as if you’re reading a suspense novel (I remember feeling the same depth of suspense and excitement when I first read Michael Crichton’s ‘Airframe’ many years ago).

Overall, if you’ve been avidly following the events surrounding the missing Flight 370, then get a copy of this book. You won’t need anything else. Most importantly, as the mystery hasn’t been solved yet (and perhaps it will never be solved), the book helpfully provides actionable information on where you can go from here: it provides an extensive mailing list and a website that publishes updates in real time. Well-researched and well-written, this is a must-read. A solid five-star rating for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent factual account, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to read a complete account of MH370, as I found the usual web news sources fragmented and incomplete. I hesitated in choosing a book, because an incident like this seems to prompt conspiracy theories from the more nutty writer or idiosyncratic pet theories from even the more qualified writer.

This book is excellent. It couldn't be more clearly written, and as a pilot, I found the analysis insightful and intelligent and bounded by what can reasonably be inferred. It offers no "answers", because there aren't any, but it does offer the reader a good basis to understand what is known to date.

When I say "to date", the book is from April 2014. It does cover only very briefly the move of the search to the most recent area west of Australia, following the Inmarsat analysis, but it sort of fades-out at this point. There is no analysis of the most recent phase of the search - either the satellite analysis or the "pings" detected or (obviously!) the conclusion in recent days that the pings were likely false following completion of the current search area. It feels like an update would be welcome in coming weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Concise Analysis of the Tragedy, 9 May 2014
By 
Ms. Deborah Walker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
The disappearance of the MD370 makes a compelling story. My heart went out to the families waiting for news, while at the same time I was intrigued by the story. How could an airplane just disappear?
Sadly there are no answers—yet.
But this book gives an insight into what could have happened. The author considers the many theories, and turns her expert eye upon them.
What I liked about her analysis was the use of examples of other real life plane crashes. That really clarified the issues for me. It's a book that made sense of the headlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 29 April 2014
By 
I Waring "Ian Waring" (Chilton, Oxon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
A compelling read. Still wondering why the Malaysian Govt were so slow to release useful information on many occasions, and why the transcript of relayed Vietnamese ATC instructions has never been released by Vietnam. But fascinating and instructional throughout, and thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars an ok book, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
It's an ok book. Worth a few quid I suppose. Doesn't really go into enough about what happened tbh.

Just needs a bit more for me. Overall it is decent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 (Kindle Edition)
Interesting but inconclusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews