Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight To The Front Of The Queue
Now here's a strong debut to light up the night sky!
'Gossip Girl' girl Taylor Momsen adds another string
to her bow and demonstrates an innate understanding of
the inner-workings of edgy urban pop-rock with a punky
twist. This tight little NYC quartet have delivered a vibrant
and energising collection of ten tracks all of which stand up...
Published on 1 Sep 2010 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short for more stars
The quality of the songs deserves four stars (and three of them are 5 star riff-driven magic!), but at just over half an hour long (it's about 35 minutes), there's just not enough of them on here to justify giving it 4/5.
Published 5 months ago by DoctorRock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight To The Front Of The Queue, 1 Sep 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Now here's a strong debut to light up the night sky!
'Gossip Girl' girl Taylor Momsen adds another string
to her bow and demonstrates an innate understanding of
the inner-workings of edgy urban pop-rock with a punky
twist. This tight little NYC quartet have delivered a vibrant
and energising collection of ten tracks all of which stand up
straight and strut their stuff with cocky confidence and aplomb.

Ms Momsen has a cracking voice. She slithers and snarls and
growls like she's been doing it all her life. She can also sing in
tune and the varied dynamics of her diction and canny grasp of
light and shade are a joy to hear! Bandmates Ben Phillips/lead
guitar and vocals, Kato Khandwala/bass, more guitar, production,
and programming and Jamie Perkins/drums cook up a storm around her.

There's not a duff song in the bunch. Particular favorites
so-far include the raucous slipping and sliding melody and
big, brash beats of 'Miss Nothing'; the stripped-down rough
and ready elegance of 'Light Me Up' (a composition not unlike
the best of Ms Morissette circa 'Jagged Little Pill'); the
consummately constructed and emotionally convincing 'Nothing Left
To Lose' which finds Ms Momsen at her absolute best singing a song
as good as any other I've heard this year and the simple (and simply
beautiful) string-enhanced conclusion provided by 'You'.

Let's be clear The Pretty Reckless are the greyhound's gonads!
If 'Light Me Up' doesn't take them to the front of the queue
it could only be because the world wasn't ready or didn't get
the chance to listen. I love it to bits!!

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any Rock Collection. Its that good., 30 Mar 2011
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
17 year old Taylor Momsen has been very famous for a long time, she plays Jenny Humphrey in the Us Hit show Gossip Girl.

Dont however let that put you off, this album is a true work of art.

Taylor writes all of the songs herself and composes the music also herself with the help of another band member.

Yes she dresses a bit provocatively for a 17yr old but she is expressing her individuality.

There is not a single song i can fault on this album, her voice for such a young age,carries a maturity and wisdom that is rare in such a young person.

There are 4 stand out songs for me that i rated 5/5 on my itunes which are :

My Medicine
Makes me wanna die - the video for this song is incredible
Miss nothing
Nothing left to lose

All the other songs i rated 4/5, there really isnt a single bad song on the album.

Im happy to know that she is playing at Donnington Park in June this year and i for one will be going along to hear her set.

Extrodinary !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rock Album of the Year!, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Marty (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (MP3 Download)
By chance I heard The Pretty Reckless' 1st single Make Me Wanna Die a while back on tv and couldn't wait for a full album- but this is so much better than I imagined! If anyone's seen True Blood the sound of the band is very similar to the series' soundtrack and is also vast in styles. Think Ash meets Lady Antebellum- The female vocals vary from smokey, sexy and rocky to sweet and haunting- she is everything a front woman should be.
The tracks are simply the best out this year - from the very 1st listen this album will stick in your head in a really good way.
Simply put this raises the bar for female fronted rock and I hope this band get the recognition they deserve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Unlike many people, i have never seen Gossip Girl. I heard 'Make Me Wanna Die' on the radio and instantly fell in love with the band. A brilliant album for any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album!, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
I got this album having seen The Pretty Reckless live supporting Fall Out Boy. I originally got Going To Hell and enjoyed it so much I got this album too, and I have to say it is just as good as I hoped. Filled with fun yet edgy, catchy songs, I think it makes perfect driving music and it never fails to lift my mood! I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT !!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Amazing CD. Exactly what I wanted. Can't fault this band I'm hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proper rock songs played well, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
When I was recommended this by a mate I trusted I wasn't too sure what to expect but really loved it. If you like Paramore you'll love the Pretty Reckless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their combined song writing and Taylors voice is a great package. Really enjoying this album, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Mature voice and lyrics. Their combined song writing and Taylors voice is a great package.
Really enjoying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light Me Up., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
This album is awesome. Although I find it not as good as the 'Going To Hell' Album,it is still a album I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 18 May 2014
By 
Caroline_Kate (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Me Up (Audio CD)
Great quirky sultry vocals by Taylor Momsen. The tracks are edgy and get you singing along in no time. Not everyones cup of tea but i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light Me Up
Light Me Up by The Pretty Reckless (Audio CD)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews