Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
I brought this book soon after it became available, and have thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Stephen Moss and Brett Westwood's prose is beautifully crafted, capturing the special qualities, but also the mysterious aspects of each bird with detail, but maintaining the concise directness of the 'tweet' concept. The text is wonderfully offset by Carry Ackoyd's perfectly...
Published 10 months ago by Miss S M Lewis

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better
I received this book as a gift as I had been an avid fan of the program and have listened to, and downloaded through podcasts all of the series. I mentioned to a friend a few months back that a book of this would be great; hence the gift The book was well written, with monthly introductions to birds in the UK, and does give a greater description of the characteristics...
Published 10 months ago by Amanda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this book soon after it became available, and have thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Stephen Moss and Brett Westwood's prose is beautifully crafted, capturing the special qualities, but also the mysterious aspects of each bird with detail, but maintaining the concise directness of the 'tweet' concept. The text is wonderfully offset by Carry Ackoyd's perfectly simple, yet detailed illustrations that capture the mood and spirit of the species shown. Larger than I expected, and a lovely quality hardback, this book is well worth the money. Dip in when you need a reminder of nature, or read from cover to cover again and again, 'Tweet of the Day Book' is a must for everyone, whether birdwatchers, or interested in culture and music, or simply love the British countryside and the life that is an essential part of its landscapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
J. A. Calderbank (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife received this as a 50th B/Day present and it's brilliant. Recommended to anyone interested in Britain's birds. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - great expansion on the radio series and beautiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book., 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Informative and enjoyable. A very good accompanying guide to refer to, after listening to the programme. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It covers what the birds look like, sound like and where and when you can ..., 24 Dec. 2014
If you have ever tried to persuade the BBC to feature an item about birds you will know that it is a challenging task. So it was with amazement that in May last year I realised that they had decided to broadcast a series on Radio 4 called Tweet of the Day. Each programme was to be just 90 seconds long, but there were to be 265 of them. Each programme started with the call or song of a different British bird, followed by an account of why this bird is interesting, read by a well-known wildlife presenter.

The series of mini-programmes was a huge success and I am sure that all of us as birders have heard about it even if we’re not radio listeners. There was an actual and digital audience of over a million people, plus a huge number of people downloaded the podcasts.

Some of the species were featured more than once in the series, so this book takes all 225 of them and provides a text of around 300-400 words on each. In many cases this is close to what was actually used in the narration. It covers what the birds look like, sound like and where and when you can see them - but is also packed full of folklore, poetry and ornithological observation.

Award-winning naturalist Brett Westwood and bestselling author Stephen Moss have distilled a lifetime's knowledge, insights and enthusiasm into these pages. It is also a beautiful book, elegantly designed and full of atmospheric illustrations by Carry Ackoyd.

Perhaps the biggest surprise for me was that the book did not come with a CD of the songs. Of course that would have increased the cost, but to have a book about a radio series without the actual bird sounds played on air seems a bit odd. Anyway you can download the sounds from the BBC iPlayer, so all is not lost.
The birds are divided into months from May through to April, with each one allocated to the month that makes the most sense. It does make sense – although October seems to be better month than I usually experience, with Bobolink and Mourning Dove being listed!

At £25 this book is quite a lot more than I would have expected. However the series has given huge pleasure to a nation of would-be birdwatchers, so I am sure it will be a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better, 20 April 2014
I received this book as a gift as I had been an avid fan of the program and have listened to, and downloaded through podcasts all of the series. I mentioned to a friend a few months back that a book of this would be great; hence the gift The book was well written, with monthly introductions to birds in the UK, and does give a greater description of the characteristics of each bird, as well as an insight into to other aspects, such as the impact of the changing environment then the radio 4 program gave. There were however a couple of key elements missing: 1 - I looked for the CD of songs - which did not come with the book (essential if you have not listened to the audio), and 2 and more importantly for me, a pictorial reference. There are pen and ink (blank and white predominantly) drawings of each bird, however it would have been more beneficial to have photographs that, alongside an audio would help the reader identify each bird more readily. If you really want to learn, you need three key elements: This book, The downloaded Podcasts (if still available) and another bird identification book with photographs. At a cover price of £25, I really would have expected more from the BBC (or was I expecting too much?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... illustrated with colour photos - otherwise this is a nice bedtime read, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A shame this isn't illustrated with colour photos - otherwise this is a nice bedtime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got this both as hardback and audiobook - great overview of British birds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gorgeous book, fantastic for dipping into, made into an object of wonder by Carry Akroyd's fabulous illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tweet of the Day book, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
R. Meadows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent informative and entertaining book. The illustrator ought to have had greater acknowledgement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews