Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Hiatt's got the blues.
"Terms Of My Surrender" is the twenty-second studio album by John Hiatt, the singer-songwriter with the soulful, gritty voice, and another highlight in a career that already spans four decades. In a bit of a departure from previous albums that slanted towards gravelly country-folk, the 11 tracks on his new record are mainly acoustic blues, with Hiatt even playing...
Published 4 months ago by D. C. Stolk

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag!
Bit of a mixed bag I think. On the plus side, the recording and production are excellent, great playing all round and Hiatt's voice sounds wonderfully worn but without some of the harshness that can creep in. Some vintage Hiatt songs as well, most notably to my mind the opening track 'Long Time Comin' and 'Wind Don't Have to Hurry'. However, overall the album sounds a...
Published 3 months ago by Alison Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Hiatt's got the blues., 15 July 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Terms Of My Surrender" is the twenty-second studio album by John Hiatt, the singer-songwriter with the soulful, gritty voice, and another highlight in a career that already spans four decades. In a bit of a departure from previous albums that slanted towards gravelly country-folk, the 11 tracks on his new record are mainly acoustic blues, with Hiatt even playing harmonica, something he hasn't done in several years.

Among my favorites on this album are the folksy album-opener "Long Time Coming," which is a Springsteen-ish track, with Hiatt starting out acoustically. It slowly grows into full instrumentation with a great guitar solo from Doug Lancio in the middle part, before ending acoustically again. Then you have the thumping back porch blues of "Face Of God," a 12 bar track where Hiatt asks: "How much more suffering, Before you see the face of God," and also makes the harmonica howl. Then you have the cheerful "Marlene," a deceptively simple ditty as exemplified by lyrics like "Marlene, Marlene, when you call my name, Marlene, Marlene, like a summer rain," but it's an incredible catchy and for sure will make "... the blues run and hide."

"Wind Don't Have To Hurry" is a banjo-driven track that also has female backing vocals to flesh out the song (although the "Na Na Na Na" edges close to getting a tad repetitive). The hobo jazz of title track "Terms Of My Surrender," which has some of the wittiest lyrics on the album: "Sometimes love can be so wrong, Like a fat man in a thong" (okay, now to get that image out of my head!) and which is a bit reminisced of Randy Newman. Then you have the gospel-flavored "Old People," a snarky song in which the 61-year old singer-songwriter takes a witty look at the older generation who's running out of time: "Old People are pushy, They don't have much time, They'll shove you in the coffee shop, Cut in front of you in the buffet line."

That's not to say that the understated but powerful "Nobody Knew His Name," the swampy "Baby's Gonna Kick" - again with his own train-whistle harmonica - and the blues-strut of "Nothing I Love," the gospel-influenced blues of "Here To Stay," a melancholy track in which he sings "Leaves are fallin', Winter's on my mind" and album-closer "Come Back Home" aren't great songs. They are. And like good wine, Hiatt's vocals appear to be improving with age. At age 61, he may have lost the top of his vocal register, but his whiskeyed voice suits the bluesy material on this album exceptionally well.

"Terms Of My Surrender" was produced by Doug Lancio, Hiatt's longtime guitarist, and we've got him to thank for challenging John to put his electric guitar aside and play acoustic. It was recorded off the floor with his touring band as in a live setting, and it truly sounds like Hiatt's sitting in your living room and jamming these songs with his band - or maybe a better analogy would be that you're sitting down for a beer in one of those old-style blues clubs, peering through a veil of cigarette smoke at the stage, where Hiatt and The Combo are having a great time. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally found by the blues, 21 July 2014
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
John Hiatt is obviously a man in a hurry, with no let-up in the rapid pace of his releases. And this one’s yet another good ‘un.

On his last album, the excellent “Mystic Pinball”, Hiatt lamented the fact that the blues couldn’t find him. Well, they’ve certainly found him (or, perhaps more accurately, he’s found them) this time on a set of songs rooted firmly in that genre. Eschewing his electric guitar this is largely an exercise in acoustic country blues, often bringing to mind his “Crossing Muddy Waters” (heavens, could that really have been 14 years ago?)

It’s noticeable how some of the fire has now gone, along with the top-end of Hiatt’s vocal range (a rather unpredictable tool at the best of times), but that’s hardly surprising given his advancing years. This is a much gentler John Hiatt than we’ve become used to of late, although happily there’s no loss of quality in the songwriting. Lyrically, at least, he remains head and shoulders above much of what passes for the competition.

In what is a strong set across the board “Long Time Coming”, “Face of God”, “Wind Don’t Have To Hurry” “Baby’s Gonna Kick” and “Here To Stay” are especially memorable.

The old-time title track sounds like something that Bob Dylan might easily have slipped into “Love and Theft” without anyone even noticing the join. And the sheer political incorrectness of “Old People” pushes Hiatt firmly into Randy Newman territory. He can get away with it because…well, he now qualifies.

Effortless and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag!, 26 July 2014
By 
Alison Jackson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
Bit of a mixed bag I think. On the plus side, the recording and production are excellent, great playing all round and Hiatt's voice sounds wonderfully worn but without some of the harshness that can creep in. Some vintage Hiatt songs as well, most notably to my mind the opening track 'Long Time Comin' and 'Wind Don't Have to Hurry'. However, overall the album sounds a bit one paced to my ears with a few too many bluesy, shuffle songs that Hiatt knocks out in his sleep. These feel a bit lazy, both melodically and lyrically, slipping into predictability on both counts. So, not a bad album maybe, with many great aspects, but a missed opportunity when with a bit more focus, urgency and quality control it could have been up there with 'Crossing Muddy Waters'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album that is a pleasure to listen to., 21 July 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
This album of predominantly acoustic blues serves as further evidence of Hiatt refusing to grow old gracefully, but with a wicked glint in his eye. There are echoes of Springsteen, Dylan, Steve Earle even Neil Young perhaps which is no coincidence as they are all "elder statesmen" producing some of their, if not best work, certainly some of their most challenging in recent times. Hiatt's voice has that reassuringly crumbly timbre which invests the songs with a wordly wisdom that is ably supported by the mostly sparse backing and harmonies. This is one of those albums that you will turn to when you want a dependably enjoyable listen. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic album already, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
Best John Hiatt album in I guess twenty years at least since he released his album Walk On in 1995. The albums since then have been patchy but this album 'Terms of my Endearment ' is stunning there isn't a bad song on it . It is a little bluesy but not full on more gentle and acoustic. Before you buy listen to the sample player on Amazon but I'll be amazed, if you're a Hiatt fan, this doesn't take you back to his classic song writing of the 80's and early 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In top blues form, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
This is John Hiatt in top blues form. He has been churning out a stream of great albums lately, but this is my favourite in years. Gritty voice, as usual, great melodies, Doug Lancio on the guitar (a bit more subdued than usual but still on top), and "the combo" still there if not mentioned. A must have for Hiatt fans (who don t need me telling them ;).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
For diehard fans. Getting more into roots blues - I preferred the rockier, folksy stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Older, but still at the top of his game, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
He's becoming more laid back and reflective as he gets older, but I like John Hiatt that way. The largely acoustic approach to album brings out the bitter sweet emotion of his songs and his voice has a world weary feel with a poignant element that really shines through against quieter instruments. One of the best songwriters out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His writing just gets better and better, 29 Oct 2014
By 
isis 1958 (Pendle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
First class album from John Hiatt. His writing just gets better and better.

If you know John Hurt - it's a must.

If you don't know John Hurt and want a good starting point, this will fit the bill nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His last 3/4 albums have been 'strained' / quite 'personal ( his work with Sonny Landreth remains outstanding) but this is his b, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terms Of My Surrender (Audio CD)
This is the 13thalbum I have bought by this man.His last 3/4 albums have been 'strained' / quite 'personal ( his work with Sonny Landreth remains outstanding) but this is his best and most guitar fest album in many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terms Of My Surrender
Terms Of My Surrender by John Hiatt (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews