Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heat and love
The Last Match is one of the best gay films to have been released recently, I'd say, being more satisfying than both Floating Skyscrapers and Getting Go. It tells quite a subtle story of two boys who play football in Havana, one of whom is really quite good and is put on trial for a national youth team. Both boys are grindingly poor, and the better player, Reinier, sells...
Published 10 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just another gay romantic drama? Well yes, and also no. There's much to enjoy here but it's missing something...
A gay romantic tragic drama set in Cuba. A romance unfolds between two soccer players who play for the same team, so to speak. I just want it get this over with, The Last Match is NOT I repeat not an 18. However there is at least one moderately bloody violent scene right near the end. The sex in this film is, as the cover states strong, but don't you worry you frail...
Published 10 months ago by BigAl82


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heat and love, 31 July 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
The Last Match is one of the best gay films to have been released recently, I'd say, being more satisfying than both Floating Skyscrapers and Getting Go. It tells quite a subtle story of two boys who play football in Havana, one of whom is really quite good and is put on trial for a national youth team. Both boys are grindingly poor, and the better player, Reinier, sells his body to older men to get by financially; he also pawns anything he can lay his hands on. He is married and a father, and lives with his wife's overbearing grandmother. Yosvani's circumstances are hardly better, living with his girlfriend and her father, for whom he works selling clothes. What makes the film touching is the essential goodness of both boys, whom you feel have a lot stacked against them, yet remain open and uncynical. The film takes you into their love, which is quite slow to start but then takes off with a thrilling physical charge. How they feel about each other, their wives/girlfriends, and Reinier's tricks is all conveyed very well. Both women know about their relationship but don't seem unduly bothered, in fact Cuba seems to be quite open towards homosexuality. Not enough, though, for the boys to be able to live out their feelings, given the circumstances they find themselves in. There is tenderness at the heart of this film, and bright colours, but it also has a grip on the harsh realities behind the cheerful paintwork and shabby walls, and leaves you quite moved by the latter stages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cuban Gay Football Story, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
Cuba is not a good place to be gay apparently and this film attempts to throw light on some of the issues. Reinier is a rent boy by night and plays soccer by day - hoping to be noticed by the big team scouts. He has a young wife and baby and also supports the extended family - he also likes a bit of a gamble and is not very good at it.

Then there is Yosvani who has married a rich girl whose father is a kind of fashion consultant and loan shark thug. The two boys meet and get it on in a very genuine way. But as I said Cuba is not uber gay friendly and they have a rocky road ahead if they want to make it work.

This is a really well made and acted film. The subject has been done quite a few times before but this still has a freshness and a vibrancy to be able to carve its own niche. In Spanish with very good sub titles and a run time of around 94 mins. This is from Director Antonio Hens who also brought us the rather good `Clandestinos' way back in 2007. He has made another solid film that has already garnered a lot of positive attention and will be a great addition to anyone's gay film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and powerfull movie!, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing and powerfull movie. It shows the constant struggle to escape poverty in Havanna and on the other hand to have the oppertunity and right on love and commitment to one another. No matter what: gay or straight.
The young actors Milton Garcia and Reinier Diaz played wonderfull! I just can recomment this movie to everyone! The fil came to an end before I knew, Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just another gay romantic drama? Well yes, and also no. There's much to enjoy here but it's missing something..., 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
A gay romantic tragic drama set in Cuba. A romance unfolds between two soccer players who play for the same team, so to speak. I just want it get this over with, The Last Match is NOT I repeat not an 18. However there is at least one moderately bloody violent scene right near the end. The sex in this film is, as the cover states strong, but don't you worry you frail individuals with weak stomachs, there's hardly any strong sex. The sex is also no explicit or graphic. Yes there's a little nudity but nothing too shocking. What IS shocking is the state in which the two leads live. Almost poverty stricken and riddled with despair. The film is, however, extremely watchable and actually not that bad. It is also far from being the best gay film ever made. At an hour and 30 minutes the film flies by. The most disturbing part about the entire film is the fact that there is no happy ending, in fact the ending is so depressing it's unforgettably grim and sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
NL (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
There are **a lot** of terrible gay films out there with bad acting, weak scripts or annoying characters. I saw this film at the London gay film fest and really enjoyed it. The narrative is not all that new, but it's told well and the acting is very good. And yes, the boys are hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a suprise for me to see one aspect of ..., 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a suprise for me to see one aspect of the Cuban culture I was not familiar with. It is worth watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, but too too sad, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful film, but too too sad. I have given it 5 stars, however, because I think you should see/buy it. The filming and acting are superb, and the insight into the horrors of being poor in Cuba fascinating and horrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting love story in an interesting setting!, 3 Mar. 2015
By 
Harlequin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
The Last Match is a believable love story, full of twists and turns which keeps us guessing as to the outcome. There is an interesting tension between the two guys who are central to the story which has football as a backdrop. The two guys are dealing with different situations and have different goals in mind. Sounds familiar? Well, it happens in real life all the time which makes this a credible tale. Their struggles to understand their true motives are explored but could have been worked up a bit more but that would have made for a longer film. I think the psychological aspect is handled very well.

This film arouses the emotions with the growing tension between the two protagonists. As the drama unfolds, conflicts between the two are explored in an interesting way. It is only near the end that there is a resolution to their dilemma, a resolution that has a huge dramatic impact.

I found this film a satisfying viewing and I can recommend it. It is well produced, edited, and there are lots of beautiful men to enjoy. Well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as I thought it would be, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
As good as I thought it would be, I'm glad I got the dvd as I missed it on festival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Match [DVD] (DVD)
For me, really nice movie, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Match [DVD]
The Last Match [DVD] by Antonio Hens (DVD - 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews