Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dude, Its Awesome!
Having (surprisingly) loved the first film, I went into this one with some trepidation. So, I was delighted to find that the film plays on this anticipation, and the general crappiness of sequels (cue 'no-one thought it would work the first time, but you surprised everyone, and they decided to double the budget.') Of course there will be reviews that completely miss the...
Published 6 months ago by Dignitas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 21 Jump Street Redux
Not as good as the hilarious last installment but (to be fair) this sophomore film has a hard act to follow after the laugh a minute insanity of 21 Jump Street:

PROS:

1. Ice Cube is still on top curmudgeonly and hair trigger tempered form. He steals the film from Hill and Tatum (again)!
2. Good comedy script (SPOILER) The highlight being Hill...
Published 22 days ago by kris rudd


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dude, Its Awesome!, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Having (surprisingly) loved the first film, I went into this one with some trepidation. So, I was delighted to find that the film plays on this anticipation, and the general crappiness of sequels (cue 'no-one thought it would work the first time, but you surprised everyone, and they decided to double the budget.') Of course there will be reviews that completely miss the joke, and I expect numerous 'the plot is identical to the first film.'

This is definitely a film for those who remember the films of the 80s and 90s the first time round, and I lost count of film homages (Ace Ventura, Police Academy to name two.) And I did enjoy the digs Tatum took at himself: Schmidt: Maybe we could joint the CIA and infiltrate the White House. Jenko: Well, I thought it was a good idea. (There's also reference to Amanda Bynes (She's The Man) and Step Up franchise.) I'm glad that the dropped the gross-out jokes, and went for a more satirical line.

I also have gave a mention to Ice Cube, who stole every scene he was in.

I suspect that this will be the last Jump Street film, but I hope not, it's too good. And make sure you watch the credits, the montage is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banta, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This film is hilarious, one of the best comedies i have ever seen. I recommend this film to everyone of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the first film. Honest!, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Officers Jenko and Schmidt are back and this time they're undercover at a college going after a drug dealer in a case that's nothing like their last case. Honest! While Channing Tatum can be a bit wooden, Jonah Hill gives a fine likeable performance with Ice Cube given more to do as their boss because it's a sequel in a film that gleefully pokes fun at cop films and sequels with good action scenes and while it's a bit predictable this is turning into a fun and very silly franchise with hints at more to come and stay tuned for some surprises in the end credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 21 Jump Street Redux, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Not as good as the hilarious last installment but (to be fair) this sophomore film has a hard act to follow after the laugh a minute insanity of 21 Jump Street:

PROS:

1. Ice Cube is still on top curmudgeonly and hair trigger tempered form. He steals the film from Hill and Tatum (again)!
2. Good comedy script (SPOILER) The highlight being Hill and Tatum parodying a homoerotic relationship breaking up ("we should investigate other people" etc).
3. No Johnny Depp cameo (joke).
4. Good action sequences and stunts.
5. There are worse franchises out there (cough *Tolkein is turning in his grave right now cough*)

CONS:

1. Tatum and Hill are visually amusing and highly entertaining as the most unlikely pairing ever....in this film the Dim Jock / Bright Unfit Academic disparity is exacerbated and played on more. With mixed sometimes predictable results.
2. Okay it's a comedy but the villain is uninspired (unlike despicable, seedy Dorito man last time around).
3. Yes they parody this BUT it is the same plot all over again.

7.5 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant..., 13 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
its been a long time since i laughed so hard in cinema... forget the ridiculous ticket price ;) movie is awesome... feel good movie with great soundtrack...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The most ‘self aware’ sequel ever made, 18 Dec 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 22 Jump Street (DVD)
The first film, ’21 Jump Street,’ was a surprise hit. How do we know? Because the cast of ’22 Jump Street’ tells us as much in the script. At first I wondered whether I was imagining it, but then I realised it was basically the ‘running joke’ of the movie that the film-makers were only too aware how lucky they were to get the chance to make a sequel.

In fact, the story is exactly the same as the first – two junior cops must infiltrate high school in order to catch the bad guys. This could be considered a ‘weak point’ in the plot, yet the film happily exploits its own ‘failings’ on order to draw laughs from the fact that it’s basically the same as before.

Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum have really good chemistry as the two leads and their dynamics is what saves the film. I didn’t expect to like the first film and was as surprised at how good it was. However, I did think that – despite the good, self-aware gags – it was less funny than its predecessor. That’s mainly the middle of the film when it does tend to drag a bit. The first and last third seem to play better when it comes to laughs.

If you liked the first film, I’d say you might as well see this one, too. It’s not quite as sharp, but there is just enough laughs (apart from the ‘self aware’ stuff) to warrant your time, although I didn’t think it was as good as some critics have been saying. I heard a lot of people saying how it surpassed the original. I wouldn’t agree with that, but it is okay, just not great.

Maybe just a 3.5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's exactly the same. Which is good., 18 Dec 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The bands all back together in 22 Jump Street for another couple of hours of fast paced fun. If you've seen the first film then this will all be very familiar to you, in a good way.

