Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on the front row
I have only been playing Grid Autosport for a few days, but it really is back on form for the series. Sure its not perfect, but it's definitely and 8.5 or 9 out of 10 game.

For me the best thing about the game is the intensity, it really makes you work for every place and enjoy doing so. The other drivers make mistakes but also drive well, combining aggression...
Published 9 months ago by gumbymansteve

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Game u just hate to no be able to play
Was good if it worked. Its in the bin now as it's to stressful freezing or crashes.Either get a message saying corrupt or it just keeps going on an on an on the loading screen. What a waste of money thanks codemasters for a shocking game u cant play !!!!
Published 17 days ago by chris malpas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on the front row, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
I have only been playing Grid Autosport for a few days, but it really is back on form for the series. Sure its not perfect, but it's definitely and 8.5 or 9 out of 10 game.

For me the best thing about the game is the intensity, it really makes you work for every place and enjoy doing so. The other drivers make mistakes but also drive well, combining aggression and defensive tactics. I'm sure this would only be heightened with online play, but my internet speed is too slow for that, so the offline elements of games are all important for me. This is where I feel Grid Autosport really offers a lot. I have actually spent most of my time ignoring the career mode and racing custom cups so far - a great feature where you can make your own championships You can pick the car groups, the tracks, number of laps, night/day etc, to create a set of races you love, plus you accrue points across the races for the championship total. It seems to me as if most of the cars are unlocked for this option too, which is a nice change - you can have a go with the exciting stuff straight away.

There are some slight annoyances, I noticed rubberbanding when the game is set on the easier difficulty levels, but I guess most players concerned about that will soon be setting their game on the most realistic difficulty anyway. Pus it seemed to really only occur when letting you catch up to the pack again. once with them they all start behaving properly again.

The handling is not the most hardcore I've played, but it's enough to feel realistic, challenging but also intensely fun. The cars feel different and they just beg to be driven to their limits - the Sierra RS500 is just brilliant! Takes me back to the days of watching Steve Soper and Andy Rouse battling it out round Brands Hatch.

Visually it looks great, The cars look good, the tracks look excellent with lots of lovely details, and the lighting effects add extra realism too. The damage model for the cars is excellent in the way it physically effects the vehicle, and pieces falling off are well realised, but I will admit the crumpling of the rear of your car does look very PS2! (hey you should be trying to avoid that anyway!) I love the fact that if you've battered your bodywork onto your tyres you can have been doing some great laps and forgotten all about the silly accident you had on the first corner, when suddenly BANG goes a tyre and you realise that the damage you did has been slowly eating into the rubber - just like you so often see in the touring cars. It's frustrating when it happens a few laps from home, but it really adds to the realism.

I have played the TOCA series from the first one on the PS1 through to this, although I ddi give Grid 2 a miss after the 'arcadey' reviews. My favourite of the series is TOCA 2 for the PS1 for handling, excitement and championship realism (yes it's dated now graphically, but I still play it every now and then on my PC and the handling is still fantastic) but Grid Autosport comes a close second, as it does most things very well, and really has that 'just one more go' feel to it that you really want from a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in the right direction, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
Another great racing game from Codemasters, the gameplay visuals and presentation all top notch.
After grid 2 which was a little to much on the arcade side and far to light on proper motor sport content for my tastes considering the series roots autosport is a real step in the right direction.
There is still no licensed championships or events the game still captures the essence of many different race series with many different cars from the world of touring cars, GTs and single seaters.
Over all a great racing title to cap off the older generation of consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best racing game on PS3/ X360 for me., 14 July 2014
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the racing game i wished GT5 would turn out to be when i bought my PS3. It's not a car collectors game like GT or Forza as there are only 100+ cars in Grid Autosport, but that's because the emphasis is on the racing and boy it's well done! The career structure gives you the choice to choose between 5 different modes; Touring cars, endurance, open wheel, tuner and street and you are able to switch between them in between championships, so it's nice that you can jump into a different type of car whenever you feel like it during your career and have some diversity.
You can also do practice sessions and qualifying before a race which is something that many racing games don't bother to put in there anymore.

The AI is incredible, it's fast and fights you for the position but not in a way that it get's overly frustrating (apart from first corner pile ups), the graphics are of the best i've seen on PS3 as the tracks are alive with detail and effects. The sounds and SFX in general are also great and the physics are remarkably good for a game that promotes itself as a simcade; traction, over and understeer, weight transfer and tyre grip are all very well done and you can even roll your car in the gravel traps.

In short this is the best racing game on PS3/ Xbox 360 (i own GT5, FM4, Shift, Race pro, and F1 games so i can compare ;)).

Just buy this if you like your racing games, you won't regret it highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the original Grid then you will like this...Grid 2 its not!, 4 July 2014
By 
MR "rlawton2" (Swindon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
As a massive fan of the original Grid and having suffered the disappointment of Grid 2 I was a little wary of this game especially as some of the reviews here seem less than positive. The big question for me was is this as good as Grid?

The presentation of the game is much more low key than Grid, very simple menus are used that are clean and efficient. Grid was a bit more flashy but everything is laid out nicely and nothing is out of place.

Races are split across 6 events and the last event is unlocked depending upon progress in the first 5. 10 min practice sessions per race have been added (and a 3 lap qualifying if applicable) which is a nice addition and allows you to gain some familiarity before the serious stuff begins. You can also have driver aids that weren't in the original grid like the optimum racing line etc.

Racing is very responsive and the opponents are robust which makes the action frenetic. They will defend their driving lines from you and fellow racers. They can also make mistakes which definitely adds to the drama of racing. These guys don't do laps on rails. I personally like the AI very much, its been done extremely well and makes the AI in games like GT5/GT6 seem very outdated. There are 5 levels of difficulty which beats the originals 3.

Sadly, you don't seem to be able to have your own team like the original Grid so you're just racing for other teams gaining XP which subsequently unlocks more of the game. There is an online option which appears to be based upon buying cars as you progress in races but I've been having difficulty logging in so am unable to gauge how good that is.

What I really like is the variety of racing, getting a little bored of touring cars then switch to open wheel. Had enough open wheel then head off to some street racing etc. It is also a nice blend between arcade and sim, there is realism in the races but it has a high energy feel very much like the original.

I should also mention that the flashback system is done very well. Much better than the original and doesn't break the flow of the game or feel intrusive like the original did. You make a mistake, press the flashback and the onscreen action reverses instantly until you're ready for a 2nd attempt. Very smoothly done.

The graphics on PS3 aren't bad, they are better than the original game but obviously can't compete with its PC brother. There is a high sense of speed (especially on open wheel games) and very rarely does the frame rate stutter. Sound is okay, not the best I've heard but does the job.

Overall, this is what Grid 2 should have been and its pretty close to being as good as the orginal. Racing is solid and there is enough variety and challenge to keep you going for a long while. With dlc promising more cars and game modes then there should be even more to look forward to in the coming months.

EDIT: Have now managed to play a few online races and its great fun. Similar to single player except you also win cash to buy new cars with, gain sponsors and unlock upgrades. Thanks to the reasonably realistic damage model it pays to drive cleanly so you don't get the mad rammers that you often get in other racing games. Thats not to say that collisions don't happen, they do, but anyone who keeps banger racing or uses other cars to slow down won't get far. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GRID yet, 28 July 2014
By 
J. Palliser (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
Having previously purchased the first 2 GRID games for PS3, I naturally assumed that this would be a great game - I was a little disappointed with GRID 2, in my opinion the first was the best, but this is by far the best of the three, and right up there with Gran Turismo 5 & 6, albeit a completely different style of racing. The career is great, much better than the second and more defined than most racing games, with more variety for sure, and the online racenet challenge is great!

I would definitely recommend this to fans of other racing games, at all abilities and ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pole Position!, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
Can i just say to Codemasters, thankyou for making Grid Autosport the best racing game full stop. That is until you guys bring out Grid and F1 2014 on the PS4!. Could not put this down last night, not many games can do this to me anymore. Having played all the Codemasters racing series from Toca on the PS1 through to this i felt i was playing those early games again, handling is spot on, somewhere in the middle of sim and arcade which basically means lots of fun. So what do you do?

1. Lots of different motorsport to choose from. Start anywhere like you did in the first grid game. Touring cars, Endurance with GT and LMP cars, Open wheel F3 and Indycar, Tuner with drift, time trial etc like grid 2 and Street racing. If i have left anything out, sorry still playing game and still early in my career.

2. Career. This the main part of the game. Gone are endless menus and pretend garages, this is a stripped back affair so you can concentrate on the racing. Similar upgrade sysem to Grid 1 for the different classes. Overall so far i think they have nailed it here.

3. Graphics. Ok i do have a PS4 so there are hardly any racing games on the system so far, Need for Speed being one of them. The cars look fantastic, not far behind NFS Rivals. God knows what they are going to look like on the next gen. The only gripe i have is cockpit mode. Its just a fuzzy mess really , nothing like GT6 or Grid 1 for that matter, but dont let that put you off. I enjoy the chase cam for these games and it looks mega like that.

4. Overall Bloody awseome game for the ps3 to bow out with. If you are into racing /driving games, just buy it. Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game offers the best AI racing on the PS3, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
This game offers the best AI racing on the PS3.
As others have said, it has a similar feel to the old TOCA (British Touring Car Championship) games, but has more variety of car classes to compete in.
Whilst the handling is more forgiving than GT5, the AI opposition is not as robotic as GT5, and gives a sense of real racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much Improved!, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
Been a while since I've played a good racing game but this one has filled that gap! Great selection of cars and tracks stops the game from feeling old or repetitive. If I had to find a flaw it's that the handling is over sensitive, an option to lower the steering sensitivity would have been nice. I would have also liked an option to save replays.
None the less, the best racing game I've played recently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best racing game new or last gen, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
bought this due to lack of driving games on ps4, I'd a very good game, codemasters never fail to disappoint. the visuals are not too bad, having played driveclub on ps4 I can see a difference but this game more than makes up for that in the size of the career mode. the best racing game out there at the moment, new or last gen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars go by it if you loved previous GRID's, 4 July 2014
This review is from: GRID: Autosport (PS3) (Video Game)
Had this since release day, excellent delivery thanx amazon. Played codemasters since toca ps1, grid, grid2, also love the dirt series. Greatly disappointed in GT5 after all the hype, and will not got there again, pretty cars just floating about, zero fun..
Missed open wheel in grid2, but now its back in AS. The reverse grid makes it really hard to progress by starting at the back, but it kind of makes it more addictive as you gradually work your way up through the pack.
I have kept the settings as they come, except from changing the steering back to left/right buttons, just like ps1 ;O)
Touring car racing is really hard and a bit of a precession with overtaking on happening by braking late and squeezing up the inside, much use of the replay button.
This game will take ages to complete, like last night when I had to retire on last lap twice after moving from last to 3rd, only for the tyres to blow and all the cars behind to stream past.
There was no on-line racenet communications last night which needs to be sorted, and the game has locked-up twice.
Overall I can recommend this to all previous GRID owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GRID: Autosport (PS3)
GRID: Autosport (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£24.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews