Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!
If you're a Richard Thompson, Richard and Linda Thompson and 69-72 Fairport fan this is an album for you. Beautiful vocals, harmonies,lyrics, melodies, traditional and new songs. English Folk-Rock at its best. Some of the guitar parts are so Richard Thompson I thought it was him. But the album is not just an imitation of the influences, it sounds very fresh and uplifting...
Published 9 months ago by Bill Presley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars On the long road to success
A professional and workman like CD from the The Rails. Enjoyable and entertaining. The Rails could have a great future if they keep producing material like this. If I had one critism it is that there is not quite enough wow factor to ensure a wider audience than hardcore fans. There is enought here though to get attract enough people to become hardcore fans.
Published 7 months ago by MDG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic record, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning [Digipack] (Audio CD)
One of the best things I''ve heard this year. Wry songwriting, great singing and playing. A bit reminiscent of Richard and linda Thompson but very much it's own style and sound as well. I just wish they'd tour in the States (Nashville, please).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful surprise, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Bought this almost on a whim and it is the most delightful musical surprise of the year so far. Like a modern version of Fairport Convention at their best around Unhalfbricking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good record from real folkers, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Folk without being TOO folk, The Rails show pretenders such as Mumford & Sons how to do contemporary folk properly. Influenced by Kami Thompson's parents Richard and Linda, this record rightfully revives Island's pink label with style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I knew James Wallbourne as a guitarist and had liked what I heard, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning (Audio CD)
Didn't know what to expect, I knew James Wallbourne as a guitarist and had liked what I heard,
also his solo CD was interesting. I have to say this didn't grab me particularly, pleasant listening
but nothing stand out, hope for better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to overlook this magnitude of team-up, 12 May 2014
By 
J. Gordon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fair Warning (MP3 Download)
Where to even start... Two memorable voices, two skilled songwriters, etc etc - these things tend to either be decent or off-the-charts, like The Civil Wars. I'd say that already, The Rails are heading toward the latter. We'll see where they are in two or three albums from now, but this is one hell of a debut and portends of great things to come.

It gets a bit heavy on both the folk and the rock, but overall the balance is wonderful, and the craftsmanship involved is top-notch. I thought I might end up not liking a song or two, but now five plays in through the album and I'm sold on each song individually. My favourite album of the year thus far, early as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... album after reading a review in the Telegraph and loved it on first hearing and continue to enjoy listening ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Bought the album after reading a review in the Telegraph and loved it on first hearing and continue to enjoy listening to it. Looking forward to seeing them play live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fresh sounding album, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Peter Meathrel (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning (Audio CD)
Saw these playing a live session on the Vintage TV channel (even tho' they've not been around that long). A breath of fresh air and a very enjoyable collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mature debut by fine players, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Excellent mature debut by fine players. Great tune follows great tune building to my favourite - the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Folk Rock Royalty - a fantastic debut, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Brilliant LP lovely to have the old Island Pink label return. Great songs beautifully sung Great guitar playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting album but..., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Warning (MP3 Download)
An interesting album.. Excellent vocals and guitar work, but it did feel a little bit 'run of the mill' of it's type
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fair Warning
Fair Warning by The Rails
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews