Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars189
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£16.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 August 2014
Have to be honest,i wasnt sure what to expect,'Nostradamus' didnt really do it for me so i took a gamble and bought the deluxe edition at a bargain price,thankfully it was worth it

At this point in their career its damned if you do(change your sound/approach),damned if you dont(and revisit old ground),so they cant win.

For what its worth this is a very good album,time will tell if the fans hold it up as a classic,initial listening wont.Over the piece they manage to capture elements of all era's,tracks such as 'Crossfire' and my personal favourite ' Beginning of the End' transport me back to the 76/77 period while 'Metalizer' could be the 90's.

Opening with a thunder clap leading into 'Dragonaut' followed by the superb title track was a statement of intent if ever there was,i personally love Halfords vocal approach.

Yes there are a few cliched titles,would have thought MANOWAR would have had 'Halls of Valhalla' copyrighted,its true both that and 'Sword of Damocles' do sound Maidenesque,it doesnt detract from the tracks themselves.Why focus on that when the likes of 'March of the Damned' and 'Down in Flames' are quinntessential Priest,as i said this covers all bases.

The bonus disc is also quite interesting, 'Snakebite' is probably the closest to mid 80's on the whole package,yet failed to get a place on the main disc,while to these ears 'Creatures' could easily be from the Ripper years and i do believe it might have been a mistake to leave off 'Never Forget' from the main disc another little beauty.

The deluxe edition iis packaged beautifully,i didnt have any problems removing the discs from their sleeves,the sound quality outstanding. An easy 4 stars
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Much better than Nostradamus if anything it reminds me almost of Iron Maiden and I still haven't worked out if that is a good thing or not. Since I am enjoying it I can only say it is.
If there is a negative it is the awful packaging, it comes in a book not a case - the CDs are pretty hard to extract and most of the writing is damn hard to read with my old eyes although the lyrics are in normal typeface I would rather the normal case and inlay booklet.
Minor point indeed so 5 stars - buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
This is a fantastic album from "The Mighty Priest". The original members are still in their songwriting peak, although K K is no longer with the band, new guitarist Richie Faulkner is a great replacement. I have spent most of my life growing up with bands like Judas Priest. They are like family to me. I first became aware of them in 1980, i was 10 years of age at the time when i saw them on Top Of The Pops performing "United", i am in no doubt this song introduced me to hard rock and have not looked back since. This album is as much a welcome comeback as Black Sabbath's "13" and i can only hope JP have an equal ammount of success as Sabbath did. Glad to see this is a best seller, but it needs to be No 1.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
One of the best priest have done. As a fan of over 35 years and follower of Priest this is a fantastic offering. Robs voice is just awesome. A final track of the beginning of the end up there with beyond the realms. Can't wait for British tour.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
simply there best album since painkiller, dragonaut, redeemer of souls and the beginning of the end are my favourite tracks, but I just love every track on this album, played it all non stop, welcome back boys
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
This album is just a treat to listen to if you like great music played by a fantastic band buy it you will love it Richie realy gives the band a much needed kick up the arse a future classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
After having played this album several times now I feel able to give it a fair review . So lets consider some facts about what we have here : Priest have delivered the goods big time with 84 minutes of pure class metal product. If I can still hear reasonably well and get out of bed every day at the age of 67 I will be pleased. Yes Glenn is this age and Rob and Ian are similar . I do not think any other band will ever have such skill, dexterity and creativity when this time arrives in their lives. The song selection covers every aspect and phase of their best years plus the addition of Ritchie Faulkner who is graciously given a more than equal share of the solos and writing credits. This is a big bonus for both studio and live work , he has integrated seamlessly. The production is mellow with good dynamics and sounds really good on my system with all tone controls set to 12 o`clock and therefore perfect .This album is fab , waste no more time reading reviews and buy the deluxe edition .
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I have to say this is an AWESOME album ! When i first listended to it i thought it's just another pre-Nostradamus typical JP album. But no, how wrong i was, having now listened to it numerous times i can hardly bare to eject it from the CD player. The first track Dragonaut - this is a perfect opener to a live set, cruching thunder claps (you can just imagine it live, lights down dry ice puthering across the stage onto the crowd) then comes the opening riffs (lights now flashing through the dry ice on Glenn & Richie) and then in comes Rob with his ripping vocals (emerges on stage to belt out the opening lyrics...Welcome, to my world of steeeeell). Stand out tracks for me are Cold Blooded, Secrets of the Dead, Halls of Valhalla, Sword of Damocles, Dragonaut......infact what am i saying? they're all brilliant !. Do not hesitate to buy this album, you will NOT be disappointed.....best turned up to 11.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
I was a priest fanatic in the late 70's/80's but fell away in the 90's as I didn't like the direction that Painkiller was heading and didn't revisit them until the Retribution CD of 2005. Nostradamus was disappointing and with the departure of KK it all seemed to be heading down the toilet again. However, to quote the Metal God himself, fear not metal heads, the Priest is back with an absolute tour de force of fiery riffs, virtuoso solos and well composed songs.

From the first riffs of Dragonaut, it's obvious that the addition of the superb Ritchie Faulkener on guitar has injected a spark of real class that was missing from the last couple of CD's and this come across in the pace and ferocity of the songs. Even the titles give an indication of what the album will sound like; Dragonaut, Sword of Damocles, Metalizer, March of the Damned, all speed along accompanied by some of the best soloing I've heard from them in years.

The riffs in March of the Damned and Crossfire are personal favourites and even the two slower songs are poignant with Halford's lyrics giving the impression that this could be the Beginning of the End. Buy the deluxe version with the additional CD as it is definitely not a filler CD. If/when, they next tour I'd be happy to listen to them play most of this CD and I haven't been able to say that about any recent rock CD from a classic rock band I've listened to for at least 20 years.

So, press the "buy now" button and hope that, if this is the last album, you're at the front of the stage for the next tour when they play this material as it will be a fitting tribute to this fantastic band.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Brilliant Priest as always. Tells its own story of the conflict between good and evil, with the Redeemer of Souls winning for the greater good although suffering badly himself. Inspiring anthems and plaintive cries of anguish continue throughout the first disc and a mixture of songs on the second disc make this a fantastic addition to any fan of the Priest. They remain, of course, one of the greatest British metal bands of all time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)