Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
I don't understand why other reviews on this page seem to denigrate this book. It is well written, factual and includes many resources to back up its content.

Gerry comes across as a wise woman who herself has had many battles with codependency and various addicts appearing in her life. Her account is based upon personal testimony of things that occurred and...
Published 5 months ago by S. Jones

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing tale of lust, greed and death
This biography was written by Gerry Agar, one of Yates friends and part-time PR. Agar has first hand knowledge of people and events, although she cannot be described as permanent member of an "inner circle". Her tale unfolds from a casual meeting with Yates collecting kids from school and rekindling an old acquaintance.

Paula is described as "very intelligent",...
Published on 6 Nov 2012 by Daniela. G.


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
I don't understand why other reviews on this page seem to denigrate this book. It is well written, factual and includes many resources to back up its content.

Gerry comes across as a wise woman who herself has had many battles with codependency and various addicts appearing in her life. Her account is based upon personal testimony of things that occurred and also where she did not witness things, she gives good account of those events with fact where possible.

The lives of the Geldofs are like something from a Greek tragedy and you will find your loyalties initially with Paula who comes across as an innocent who is controlled by Bob. Then the pendulum swings and we see the manipulative, controlling,obsessive, fantastical, deluded, selfish, narcissistic, addictive and mean sides of her character. She certainly seemed to be a siren who drew men to the rocks and destroyed them. I could not help wondering what Bob's girlfriend felt about his alleged ongoing love of Paula long after she had rejected him.

This story contains obsession, addiction and dysfunctional people - a dangerous mix. At the centre 4 young girls caught up in the drama and tragedy of the lives of the adults around them. Sadly, it is no wonder that peaches ended up damaged and ultimately echoing her mother's demise, despite Bob's apparent positive input in the intervening years.

Very sad but a compelling book that clearly shows how dangerous people's drives, unmet needs and addictions combine to create a tragic cocktail that affects the lives of others and leaves a lasting legacy of damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing tale of lust, greed and death, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This biography was written by Gerry Agar, one of Yates friends and part-time PR. Agar has first hand knowledge of people and events, although she cannot be described as permanent member of an "inner circle". Her tale unfolds from a casual meeting with Yates collecting kids from school and rekindling an old acquaintance.

Paula is described as "very intelligent", but unstable and unreliable. Considering how she dumped people when they were of no further use to her, this description seems pretty accurate. Yates had a borderline personality, kept under control during the marriage with domineering (but dependable) Geldof. However, after 20 years together Yates was having enough of "Saint" Bob.

I could sympathise with her about that, as I guess it must be difficult to live with somebody who reached semi-god status. Unfortunately, her reaction to marital trouble was very predictable. Yates started an affair, which grew into an obsession. Hutchence had some psychological flaws of his own and the result was two people getting the worst out of each other.

From sordid clandestinity the affair developed into tabloid fodder, also thanks to Yates. She pushed the story into the open, possibly trying to infuse some "reality" into an episode that was better left short and secret.

Chapter after chapter we follow a storm of court battles, fights for money and child custody, substance-abuse escalation, delusion and paranoia, etc... Yates wanted too much and everything to suit her needs. Nobody could contradict her or she threatened suicide. Hutchence, sarcastically described as her "part-time" boyfriend, went down first, crushed by the pressure coupled with his fragile personality.

At the time of his death Yates was not working, her lavish lifestyle being financed by the men in her life and by her deals with tabloids. Whatever shred of sympathy I might have felt for Yates dissolved after reading of the huge amounts she received for interviews and photos of herself and her children. There is much complaint about gutter press, but it sounds like "celebrities" are more than happy to exploit it when in need...

I am not an INXS nor a Geldof fan. I did not read any tabloids throughout the years of the Bob/Paula/Michael triangle, so I thought I was quite open-minded and unprejudiced. I did not want to "pick a side". However, I found the tale gloomy and I finished the book with relief. Nevertheless, it left a bad aftertaste.

I never found Yates particularly likable and after reading this book I found her even less so. Unfortunately, I did not find "Saint" Bob or "elegantly wasted" Michael much more agreeable. All the parties seemed worried only with getting what they wanted and under no circumstances Geldof could be mistaken for a victim. Eventually he prevailed, in the most bizarre twist of events. But the physical and chronological distance did not dilute the lust, greed, selfishness and delusion that permeate the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you know IS wrong, 1 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be very well written and a book that I couldn't put down easily. Being a long term Bob Geldof fan I was expecting the book to be more against him than it was, and yes in the start it was. The book does show you though how you can be influenced by what you are told and that you do not always know the whole story. I found it to be very well written and not just a re hash of the tabloid story, there is new information contained within its pages that will in some cases surprise but mostly clarify the whole story. Everything that Gerry and the other friends around her did they did (in relation to the drugs) to try and help them seek help because as they found the drugs were in the reach of the children and it was their safety that was paramount to them. I also think that it was not wrong to include the press in all of this as in the past Paula had herself use the press to get what she wanted in her life, namely Michael. She had used the press when it suited her and in turn they would be interested when something happened in her life. It also made it clear to me why I had found it difficult to read Paula's autobiograhy (I gave up after a couple of chapters)as she left a large amount of information out of it. A modern day tragedy but a story that had to be told. There are still a few unanswered questions but they will never be answered fully. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the lives of any of the subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting description of the Geldofs and MH by an insider, 29 May 2014
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Was prompted to read this after the recent death of Peaches Geldof. The years in which the writer was close to the family are described in detail and the sadly inexorable slide towards death becomes understandable. The writing style is a bit clunky but overall a useful account of this family story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted to love, the true british rock and roll life style of Paula Yates, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
I gave a five star rating based on what was written, regardless of how the author portrays Paula it leaves you feeling somewhat sorry for the tragic ending. I don't know somewhere along the way the British and ultimate rock chick lost her way. the truth will never be totally known and I feel that regardless of what happened - these girls she left behind without their mother. whatever your personal opinion is - her legacy lives in and now history has repeated it self with the loss of peaches. I hope that Paula, Michael and peaches are now at peace x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! what a read...., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down and had me reading it during the night. This time a "friend" really tells all and she was around to see it all happen and at the eye of the storm. You see the story from Team Paula and also from Team Bob, to whom she crosses over to support. A fascinating read and sad, that history has repeated itself with Peaches. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining - but take this with a massive, massive pinch of salt., 12 Jan 2010
Is this book worth reading? Yes, I found it very entertaining and enjoyable but from about two chapters in I accepted that I was probably reading a complete work of fiction. I could enjoy it on that level but I guess it is not as easy for the families of the people who are left behind to view Agar's writing that dispassionately.

Agar comes across as being exitable, sometimes hysterical and this book definitely comes across as being a money grubbing attempt to profit from two tragic deaths.

In all, I would say that if you can accept this is mainly fiction it' a good read. But get it out of the library and don't line Agar's grubby pockets.

I was quite a fan of Paula's, especially for her looks and style, also for her writing. I know Bob Geldof is very private but I do wonder if maybe it's time for one of her friends or someone who knew her well to write a biography to rebut all the lies that have been told about her since she died. The tenth anniversary of her death is coming up and I hope someone will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
could not put it down, stayed up many a night into the wee small hours gripped by the "what will happen next". good to hear the record put straight about many things that you read in the press and also wondered if it was true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling account of a genuine tragedy, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
A compelling account of a situation that rapidly spiralled out of control, ending inevitably in tragedy. A mix of sex, drugs, self-deception, lies, arguments about money, infidelity, celebrity, and excess. And plenty of love, not just the love that Bob and Michael had for Paula, but that all had three for the children caught up in this mess. As with Diana, Paula tried to manipulate the press, who had their own agenda and made a desperate situation even worse.
This is a well-written and convincing account, based on first hand experience -- except towards the very end, when Gerry Agar had to walk away (having, alongside the Nanny, tried her very best to help) from the impending predictable outcome. There's a lot to consider here about human nature and, in Paula's case, the impact of a dysfunctional childhood on adult behaviour.
I read it in a day. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a sad story, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula, Michael and Bob: Everything You Know Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
We've all met that guy that really was no good for us but poor Paula.. Lost her soul to Michael.. Two people driven by lust that didn't really work in the real world!! Seen a different side to Paula, Bob & Michael.. So sad that Paula disintegrated from a loving caring mum to a drug induced desperately wanting to be young/beautiful loved person.. Tragic Peaches went down the same path... I hope poor Tiger can live a relatively normal life... Knowing how her mum & dad destroyed each other...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews