Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
I've sat up all night and read this book simply couldn't put it down. I purchased it on the day it was released and received it next day. It needs to be a best seller. This young woman has gone through unimaginable torture degrading and humiliating treatment but no longer down trodden she has got back up there and with god's good grace she has started her life all over again. The book puts to rest many of the things said in the media. I was fascinated by Michelle Knight since day one I think that the book also gives hope to others that have suffered some form of torture or abuse that one can eventually with guts and courage move on. I wish I had her strength not to hate but to forgive I suspect that in itself is a difficult job. I think she is better off without her family they sound to me like a bad hangover......I HOPE ARIEL CASTRO IS CHAINED IN HELL FOR ETERNITY AND IS WISHING HE WAS STILL IN JAIL WITH THE OTHER PERVS, I HOPE WHEREVER HE HE IS MAKES JAIL LOOK LIKE A TEA PARTY.....GO, Michelle, Go Amanda, Go Gina and Go Jocelyn xxxxxx
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
What a harrowing but thoroughly gripping book, I literally could not put it down and stayed awake all night 'til I reach the end. Michelle Knight is certainly one of those women who never gave up although plainly her body was giving up under the conditions she endured year after year. The book moves along always with the painful memory of the son she would never know and the babies who were so cruelly torn from her body. I cannot really comprehend anyone going through what she did, the longest survivor and despised by her captor, this book sets out the true horror of eleven years of rape, torture, starvation, my heart goes out to Michelle and thanks to all who put together this book. Utterly spellbinding.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
This is the first time I've read a book containing abuse, l think l wanted to read it because l knew Michelle, Gina, Amanda and Jocelyn escaped. It's humbling to read how Michelle has reclaimed her life after her awful start in life which ultimately led to her kidnap, the love she still gives out to the world is awe-inspiring. I hope she and the other girls have long, healthy and happy lives before it's 'their time' to go, they deserve to discover how kind the world - and people - can be.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Michelle's story is tragic. She has recounted her horrific experience with honesty and candour. I couldn't put the book down and read it in one go. I admire her so much for her positivity and new found zest for life. I can't ever imagine going through what she has. Michelle, you are an inspiration to so many others.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
This book is brilliantly written and grips you from the start. Michelle you are an amazing woman. I can't imagine what it was like to be in that house for all that time with that evil scum. I'm so glad you made it out safely. Once you start reading Michelles book you won't want to put it down. After I finished reading this amazing book. I searched YouTube and found the story in a film called Cleveland abduction, although poor picture quality. This story by book and by film is very upsetting and grips you to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Thank you Michelle for sharing your story and its message of hope. It brought up nearly every emotion for me. Ive read the book in just 2days, very unusual for me. I recommend this to everyone. I would wish every happiness to Michelle for her future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
A very real account of a terrifying ordeal. Michelle gives a perfect insight into the horror she endured at the hands of her kidnapper and tormentor. I also feel the picture the press painted of this woman is totally unfair and uninformed. Reading her account revealed a woman in complete contrast to the picture the media painted of her. I was expecting an immature prose and slightly childlike account. Nothing could be further from the truth. Sure, her upbringing was questionable and her parents should of had all the children taken away by social services. But, I also believe it was her harsh socio economic background that enabled her to withstand her captivity and survive. I truly wish her every happiness and a reunion with her estranged son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
‘Finding Me’ written by Michelle Knight is a true story about the abduction of this young single mother in Cleveland in 2002 by a local school bus driver, a woman who remained hidden from the world for a decade, been tortured whole time, in order to finally run to the so much desired freedom on a day when the whole world learned about her.

On the book pages Michelle manages to faithfully and in detail describe all the things she went through together with the other two captives, all the humiliations and torture they three have to endure to survive and finally become free.

When you read it, the first thing you think of is how is possible to survive it all not losing hope, and then find strength to resume a normal life after ten years you lived in a parallel world of violence, so close and infinitely far away from freedom.

In addition, Michelle story becomes even sadder after reading her confession about losing custody of son because on the day of her kidnapping she was scheduled to appear in court for child custody case, of whom Michelle had previously lost custody, never to been reunited with her son again. It seems that precisely Michelle desire to be with her child help her to stay alive all these years, and who knows whether she would have endured if she knew that it would never be the case.

While reading her book you cannot feel other than terribly knowing that such things are possible at the present times, but on the other hand Michelle can represent as a symbol of endurance, strength and determination not only because she managed to go through all her imprisonment days but to continue living afterwards.

And for all those reasons ‘Finding Me’, this disturbing book by Michelle Knight told first-hand about the crime that shocked the whole world can be highly recommended to read, while appreciating author’s willingness and strength to share her life in order to help this kind of shameful thing never happening again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
I normally only read fiction but I was intrigued by the Cleveland kidnappings and Michelle's story, this book can be a hard read at times especially when the amount of torture the girls had to endure is described but the overall message throughout is one of incredible strength and hope. I read the whole book over a weekend, I just couldn't put it down, but it's hard to stomach when reading that this isn't just a story, this really happened. The girls bravery is inspirational and I really hope Michelle is reunited with her son one day. A must read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Excellent read well written by the author. I read the sample and just had to buy the book on Kindle. I could not put it down. I kept making my excuses to go to bed to go read more. What sadness what pain all through Michelle ' s life she was abused. Hard to understand but true. She suffered for it 11 years a prisoner after being kidnapped, wondering if anyone had ever reported her missing and had they forgotten her!. Lonely and a victim of rape and abuse at the hands of a man who turns into a monster due to a split personality. Some of the things he did to her, she has never brought herself to say, due to the painful experience s she went through at his hands. The only thing that kept her alive and strong was the loving thoughts about her only young son somewhere hopefully happy safe and hopeful that she would see him again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£5.87

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)