Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He bought and fell in love with Goldeneye which became the haven he needed to ...
The book is about Ian Fleming' s last 10 years, Goldeneye his holiday home in Jamaica and the creation of the $6 billion dollar man. Fleming was a complex man who lived his life according to his own rules. He bought and fell in love with Goldeneye which became the haven he needed to enable him to write all of the Bond books. In this period of his life he witnessed the...
Published 7 months ago by Talk Tidy

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
excellent
Published 8 months ago by david leggett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He bought and fell in love with Goldeneye which became the haven he needed to ..., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldeneye: Where Bond was Born: Ian Fleming's Jamaica (Kindle Edition)
The book is about Ian Fleming' s last 10 years, Goldeneye his holiday home in Jamaica and the creation of the $6 billion dollar man. Fleming was a complex man who lived his life according to his own rules. He bought and fell in love with Goldeneye which became the haven he needed to enable him to write all of the Bond books. In this period of his life he witnessed the decline of the British Empire, the tension of the cold war and the increasing influence of America. The book covers the history and development of Jamaica during these years, world events as well as the friends, celebrities and lovers who visited Goldeneye. Matthew Parker covers in detail how these events affected Fleming and inevitably shaped Bond. James Bond's existence if Fleming had not been introduced to Goldeneye is probably as unlikely as the Beatles if McCartney had not been introduced to Lennon. Matthew Parker must have thoroughly enjoyed researching and writing it as much as I did reading it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book. Like Andrew Lycett's biography of Fleming and ..., 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldeneye: Where Bond was Born: Ian Fleming's Jamaica (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book. Like Andrew Lycett's biography of Fleming and Robert Sellers' "The Battle for Bond", it really adds to our knowledge of Fleming. What was very striking for me was how the structure of the book, going from one year's trip to Jamaica to the next emphasised both the desperately sad decline in Fleming's health and in the state of his marriage. It educated me about Jamaica and gave me a lot of fresh insights into the Bond books. Mr Parker is to be congratulated. A seminal work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jamaica's rum 'un, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
IN 1946 a naval intelligence aide called Ian Fleming made good the promise to himself to live in Jamaica, swim a lot and write books after the war was over. So he built a spartan little home, eventually installed a typewriter – and the rest is the brilliant history of the world’s most loved spy...Bond, James Bond.

For a couple of months every year Fleming took off to his for him idylic hidey-hole in the Caribbean, which had been named after a wartime plan he’d dreamt up for defending Gibraltar. The place had no hot water or glass in the windows or cupboards, but it was inspiring enough to be the birthplace of Bond, a true British pirate whose roots can be traced back to the great buccaneers of old who dominated the region.

This rather marvellous book reveals much about the Bond stories and their links with Jamaica, and a huge amount about Fleming and his lifelong love of the place, as well as high-level friends, dodgy love life and sheer unconventional, enviable style.

Put it on the shelf next to your Bond books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Prose, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldeneye: Where Bond was Born: Ian Fleming's Jamaica (Kindle Edition)
This book brilliantly weaves geography, politics. history, sociology and the life of Ian Fleming into a book that remains faithful to its subtitle while never feeling too narrow in its scope. Matthew Parker's research is impeccable and right from the start of the book you feel you're in capable hands. The detail is amazing and the photographs are usefully spread throughout the book and enhance the text. If you love Bond I don't think you can fail to love Goldeneye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium Bond, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
George Gooderham (Tufnell Park, London) - See all my reviews
Love Bond? Enjoy a good biography? Like a bit of history? There's something for everyone in Matthew Parker's most accessible offering yet. Goldeneye brings out the juxtaposition of the bright, sunny Caribbean setting of Ian Fleming's books with the altogether much darker attitudes (no doubt prevalent at the time) towards race, class, gender, family and colonial politics expoused by his famous creation and a very different (and more believable) character emerges than can be found in the cartoon-like movie adaptations. A fascinating backstory to one of the best known fictional heroes in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is writing of a wonderful standard. It's research that needs commending and above ..., 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hoping for a book that gave a little more insight to Fleming's work routine, perhaps early drafts and how the Bond books were shaped while in Jamaica and even after he left Jamaica and though this book didn't quite offer this info it offered so many other things that I can't not give it the full 5 stars.

This is writing of a wonderful standard. It's research that needs commending and above all it's entertaining, informative and highly recommended. Well done Parker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent atmosphere. I was a small child in Jamaica ..., 21 Sept. 2014
By 
John Griffiths (Glossop, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent atmosphere. I was a small child in Jamaica at the time but my mother remembers everything from those days round the pool at the Liguanea Club. Very engaging. I recommend Countdown to Doomsday by Michael Lupton if you can find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well researched, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
warthog (Wales /England) - See all my reviews
I thought this book was so well researched and I learned a great deal about Jamaica also. I had read the biographies of Ian Flemming some time ago and so I was pleased that Matthew Parker came up with so much more about Ian Flemming and his life on the island. He gives an excellent account of the country that Flemming loved and went back to and where many of his Bond books were written. Matthew Parker brings to life a man that was as extraordinary as the books he wrote and was destined to die before his time due to his lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every page, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved every page ! An insight into the breathtaking beauty and nuances of Jamaica and the colourful and briiliant writing of Fleming from which James Bond emerged ! Couldn't put it down !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, well-written account of the amazing adventures of Ian ..., 12 Sept. 2014
By 
Adrienne Fischier (New York City, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A funny, well-written account of the amazing adventures of Ian Fleming, and the
interesting people who were the in crowd in Jamaica in those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews