Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace are back-but not as you might remember!
After 8 years away, Embrace have returned with this album and it is simply stunning. Whereas some bands might have tried to stick to the blueprint that made them famous to make sure their album sells, 'Embrace' is the work of a band who are clearly now in the place of wanting to just make great music rather than compromise just so they can get massive radio play or...
Published 8 months ago by Paul Noyce

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not Embracing this change in direction...
I wanted to like Embrace's latest album, I really did, but, I have to admit, I'm really rather disappointed. Given the huge amount of positive reviews, I was under the impression that Embrace had written a bunch of classic songs and had awakened their dormant fan base with a piece of work too brilliant to ignore. Sadly, upon listening to it, they seem to have abandoned...
Published 3 months ago by Andy Sweeney


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace are back-but not as you might remember!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
After 8 years away, Embrace have returned with this album and it is simply stunning. Whereas some bands might have tried to stick to the blueprint that made them famous to make sure their album sells, 'Embrace' is the work of a band who are clearly now in the place of wanting to just make great music rather than compromise just so they can get massive radio play or guarantee a run at The 02.

The album opens with Protection, sounding distinctly like Embrace of old but with added electronic sounds in the mix. A real attention grabber and a track which sets the tone for what follows. 'In The End' continues to make the listener sit up and re-evaluate whatever their preconceived ideas about Embrace are before comeback single 'Refugees' comes in to hammer home the point that there is no phoning it in or taking a lazy route here. This band are progressing and producing something that sounds relevant and fresh.

'I Run' is fantastic, a wonderful melody and heartfelt lyrics making it an instant future classic, Follow You Home's chorus destined to be sung along to by thousands at gigs and football stadiums around the country. Quarters is another double-take moment. If you ever wondered what disco-Embrace would sound like and whether falsetto would be good, here is your answer. 'At Once''s guitar work reminiscent of early U2 complements another stunning lyrical achievement and emotional vocal performance before the 'Self Attack Mechanism' and 'The Devil Looks After His Own' come next in a double frenzy of in your face rock. Album closer 'A Thief On My Island' is perhaps the most apt final track on an album in recent years, confirming this collection of songs has not been slung together but crafted together with the utmost care. A six minute masterpiece, 'Thief' is the perfect blend of everything that has gone before. Lyrics, electronics, piano, bass, drums and guitars all playing their part as if to prove how vital each aspect is in creating the Embrace sound.

So has the eight years been worth the wait? Absolutely, and then some. 'Embrace' is worth anyone's time and attention and it really is great to have them back. There is no filler here and track adds something to the collection.

Let's not wait another eight years before another album though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant return with updated, darker, rockier, more electronic sound., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
After 8 years away Embrace needed to produce something special to get people to pay attention again. They do not disappoint. If you're already an Embrace fan you will love this record as there are enough nods to their familiar sound to satisfy ('In the end' with it's triumphant chorus and 'I run' and 'At once' are beautifully poignant Embrace ballads). If you aren't a fan of Embrace then you will like this record. Their updated sound throws off the shackles of their well known 90s/00's hits and they come back darker, rockier and more electronic (Protection, Refugees, Quarters, Self attack mechanism). Thief on my island is an epic way to conclude what is a triumphant return and i can't wait to hear it live in May. There is not a bad track here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrate!, 2 May 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
This new album from embrace will shatter your preconceptions as soon as the first beat kicks in on the first track protection. An album of ballads again is what I expected, just one rocking riff is what I hoped, knowing nothing about the album before I bought it, but in all truth, this is not an album to be reviewed - this is an album to celebrate!

Every track is beautiful, anthemic and new in the sense of how the sound comes. It's like an 80s album that just couldn't have been made in the 80s.

I honestly felt I was listening to something special on first play and that is a rare feeling with albums nowadays.

I love every track, another rarity, and there are even killer riffs dotted throughout, so play it soft or play it loud, and you will feel lifted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the new sound, 30 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of various types of music, dance, house, disco, indie rock, and many other labels people put on music. this album, comes up on itunes as indie rock, to me it is so much more than that label. It is the embrace lyrics that i have always loved, this new sound and direction from them gives me so much more though.
have been a fan of embrace for a long time, got the album through the post today, put it in the lap top to burn and started listening to it, enjoyed the lyrics and sound but wasnt amazed, then i hooked the speakers up, and oh my oh my oh my what a sound, this brought the album to life, so in depth and involved. like the lyrics say in the song protection The Louder the better. looking forward to listening to this album out driving in the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a long time coming!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
Love this album. Embrace have always managed to reflect feelings and moods so well in the music and lyrics; this has not changed over the 8 year hiatus – seems longer!!!! Darker than ‘A New Day’ but with Refugess and Follow You Home, the repeat all button is required. Bought this copy to have in the car! #GETNO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth the wait!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
As a fan of the 'old Embrace' I agree that this new album has certainly taken a different direction from what we are used to, but what a direction to take!! Echo's of New Order and U2 ebb into the new style of music we are now hearing. Embrace has always been about the music and the passion that comes across in each song is clear. There isn't a song I want to skip and I've not been able to say that for a very long time about any album. Thief is my favourite, but all the others are right up there with it. It's great to have the boys back and it has most definitely been worth the eight year wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Embrace with a twist!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
8 years between albums is way too long for any band, when it happens they really need to come back with something special, thankfully on this occasion Embrace have delivered, big time.

Lots on here that sounds kind of familiar, Ballads with balls (At Once, I Run), anthemic chorus' aplenty throughout. In The End sounds like a hit on the 1st listen. But there is so much more her than you'd expect, bass lines that would fit comfortably on any Joy Division/New Order album, echoes of U2, Echo and The Bunnymen but who'd have expected the classic house beats on Quarters or the raw punk vibe of my personal favourite (Post Attack Mechanism).

If you like Embrace of old, there's plenty here for you to love, if you didn't....... give it a go you may just surprise yourself!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great return!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
Loved Embrace back in the days and have been looking forward to this. Having heard Refugee and Follow you Home, I wasn't sure what to expect but impressed with pretty much all of the album. Even Quarters which isn't usually my kind of music is grabbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying the new sounds. A return to form, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
This album from Embrace is unlike anything you might have heard from the band. It's packed with great synth lead songs and rumbling guitars. Oh and did I mention Mike Heaton's drums, which explode from the speakers to grab your attention.

My personal favourite's are 'Quarters', a fast-paced, synth-led song that's had me dancing like a loon since the album arrived on my doorstep. Opener 'Protection' has a really catchy chorus and lyrics that cut deep. First single 'Refugees' is another fine example of how the band have changed direction, with Rik's falsetto leading the way.

The final track 'A Thief on my Island' brings the album to a close with a rhythmic blast of synths overlayed first by Danny's vocal and then a massive rif from Rik's guitar. Amazing on record and even more powerful in it's longer form when seen live. Don't miss this album and the upcoming tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
Sometimes you have to listen to an album a few times to really get a feel for the new songs, but with the new Embrace album they all grabbed me on the first listen. It's first class stuff! Lyrically, musically and production wise. Superb. There is a good variety of styles on the new album, but they all work well alongside each other. I can't stop listening to it! Album of the year for me so far. The boys may have been away for eight years, but my god they have used that time well! Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Embrace
Embrace by Embrace
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews