Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful film that should make you feel proud to be British
Joel Hopkins has created a film that will truly make you smile with its quintessential British qualities. I am not a great fan of slapstick, but this is rather gentle and sophisticated slapstick that with its 'empty-nester' lead characters will certainly appeal to an audience of relative status, amongst whom I was fortunate enough to be seated, as they laughed with...
Published 4 months ago by G. L. Lewis

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cast, seriously does not get better than Imrie
It should have had everything going for it…. fantastic cast, seriously does not get better than Imrie, Spall, Thompson and even 007 himself. The plot looked really good fun and I was so looking forward to it. On a positive note Emma Thompson looks amazing, never seen her look better than she does in this, as does Pierce Brosnan, very handsome man, but the entire...
Published 2 months ago by Conchie


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love Punch, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun and wonderful scenery. Four talented and first class actors.This goes very well with all the Italian films with Pierce, Colin Firth et al. Too many to name but we watch them when a boost is needed, all bought via Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Indifference Slap, more like, 22 May 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
Richard (Pierce Brosnan) and Kate (Emma Thompson) are a married couple separated by bitterness due to the former's promiscuity. When Richard's company is bought and closed by a French businessman, the exes team up to steal a £10m diamond from the git, so that Richard's staff aren't out of pocket. They enlist the help of their closest friends, the insatiable Jerry (Timothy Spall) and Sophie (Celia Imrie), and head to Cannes for a bit of old-fashioned kidnapping, arguing, drinking, and slapstick.

Old-fashioned is the phrase. This is old-fashioned in its structure and tone and old-in-the-tooth in its humour, never going beyond the naughty. If you (or, say, your nan) are prone to sniggering behind your hand at the utterance of the word "prick" then this film may raise a smile. It's an `Everything's OK' comedy; a hugely dialled-back Dirty Rotten Scoundrels peopled by gratingly decent characters who'd never sink to motivations of profit or revenge.

The cast of familiar faces help proceedings to tick along perfectly pleasantly. Talent like this ensures a baseline of enjoyment, even if none of that talent is ever tested. Thompson and Brosnan have decent chemistry. And if you can let the occasional James Bond sight gag slide, and you can cope with the sort of comedy where the characters are laughing at each other's jokes, then there's some mirth to be found in some of the middle-aged odd-coupling, particularly Jerry's revelations about his globe-hopping past.

No doubt cast and crew had a splendid time gallivanting around the Riviera making this film, and a modicum of this joy is evident in the finished product's energy. However, this is no thanks to the script: a blandly functional effort directed with bland functionality by Last Chance Harvey's Joel Hopkins.

The Love Punch doesn't pretend to contain any substance, which isn't necessarily a bad thing for the 95 minutes you're sat there. There's no escape from the overwhelming inevitability of it all; but then, films like this exist to provide a comfort blanket, so expectations being met is a prerequisite. Just don't expect to remember that you saw it in three months' time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN - RECOMMENDED ..., 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
.

Saw this at the cinema quite recently and really enjoyed it.

Great fun and wonderful scenery. Four talented and first class actors.

I read an interview with, I think, Emma Thompson where she said that they had such a great time together (and it shows) that they'd love to do a sequel. Hope that happens.

Pierce Brosnan is always good value and this film is no exception - although 'Love Is All You Need' still remains my favourite of his.

When the price drops, I will buy this DVD and cuddle up with by OH and watch it on a dreary winter's evening and enjoy being transported back into the sunshine.

RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit pish but OK, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not great - has the Brit romcom feel about it but all very chintz... The missus enjoyed it and the over 50's might get more out of it - probably better films to catch though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A punch with not much kick!, 3 May 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
This was an amusing film - but nothing more than that really. In my humble opinion it fell short in a number of ways and missed out on several opportunities to play on the 'middle age/getting older/struggling-to-cope-with-the-modern-world' jokes. When it did do this however, it was very funny - but there were never really those laugh-out-loud moments that one would have hoped to find in a film with a cast of such combined considerable talent and experience. Unfortunately, there seemed to be this constant feeling that the four main actors involved (Emma Thompson, Pierce Brosnan, Timothy Spall and Celia Imrie) were holding back and could have done better - although it has to be said that the chemistry between all four (and most especially Thompson and Brosnan as ex-spouses) worked really well. However, the stunning locations of Paris and the French Riviera definitely help with taking your mind off the rather silly plot; I ignorantly didn't realise parts of France are so stunningly beautiful. Emma Thompson in particular does her very best with the weak (or should that really be inconsistent slightly 'off-piste') material, proving, as if I didn't already know, that she is one of the most versatile and talented actresses around.

But, for me, the film's main downfall was the sheer over-the-top far-fetchededness (yes, I realise there's no such word) of the whole thing. Of course comedies are quite often just that - far-fetched I mean - but, equally, they often thrive on the fact that the audience can either believe or relate to what they're seeing ... on both counts I felt this film failed. The laughs are usually obtained by having either complete fantasy or reality with a humourous twist. The script for this film seemed to 'fall between two stalls' as it were and was neither one thing or the other, resulting in a sort of grey mishmash of hit-and-miss humour and genre. Perhaps it just tried too hard to be clever and witty, and it may have just been a simple case of 'less is more' - it certainly seemed to thrum along at a fair pace and complexity of plot. Having said all of that, it still has its merits: I certainly chuckled for much of the time and I'm sure that there are many worse ways to spend an hour and a half. It may well improve on a second viewing, and I'd be willing to give it a go when it's finally released on DVD, but I doubt it will be top of my 'must buy' list as, on the whole, it was, sadly, rather disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cast, hugely disappointing movie, 16 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch (DVD)
fantastic cast, but a disappointing movie all in all
silly plot, filled with every cliché in the book
had expected it to be much better due to Pierce and Emma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costrs unless you need an urgent treatment for insomnia., 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Love Punch [DVD] (DVD)
absolute garbage. The fact that Brosnan and Thompson were willing to act in this is to their eternal shame. The script is excrutiating. The plot risible. Dross. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have never enjoyed a movie as much as this one, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Moonstone (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Love Punch (DVD)
I have never enjoyed a movie as much as this one. I hope they make more with the same fabulous cast. It had me laughing from start to finish. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Weak plot and acting not great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a typical brit comedy with a better than expected cast given the storyline, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Philip (Tavistock, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a typical brit comedy with a better than expected cast given the storyline, they certainly added to what was a pretty boring predictable story..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Love Punch [DVD]
The Love Punch [DVD] by Joel Hopkins (DVD - 2014)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews