Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars207
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£16.62
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2013
I picked this book up (figuratively speaking) out of curiosity, as it sounded intriguing. the premise is that strange things start happening after a group of police detective type people investigate a strange murder, where a man arrested for drug dealing was killed in the interrogation/interview room, with no sign of attack, other than his head filling with blood and exploding everywhere. The group of police, headed by DI James Quill start the investigation, and it soon tuns very weird indeed for them. Capers including a talking cat, an 80 year old West Ham fan who turns out to be a witch, and other spirits all ensue, with the team desperately trying to get to the bottom of it all. The book features some interesting interpretation of many apparent urban myths, turning them into actual supernatural forces that only a few can see, including the heroes. They this terrifying supernatural force the only way they know how: using police methods, equipment and tactics. But they must all learn the rules of this new game - and fast. Much more than their lives could depend on it. Overall, a very enjoyable read and a good entry into the world of Urban Fantasy. Fans of the Dresden Files and Ben Aaronovitch will probably love it.
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Love this book - the style of writing absorbs you, and the shift between standard thriller and supernatural is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
A gripping blend. of cop story and the supernatural, blended together into a gripping story. Hope there is a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
This is a great book full of imagination and tradition rolled into a compelling story. Well worth a read enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
A bit difficult to get started with but boy does it get good. Definately in the market for the rest of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
A clever idea well thought out and written. Just itching to be made into a series, looking forward to book two
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I love the mix of gritty police work and supernatural. That us good old humans can also kick some ass. Lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Well structured and rooted. Need to read. Ore by this author I have decided! There has to be a sequal?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
After an excellent and intriguing opening act, where a meticulously detailed undercover police operation goes horribly wrong, this book lost so much steam that I almost closed it for good. The introduction of the supernatural feels clumsy, and the central cast spent a long time settling into themselves. They're almost nothing but reaction to the new London they find themselves in, and that kept me from getting to know them at all (which prevented me, for the most part, from caring even slightly about the various stresses placed on them). After struggling on, I reached the final act, which hinges on a brilliantly personal twist I didn't see coming, and brings the characters to life. It's all good from there. If the next book picks up that same energy and direction, this could be a promising series. If it chooses to be as bewildered by itself as much of this book is, then not so much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
If you enjoyed the first installment this will keep you interested. Looking out for number 3.. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)