Our boys Jenko and Schmidt (Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill) are off to college this time, as teased at the end of 21 Jump Street. Their careers as normal cops aren't really panning out so they're packed off on another undercover operation instead. The operation is pretty much exactly the same as before (students, teachers, suspicious deaths, drugs etc) and that's a cracking running gag for much of the film - the fact that this is basically a re-do with a bigger budget.

The plot takes the odd twist but I'm not sure it overly matters - this is all about the laughs and there's plenty of them. Big and small, the vast majority of them hit the mark and it's never less than entertaining. Tatum and Hill show the same spot on chemistry they had last time (and in The Lego Movie, another laugh riot from Jump Street directors Phil Lord and Christopher Miller). There's also quality support from the likes of Ice Cube and Jillian Bell amongst others.

There's a few tongue in cheek action set pieces to keep things interesting and it's all wrapped up with a fantastic end credits sequence. So overall, a sequel that for me, at least matched the original. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same plot, better jokes, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I had serious doubts about this film from the second I sat down to watch it. From the outset it’s clear that this film is going to follow the same line that the first film did with very little variation, but stick with it because directors Lord and Miller will show you how good sequels can be.

Following their ‘success’ in the 21 Jump Street program, Schmidt and Jenko are back with a new assignment – they’re going to college. Their job is to find the supplier of a new drug, WHYPHY (pronounced ‘wifi’), which is spreading quickly across campus and has caused the death of a student already. The plot line is pretty much exactly the same as its precursor, 21 Jump Street, except the explosions are bigger and the jokes are funnier.

Neither Jenko nor Schmidt have matured in the slightest since their first assignment, which allows Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill to be as silly as they like. Tatum shows off his character’s fearless and foolish attitude, scaling walls, jumping off buildings, getting shot (yes, again), whilst Hill reminds us what it’s like to be desperately unfit and uncoordinated. All things considered, Schmidt and Jenko shouldn’t really be friends and yet they have what is possibly the most beautiful bromance that Hollywood has ever offered us. This pair works so well together with their characters’ personalities each bringing something different to the table, but it’s when the two are combined that the real magic happens. The slight twist in this film is that Jenko and Schmidt’s relationship starts to wane under the pressure of the social hierarchy at college, which just makes it all the more obvious that this pair should never be apart.

It’s not just Tatum and Hill providing comedy gold, but the impressive supporting cast as well. We see much more of Ice Cube than in the previous film and there’s one particularly memorable scene involving green beans and a very, very angry Ice Cube. I can’t say more without revealing this film’s best moment so you’ll have to see it yourself to find out more. If that doesn’t tempt you then Jillian Bell’s rendition of a vicious Barbie doll sure as hell should.

There are numerous ‘in-jokes’ throughout the film which gives the impression that script writer Michael Bachall is having his fun with us. These references are subtly blended into this film in such a way that you’re not sure whether it really is Bachall talking directly to us, but it is. This film doesn’t take itself very seriously, but it sticks to know what it’s best at and repeats. The jokes are not forced in the slightest and this film simply oozes effortless comedy value. The jokes are somewhat repetitive, but miraculously, this doesn’t grate on you, they just get funnier every time. There were a few occasions where I couldn’t help but massively cringe at the script but these moments were rare and infrequent.

For those of you who are fans of the first film but are afraid of 22 Jump Street ruining your fond memories of Schmidt and Jenko, give this film a shot – you wont regret it. Remodelling the exact same story is difficult, but rest assured that Lord and Miller have outdone themselves once again - this isn’t anything like the disappointment that was The Hangover Part II (and Part III for that matter).

Make sure you stay until the very end of the film where there’s a series of mock scenarios for future films, up until around 41 Jump Street – the perfect end to this smashing action-comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hardly an Oscar winner but it's perfect for when you're in the mood for something light ..., 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Absolutely hilarious! I saw this in the cinema and practically cried with laughter throughout, bought the DVD as soon as it came out and it's still one of the funniest movies I've seen in a long time! It's hardly an Oscar winner but it's perfect for when you're in the mood for something light and that will genuinely make you laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought we had Cate Blanchett with the Budget., 21 Jun 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 22 Jump Street [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
When I laugh out loud, hold my side and get a tear in my eye...it's a five. I can't lie, I enjoyed the film, especially the ending when Jonah Hill "returns the favor."

After taking orders from their yin-yang, they make the same film.

Yes, they made the same movie twice. The humor was silly, inane, yet at the same time clever such as a silly chase scene taking place in front of "The Benjamin Hill Center for Film Studies." Anyone not hip to Benny Hill, might miss the real joke looking at a chase scene that is otherwise unappealing.

At one point our undercover guys act like a couple breaking up "Maybe we should start investigating other people." Tatum has met a meat head football player who thinks identical to him, leaving Jonah Hill as the third wheel.

The film had a number of good one liners, such as "I don't know if I like you sober." The scenes worked fairly well, building upon each other.

Parental Guide: Plenty of F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

22 Jump Street [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
22 Jump Street [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] by Chris Miller (Blu-ray - 2014)
£13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews