Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You just cannot go wrong with Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann in one chick-flick! 3.5 /4 stars.
You know what, yes, the jokes are clichéd (most, but not all!) and much of the comedy seems strained or offhand, and it doesn't really kick into gear until two leading ladies start drinking together. But I very much enjoyed this film, and I am sure almost any girl/woman would, too. Especially if you know what not to expect - some deep meaning drama. This is a...
Published 4 months ago by Lola

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, waste of my time and money
I bought this on impulse when I had flu. I generally like Cameron Diaz's films, and from reading the blurb this film "wants" to be really good...
Woman discovers that Mark, her recently dumped boyfriend of 8 weeks, was unreliable because he is actually married. Meanwhile the wife tracks down Mark's mistress (although technically she can't be called a mistress...
Published 26 days ago by Claire Summers


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You just cannot go wrong with Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann in one chick-flick! 3.5 /4 stars., 20 July 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
You know what, yes, the jokes are clichéd (most, but not all!) and much of the comedy seems strained or offhand, and it doesn't really kick into gear until two leading ladies start drinking together. But I very much enjoyed this film, and I am sure almost any girl/woman would, too. Especially if you know what not to expect - some deep meaning drama. This is a top-notch entertainment delivered by gorgeous Cameron Diaz and cute yet hilarious Leslie Mann.

To sum up the plot: it's girl power against one cheating Jamie Lannister. Enjoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, waste of my time and money, 1 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on impulse when I had flu. I generally like Cameron Diaz's films, and from reading the blurb this film "wants" to be really good...
Woman discovers that Mark, her recently dumped boyfriend of 8 weeks, was unreliable because he is actually married. Meanwhile the wife tracks down Mark's mistress (although technically she can't be called a mistress as she had no idea she was dating a married man) and the two form an unlikely alliance (aided by copious amounts of booze) and hatch a plot to get revenge... To make matters worse, they discover that Mark has yet another woman on the side, and they rope her in too!
As I said, the concept of two women bonding together to get their own back on a cheating love-rat could have been a great movie, but it took the best part of an hour before they came up with any plan, the addition of the third woman made it rather ridiculous, and I just found it all a bit stupid and slapstick - I lost the will to live and didn't see it through to the end.
I vaguely recall once reading and enjoying a novel where two women were sharing the same man (one of them married to him, the mistress having no idea he was married) and getting together to get revenge rather than confronting him or scratching each other's eyes out. I can't remember who wrote the book, but I seem to think it was less screwball and had the makings of a good film. So I am not sure whether this is loosely based on a novel. If it is, it doesn't do it justice.
Certainly not one to try and watch with a bloke - the only thing a man would enjoy about it would be that the three leading ladies are "hotties"
Disappointing and a waste of a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, 25 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Such a funny film. We laughed all the way through this and so did everyone else in the cinema. Looking forward to buying it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this film, 30 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
This proves that movies don't have to be a 15 to be funny. This had myself and my sister laughing throughout. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 13 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, a real girly chic flick! Laughed the whole way through, a must see! Can't wait to get it on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy and laugh out loud!, 14 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
If you have ever felt even partially duped here is a go to guide on what to do, unless of course you have your own set of arsenal then all I can say is it will only encourage you lol. Never give up on YOU is the best message in this movie, there are plenty of others mind you but this one shines through the most! For you are worthy of being respected and having the right done by you let no one tell you otherwise, and if this is ever questioned then unleash the arsenal ladies and defend your honour! So get prepared to take notes or to add to your already decked out collection of how to play a player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel, 19 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a movie to be set aside lightly - it should be thrown with great force. The script is a mess: if you are writing a film about a wronged wife exacting revenge on her cheating husband, don't make the wife so irritating that you'd be sympathetic if he buried her alive in the back yard. The hilarity of a character being sick in her 'bag and a large dog defecating in a pristine flat is limited to those under 6. What was Cameron Diaz thinking? What was the director thinking? I can only assume (in both cases) the motivation came from the pay cheque.

I'm sorry, but this film is drivel. I can't really imagine who it's aimed at, but anyone who did enjoy this is probably not bright enough
to be in charge of a blender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Don't Bother if you're a Woman, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy low end comedy then this should be right up your street. Lacking in the laugh out loud moments and fantastic characterisation of films like Bridesmaids this film limps along the age old man screws women and women get revenge scenario. There is no time to feel empathy with any of the three female leads. Their presentation and the situations in which they find themselves seem to have been created for men rather than the stereotypical female audience usually expected to bank roll what is essentially soft porn for the American Pie generation. Whilst piracy is rife each film reminds us at the end of the credits of the number of jobs created by the production, unfortunately in the case of The Other Woman they certainly can't claim pride in their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best film I've seen in ages, 10 May 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely adored this film, could not stop laughing through the whole thing and am still smiling 2 hours after it has finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Although funny in bits, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Based on 3 women, the wife and 2 mistresses who become friends after realizing that their husband/boyfriend is all cheating on them with each other.

Although funny in bits, it does feel a little bit like the same old cliche. It's worth a watch once for a bit of a laugh but it did not leave any lasting impression on me. Sometimes it feels so over acted, but that is my own personal opinion.

Good for a girly night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Woman [DVD]
The Other Woman [DVD] by Nick Cassavetes (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews