Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just download it now!!!, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I tried REALLY hard not to race through this book, but it was impossible!! Another rollicking adventure from the talented Ms Buroker. Quite possibly my favourite so far (though I suspect this is because I have grown to know and love the characters from the previous equally excellent books)! The changing POV allows the reader to gain greater insight into the motivations and insecurities of both the known and the interesting new characters. As always, the book has an imaginative plot, is full of humour and, at one point, I even shed a tear!! Ms Buroker has, once again, left me wanting to know how plotlines develop for the various characters (look to 'Swords and Salt' for the development of one storyline)...I am already waiting for the next one!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the Republic flourish!, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Lindsay Buroker could write backwards in Turgonian and still have a best seller on her hands..

This is an epic in the gentlest steampunkest tradition. A cleverly crafted story that gave good airtime to multiple characters and never left me feeling that they were fillers or the situations overly engineered plot devices. I think a lot of authors find it challenging to develop more than a couple of the characters in their book or to imbue them with and strength of character, but this book has a well developed lead cast of seven (Rias, Tikaya, Amaranthe, Sicarius, Sespian, Mahliki and Maldynado) plus the new character of Dak and appearances by several other regulars as well as the prescriptive Big Bads.

Writing is crisp and full of Burokers signature humour. If you've not read her before, go back and get the series before reading this. It's not essential but it will make everything more familiar and add to the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable as expected, 21 May 2014
By 
clive (Lincolnshire. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed meeting again such well written and loveable characters that I had come to know through the Emperor's Edge series of books. Perhaps not as intriguing or in depth a storyline as her previous books but I don't mind because I was able to spend quality time in a world I would like to have the opportunity to visit again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I have loved all of Lindsay's books but the emperors edge ones are my favourite. This brings all our favourite characters back for another adventure. I enjoyed the story following each persons view. If you are new to the series I suggest you read them in order for greater enjoyment. Another story soon please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, 2 May 2014
By 
akadingbat (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Another winner from Lindsay Buroker. Wonderful to have the tales of the team continue with the birth of the Republic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I suppose the characters could do with a bit of love in their lives, amidst all the stressful goings on! I always wonder how Buroker manages to be so prolific. Maybe a few bits could have done with a few more details for the plot to make sense but that's just me being pernickety. But what was the plant really all about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As enjoyable as always, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I love Lindsay 's stories and this one is as good as the Emperor's Edge series. Loved the giant plant idea and Maldynado getting up to his usual tricks. Great dialogue and witty banter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's Edge is back!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Actually got rather excited when I saw this on the kindle store! If you were a fan of the previous books then you will really enjoy this. All the characters from the previous books doing all the things you hoped they would do after the series ended. . If you haven't read the previous books - go and download them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The conclusion to a fantastic series, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Well it had to come to a conclusion and there are some surprises in store for our intrepid band, as well as some heart break. Saying more would be a spoiler so what are you waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buroker evolves as a writer with each novel, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Buroker has written gold - a truly fun page turner.
Many lovable characters return - even more realistic than before, each with their
own motivations subtly playing out .

Thanks for the great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Republic (The Emperor's Edge Book 8)
3.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews