Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this cd
I adore this cd

I was worried when I heard the title track, but I needn't have been

As a lifelong Priest and Halford fan, my opinion is that it is pretty much perfect

It grows, your favourites will change

Its like they looked at everything i love about Priest and put it all in, along with the kitchen sink.

Twists and...
Published 7 months ago by Chris Read

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A grower
As far back as I can remember every Priest album has had a background story to it. Turbo was the first to introduce synth guitars (would it work?), Ram It Down was a return to the Black Country roots (it didn't work), Painkiller was the first without producer Tom Allom and was released on the back of the horrendous suicides in the US (would this have an impact? - oh...
Published 1 month ago by O-mindcrime


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this cd, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Chris Read "Chris Read" (Northampton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
I adore this cd

I was worried when I heard the title track, but I needn't have been

As a lifelong Priest and Halford fan, my opinion is that it is pretty much perfect

It grows, your favourites will change

Its like they looked at everything i love about Priest and put it all in, along with the kitchen sink.

Twists and turns, finally some drumming that doesn't sound like a machine, beautiful beautiful solos, and such variety ... and probably the best screams I have ever heard in metal

I'm no longer going to take any notice of Dom Lawson's opinions. Of course i respect him, but they feel like a betrayal to metal to me. Yes it is in many many places a rehash, but a rehash of such immense quality that Priest fans have not been lucky enough to hear for the best part of 30 years.

If you loved the Staind Class to Defenders Of the Faith era, it is my feeling that you are going to need clean pants when you hear this. And if you don't, give it some time. It is not as immediate as say Halford's last solo album, and that just makes me love it even more

Stone cold beautiful metal classic that I could never have predicted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Priest, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
Have to be honest,i wasnt sure what to expect,'Nostradamus' didnt really do it for me so i took a gamble and bought the deluxe edition at a bargain price,thankfully it was worth it

At this point in their career its damned if you do(change your sound/approach),damned if you dont(and revisit old ground),so they cant win.

For what its worth this is a very good album,time will tell if the fans hold it up as a classic,initial listening wont.Over the piece they manage to capture elements of all era's,tracks such as 'Crossfire' and my personal favourite ' Beginning of the End' transport me back to the 76/77 period while 'Metalizer' could be the 90's.

Opening with a thunder clap leading into 'Dragonaut' followed by the superb title track was a statement of intent if ever there was,i personally love Halfords vocal approach.

Yes there are a few cliched titles,would have thought MANOWAR would have had 'Halls of Valhalla' copyrighted,its true both that and 'Sword of Damocles' do sound Maidenesque,it doesnt detract from the tracks themselves.Why focus on that when the likes of 'March of the Damned' and 'Down in Flames' are quinntessential Priest,as i said this covers all bases.

The bonus disc is also quite interesting, 'Snakebite' is probably the closest to mid 80's on the whole package,yet failed to get a place on the main disc,while to these ears 'Creatures' could easily be from the Ripper years and i do believe it might have been a mistake to leave off 'Never Forget' from the main disc another little beauty.

The deluxe edition iis packaged beautifully,i didnt have any problems removing the discs from their sleeves,the sound quality outstanding. An easy 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album In Decades, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
Quite simply the most solid and consistent effort from the band since Screaming For Vengeance. An inspired album, perhaps the new addition of Richie Faulkner has given them a boost. I saw them on the Epitaph tour which was breathtaking and this line up of Priest is certainly delivering the goods ;) The deluxe edition is certainly worth getting - all great songs that could arguably have made the first disc. Best songs over all? Tough question but I'd have to highlight Halls of Valhalla, Down in Flames, Sword of Damocles, Cold Blooded and the brilliant ballad 'Beginning of the End'. This is not the beginning of the end but the continuation of a powerful new era for Priest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a body of work it is easily their most consistent since Painkiller, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
This is the first Judas Priest album since A Touch of Evil that got my heartbeat racing and transported me back to the glory days of British Steel and Screaming for Vengeance. As a body of work it is easily their most consistent since Painkiller, maybe even Defenders. The production is very organic and the disc sounds great turned up.The drums are like cannons. My favourite tracks are Dragonaut and Down in Flames. A great return after the loss of KK and the Nostradamus experiment. Rob sings with authority and the band plays with gusto. What more do you need? Any comparisons to Maiden are misguided and simply not true. Although March of the Damned does sound Ozzyish. Judas Priest have done what they do best. Nuff sed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For worshippers of the Priest, 15 July 2014
By 
Mr. Bluesman (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
It's been a long time since Turbo, Ram It Down and Painkiller when I was a huge worshipper of the Priest. That was long haired me with torn jeans, leather jackets and heavy boots. After that I changed my direction to instrumental rock such as Joe Satriani and Steve Vai. I am still not sure if I liked the last Nostradamus. But I am fully enjoying this new album regardless of line-ups. I love Rob Halford. I liked the album art just like the Painkiller's. The album is blasting in my iPod since I received my pre-ordered copy yesterday. My favourites are Dragonaut, Redeemer Of Souls, Halls Of Valhalla, March Of The Damned, Crossfire and still more adding. Hail Priest \m/,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly AWESOME album !, 10 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
I have to say this is an AWESOME album ! When i first listended to it i thought it's just another pre-Nostradamus typical JP album. But no, how wrong i was, having now listened to it numerous times i can hardly bare to eject it from the CD player. The first track Dragonaut - this is a perfect opener to a live set, cruching thunder claps (you can just imagine it live, lights down dry ice puthering across the stage onto the crowd) then comes the opening riffs (lights now flashing through the dry ice on Glenn & Richie) and then in comes Rob with his ripping vocals (emerges on stage to belt out the opening lyrics...Welcome, to my world of steeeeell). Stand out tracks for me are Cold Blooded, Secrets of the Dead, Halls of Valhalla, Sword of Damocles, Dragonaut......infact what am i saying? they're all brilliant !. Do not hesitate to buy this album, you will NOT be disappointed.....best turned up to 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal At It's Best, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
P. A. Robinson "marinergrim" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
Metal at it's best.
We were promised an album of classic Priest and this delivers in bucket loads. Rob screams and sings at his best since Painkiller. The twin guitar attack of Tipton & Faulkner is possibly the best that Priest have ever had and that's no disrespect to Downing but Faulkner is sublime. Travis and Hill deliver the heavy thumping bass and percussion that drives the album.
I've been playing it almost non-stop since release and its not diminishing in it's brilliance yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priest's Final Metal Masterpiece?, 2 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
I was a priest fanatic in the late 70's/80's but fell away in the 90's as I didn't like the direction that Painkiller was heading and didn't revisit them until the Retribution CD of 2005. Nostradamus was disappointing and with the departure of KK it all seemed to be heading down the toilet again. However, to quote the Metal God himself, fear not metal heads, the Priest is back with an absolute tour de force of fiery riffs, virtuoso solos and well composed songs.

From the first riffs of Dragonaut, it's obvious that the addition of the superb Ritchie Faulkener on guitar has injected a spark of real class that was missing from the last couple of CD's and this come across in the pace and ferocity of the songs. Even the titles give an indication of what the album will sound like; Dragonaut, Sword of Damocles, Metalizer, March of the Damned, all speed along accompanied by some of the best soloing I've heard from them in years.

The riffs in March of the Damned and Crossfire are personal favourites and even the two slower songs are poignant with Halford's lyrics giving the impression that this could be the Beginning of the End. Buy the deluxe version with the additional CD as it is definitely not a filler CD. If/when, they next tour I'd be happy to listen to them play most of this CD and I haven't been able to say that about any recent rock CD from a classic rock band I've listened to for at least 20 years.

So, press the "buy now" button and hope that, if this is the last album, you're at the front of the stage for the next tour when they play this material as it will be a fitting tribute to this fantastic band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redeemed-and then some............, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
after the faux pas of Nostradamus i was less then bothered about a new Priest album,especially with KK Downing out of the picture.after seeing the band 3 times on their Epitaph tour-and being mightily impressed by new guitarist Richie Faulkner,i changed my opinion.when this arrived i was concerned by the fact it was self produced-never a good thing,you need an unbiased ear for these things.upon the first listen i was not keen,guitars sounded muted/low in the mix plus the production seemed a tad stilted.after 4 complete plays,i find my view totally changed.running through from start to finish at a decent volume picks up the subtle nuances laid down.although it is nothing ground breaking-but what is these days ?-i now think it is excellent.some great songs,riffs,musicianship really make this a great album.often side-lined,Ian Hill`s bass guitar really sounds high in the mix and adds to the scorching vocals,drums and guitars....all in all,a belter and one for any Priest fan-old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Return To Form For The Metal Rock God's, 14 July 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Redeemer of Souls (Audio CD)
Judas Priest : Redeemer Of Souls.
Product Information.
1xCD plus a free mp3 AutoRip Download.
Also Available as a Deluxe Edition.

Track Listing.
Song Title Time
1)Dragonaut 4:26.
2)Redeemer of Souls 3:58.
3)Halls of Valhalla 6:04.
4)Sword of Damocles 4:54.
5)March of the Damned 3:56.
6)Down in Flames 3:55.
7)Hell & Back 4:45.
8)Cold Blooded 5:25.
9)Metalizer 4:37.
10)Crossfire 3:50.
11)Secrets of the Dead 5:41.
12)Battle Cry 5:17.
13)Beginning of the End 5:07.

The Deluxe Edition contains 5 extra Bonus Tracks.

Song Title Time
1)Snakebite 3:14.
2)Tears of Blood 4:17.
3)Creatures 4:25.
4)Bring It On 3:16.
5) Never Forget 6:25.

Synopsis.
Metal Legends Judas Priest return with their 17th studio album featuring the tracks `Redeemer Of Souls' & `March Of The Damned'.

Timelord Thoughts.
Redeemer Of Souls is Judas Priest's 17th studio album "Redeemer of Souls" with this new album marks the band's first album to not feature songwriter K.K. Downing, who has been replaced with former Lauren Harris guitarist Richie Faulkner.

Redeemer of Souls is a return to thunderous and unrelenting anthems that Judas Priest do best, While Priest's previous album "Nostradamus," received a mixed response from hardcore Priest fan's for it's synthesizer-heavy sound, "Redeemer of Souls" sees a strong return to the classic Judas Priest hard metal sound throughout the 13 track album which is particularly evident in songs "Halls of Valhalla" & "Dragonaut." which standout & show Priest delivering hardcore anthems that are the albums two standout tracks.

"Crossfire" sees Judas Priest's flavour past blues rock influences while "March of the Damned" is a Guitar heavy affair , the title track "Redeemer of Souls" delivers energetic lead vocals by singer Rob Halford.

"Battle Cry" & "Metalizer"particularly showcases a strong high octave vocals from Halford blending excellent guitar work thunderous drumming, "Hell & Back" feels like it should've been on Priests previous album "Nostradamus" while "Cold Blooded" is a slower yet excellent rock track.

Overall, "Redeemer of Souls" Sees the 62 year old singer Rob Halford staying true to the bands roots & style of music of pure metal joy that's full of powerful metal anthems, New member Guitarist Richie Faulkner has certainly had a positive influence on the band & revitalized Judas Priest who seem rejuvenated & have delivered their strongest album here in over a decade.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Redeemer of Souls
Redeemer of Souls by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews