Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
Excellent, a real girly chic flick! Laughed the whole way through, a must see! Can't wait to get it on DVD!
Published 4 months ago by Rachel Hames

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Misogynist and lazily written, not even particularly funny.
This was the most stunningly awful, anti-woman movie I have seen in a very long time.

The Connecticut stay-at-home wife is ditsy and inadequate in her floral dresses, the successful and sexually active lawyer is hard and unfeminine (towards other women, at least), the possessor of large breasts is stupid, and even the unliberated Joan Holloway throwback...
Published 2 days ago by Sarah Lidwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 13 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, a real girly chic flick! Laughed the whole way through, a must see! Can't wait to get it on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You just cannot go wrong with Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann in one chick-flick! 3.5 /4 stars., 20 July 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
You know what, yes, the jokes are clichéd (most, but not all!) and much of the comedy seems strained or offhand, and it doesn't really kick into gear until two leading ladies start drinking together. But I very much enjoyed this film, and I am sure almost any girl/woman would, too. Especially if you know what not to expect - some deep meaning drama. This is a top-notch entertainment delivered by gorgeous Cameron Diaz and cute yet hilarious Leslie Mann.

To sum up the plot: it's girl power against one cheating Jamie Lannister. Enjoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't seen this film you're missing out! I was laughing uncontrollably the entire time. When you have Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann in the same film, you know it's going to be good. It's not predictable or cheesy. Just honest. I have to say this beats my favourite Cameron Diaz film The Sweetest Thing which I thought was impossible. Nice to see a film where women come together to help each other and empower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this film, 30 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
This proves that movies don't have to be a 15 to be funny. This had myself and my sister laughing throughout. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misogynist and lazily written, not even particularly funny., 13 Sep 2014
By 
Sarah Lidwell (Dublin 9, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
This was the most stunningly awful, anti-woman movie I have seen in a very long time.

The Connecticut stay-at-home wife is ditsy and inadequate in her floral dresses, the successful and sexually active lawyer is hard and unfeminine (towards other women, at least), the possessor of large breasts is stupid, and even the unliberated Joan Holloway throwback secretary (Nicki Minaj) believes that it is better to be married than to have a career, which is really only a hobby anyway.

A promiscuous man is the central point around which all of their lives revolve, and their "revenge" on him mostly involves withheld sex, oestrogen pills and laxatives. Because being women, that's all they could come up with. When they *do* legitimately get him for fraud and theft, their attitude is one of "See? We got you, EVEN THOUGH we are women!". The three women end up with crushingly predictable happy endings (and Cameron Diaz is rehabilitated as a womanly woman).

The only time they stop talking about the central male character is when they discuss the sort of pubic hair men prefer on women. Needless to say, it fails the Bechdel test.

Hollywood happily churns out plenty of pretty solidly anti-woman material, but at least other movies like Bride Wars and The Devil Wears Prada (both of which also portray successful women as "bitches") are often well and entertainingly written. The Other Woman is sadly neither, and has little to recommend it.

Depressing in the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, 25 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Such a funny film. We laughed all the way through this and so did everyone else in the cinema. Looking forward to buying it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 23 July 2014
By 
Three Woman Carly (Cameron Diaz-funny), Kate (Leslie Mann-annoying) and Amber (Kate Upton-DING! DING!) find out they are being cheated on by the same man, successful business man Mark (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) they befriend each other and hatch a plan to get revenge.

Slightly similar to 80's Dolly Pardon fluff "9-5", 'The Other Woman" biggest problem is that it takes a long time for it to get going, once the three leads get together to plot their revenge it's fairly amusing and likeable, Diaz is always good value in a comedy role, Mann though overacts to the point of annoyance for the first half of the movie with her tiresome drunk routine, though the producers hit +11 with the addition of model Kate Upton to keep the male contingent interested (first scene? slow-mo in a bikini!!)

Predictable fluffy nonsense but fairly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PATCH OF HAPPINESS, 4 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Kate (Leslie Mann) discovers her husband Mark (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) has been cheating on him with Carly (Cameron Diaz) and Amber (Kate Upton). The three women form a sisterhood making me feel like I was watching a "Sex in the City" episode. Together they conspire to "hurt" Mark.

The movie is a chick flick. Cameron Diaz is not the spry Charlies' Angel anymore. Leslie Mann plays an unrealistic character that was fun to watch. And Kate Upton ran in slow motion in a white bikini. This was a fun formulaic film that is not deep. Good sound track helped in the enjoyment.

Parental Guide: No nudity. 2 mouthed f-bombs. Sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best film I've seen in ages, 10 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely adored this film, could not stop laughing through the whole thing and am still smiling 2 hours after it has finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Although funny in bits, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Based on 3 women, the wife and 2 mistresses who become friends after realizing that their husband/boyfriend is all cheating on them with each other.

Although funny in bits, it does feel a little bit like the same old cliche. It's worth a watch once for a bit of a laugh but it did not leave any lasting impression on me. Sometimes it feels so over acted, but that is my own personal opinion.

Good for a girly night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Woman [DVD]
The Other Woman [DVD] by Nick Cassavetes (DVD - 2014)
10.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews