Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the girl
This slick and stylish thriller is a pleasure to read, fast-paced as it is. I’ll try to avoid spoiling plot turns and the surprising, gut-wrenching ending... Greed is everywhere, the world is not what it seems and world-changing decisions and events are often being shaped by powers that are difficult to understand, or control. With this premise, Pesaro takes us on a...
Published 12 months ago by RTB SA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zero Alternative by Luca Pesaro
Scott “Yours” Walker is a Derivatives Trader at the Dorfmann Bank, City of London. Working in the programming section is DM Khaing, a Swiss-Burmese and they become best friends.

DM is a mathematician and has designed a computer programme called DeepShare, which is able to predict trends/events in the markets which, known ahead of time, can result in...
Published 10 months ago by Best Selling Crime Thrillers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the girl, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Paperback)
This slick and stylish thriller is a pleasure to read, fast-paced as it is. I’ll try to avoid spoiling plot turns and the surprising, gut-wrenching ending... Greed is everywhere, the world is not what it seems and world-changing decisions and events are often being shaped by powers that are difficult to understand, or control. With this premise, Pesaro takes us on a journey full of unexpected twists and shocking developments. His hero, Scott Walker, is a cynical, jaded trader in financial markets whose world implodes with terrifying speed. He doesn’t know who to trust or how he could possibly survive, but he does have a secret weapon, if he can figure out how to use it before he gets killed. ZA is a great action read, written in a fluid style by someone who knows his locations, and Italy, very well. Dialogue is cool and snappy.If you like your thrillers smart and pacy, you should definetely try this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bankers thriller written by a trading floor trader, brilliant, 9 May 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Paperback)
Luca is a brilliant equity derivative trader, which all people having worked with him knew, but he suprised us being also an amazing writer. In this book, he introduces us to a few high flying trading floor people and develops around them a plot as well written as Ludlum would do, but much more credible because writen by an insider. To read this novel, book a long week-end where you have nothing else planed, pour yourself a nice drink of whatever you fancy, sit back and enjoy, as you will not close it before reaching the last line. I already pre-ordered the next one, which I understand he already started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant financial thriller, 5 May 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Kindle Edition)
The general view is that finance is boring and for sad people, however Luca Pesaro has given us a brilliantly different one. Starting with a tough day on the trading floor of an investment bank, Scott Walker is drawn into a web of deceit, murder, revenge and sex. These are the classic elements of a great thriller and Zero Alternative does not disappoint. Most of us have suffered losses from the 2008 finance market disasters but here the author takes it on to the next level. Walker's friend DM has developed predictive software that will rock the markets and the race is on to get possession by any means.

If you like a fast paced action thriller that is easy to read and does not try to lecture you on the subject matter, then this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zero Alternative by Luca Pesaro, 12 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Kindle Edition)
Scott “Yours” Walker is a Derivatives Trader at the Dorfmann Bank, City of London. Working in the programming section is DM Khaing, a Swiss-Burmese and they become best friends.

DM is a mathematician and has designed a computer programme called DeepShare, which is able to predict trends/events in the markets which, known ahead of time, can result in making a killing on the stock exchange. In the right hands, this programme can change the way the world trades, but in the wrong hands ……!

DM tells Scott that he’s sure someone is following him. Scott brushes these fears away as DM is known for his excessive smoking of hash. Thanks to DM and Deepshare, Scott has had an excellent day on the markets and waits at a club for DM to join him to celebrate, but he never appears.

While waiting for DM Scott is smitten by a new “dancer” and wakes up the following morning to find his flat trashed, money stolen, but worst of all, his computer with one part of DeepShare stolen. He has no memory of getting home with the girl and realises that he had been stung.

He’s busy trying to work out what actually happened to him, sees that DM has not come to work and realises that something has happened to him, sets off to his house and finds his battered tortured body. Layla (the dancer) has in the meantime, come back to Scott to tell him that she had been hired by a professional hit-man to drug him and rob him and that the killer has deposited traces of DM’s blood in Scott’s flat, making it appear as if he is the killer. Scott realises that he can’t stay in England and flees with Layla to his friend Luigi.

He needs to find a safe place to hide, where he can gather together all the components of Deepshare. This was a very different type of book to the usual “Thriller”. I found that as I know very little about the stock market and how it operates, I spent quite a lot of time re-reading sections and then looking up Derivative Trading/traders on the Internet.

However, the machine; DeepShare, is a totally brilliant concept and I can seriously understand how such a programme could, in the hands of unscrupulous bankers, traders and all connected with the daily running of the markets be lethal and therefore the reason to try to steal the programme from its creator and silence not only him but anyone else with knowledge of its uniqueness.

So why only 3.5 stars you may ask? And my answer has taken me days to write. The author has obviously put hours of research into the book and for that I must give 5 stars, but the characters just lacked “face”.

I felt like I was just READING a story – not LIVING the story. And here dear readers, is where I’m hoping that you’ll give this book a go and then report back to me with your comments. - Treebeard

Rating: 3 ½ stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, 27 April 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Kindle Edition)
Thrill a minute, unputdownable. This is a great novel with a brilliant contemporary plot, compelling protagonists and well drawn settings. The pace is like a Baldacci or Grisham but the characters more interesting and the narrative less formulaic.The insight into the financial markets is fascinating. Reminded me of Robert Harris's Fear Index but this is much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SUSPENSE THRILLER DEBUT OF THE YEAR!, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Kindle Edition)
Zero Alternative by debutant author Luca Pesaro is a fast-paced and tantalizingly crafted action-packed conspiracy suspense thriller that takes you into the dizzying world of intrigue and machination of the global financial market, criss-crossing London in England, Sardinia, Siena and Rome in Italy, New Mexico in United States and Lugano in Switzerland. Weaving a thoroughly fresh story with plot twist that will keep you totally absorbed, Luca Pesaro’s debut novel may perhaps end up as the thriller debut of the year.

Luca Pesaro was once a derivative trader in real life and is familiar with the world of Zero Alternative where greed, skullduggery, sleaze and manipulation rule. The main protagonist, Scott “Yours” Walker, is an investment banker who with the help of tech-savvy friend created DeepShare program - a silicon oracle that could predict a slice of the future, quickly turning him into a multi-millionaire. With such a money-machine in existence, can trouble be far behind? Walker got bundled out through the calculated move of an unknown enemy. But his problem is far from over. As the story unfolds, he must uncover a web of mystery and deceit if he is to keep DeepShare safe.

But that is easier said than done. With government agents, greedy billionaires, crazy criminals and sharp hitmen on his tail, Walker’s immediate task is to stay alive. To make matter worse, he can’t even trust the woman he love. If his life is to regain a semblance of normalcy that he once knew, his gut instinct know that greater dangers lie in wait. Whatever the consequence, he must tear apart a corrupt international bank that has been hunting for him. Now it is time for the hunted to become the hunter.

Zero Alternative is not only a refreshing read but an innovative story with the global financial market with all its huge imponderables as the backdrop of a story that is scary, stunning and simply absorbing. Luca Pesaro is a fine storyteller and he has the gift to emerge as one of the foremost writers of our time. Having said that, the novel at times appears a bit raw, which is a trait most visible in first-time authors. But that should not take anything away from a novel with exotic locales, amazing characters and a storyline that has real depth and could become a reality in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I Could Give This Book 10 Stars, 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Kindle Edition)
Disclaimer--I received a free copy of this book for purposes of review. All opinions are 100% my own.

If you're in the mood for a conspiracy thriller, you need to give this novel a peek. Fast-paced, intelligently written and the author's not hard on the eyes, either. Oops. Did I say that out loud? Come on, we are ALL guilty of peering at the author's pic on the dust jacket more than once while reading a book. Sometimes, i look at his or her pic and try to get inside their mind and figure out how they came up with the plot. Maybe I'm just weird. Anyhoo...

I am so close to finishing this book (within 30 pages) and didn't want to stop even to write this review. But, I loathe to miss a deadline. So, here I am.

I recommend this book highly to anyone who likes a story you can really bite into, a story where you forget all about the real world around you, a story that (figuratively speaking) hijacks your mind and free will. And it will. I just can't seem to put it down. I stayed up until almost dawn reading it. Then overslept my alarm and was late for work. And it was totally worth it -- with the exception that I didn't get to finish it. The characters are captivating, the plot is interesting, and the story just flows. What else can I say?

Well, I can say, "Buy it!" You will not be disappointed in the least. I promise. I wish I could give this book 10 stars. :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even from the beginning there was more than one surprise in this well-written story., 17 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Kindle Edition)
My first impression was - Even from the beginning there was more than one surprise in this well-written story. Scott Walker is a different kind of hero who offers the reader a fascinating read.

As I got to the middle, I felt - It's not the case of usual suspects and as the mystery thickens, Scott Walker does whatever it takes to survive. "History is full of people and institutions that grew to positions of supremacy only to come crashing down." This quote pretty much sums up Scott Walker and anyone who has been through an economy crisis realises the severity of the situation on an individual or a company.

As I neared the end, I thought - Many chapters in the book reminded me of the TV series "Damages" where everyone has something to hide. The ending is not a cliffhanger but was open ended enough to insinuate another Scott Walker book.

My final impression and recommendations - I liked it very much but the secondary characters did not always make sense. Definitely worth reading.

Disclosure - As a Quality Reads UK Book Club member, I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my book review. This book review is based on my thoughts, opinion and understanding of the book. This book review does not reflect the opinion of other book club members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT THRILLER! A MUST READ!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Paperback)
Captivating whirlwind of a novel. Gripped me from the start. Couldn't put it down. Would definitely recommend this book. Really looking forward to the author's next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Zero Alternative (Paperback)
Brilliantly written. I couldn't put this book down. Finished it in two huge sittings.
Does anyone know if Luca Pesaro has another book in the pipeline?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zero Alternative
Zero Alternative by Luca Pesaro
£4.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews