Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, great insight
Having a best friend who is a Captain for 29 commando and served 3 tours in Afghan I know how upsetting it was when his team lost good men and many more injured which if it wasn't for the medics more lives would have been lost, this spurred me to read this book on recommendation. The book is well written and gives such a graphic account on what life is like in the thick...
Published 2 months ago by Miss S J Westcott

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This appears to be her previous book "Bad Company" now re-named
'Bad Company' published 2011, Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban was an excellent book, however the chapter names are identical to 'Battleworn', so this appears to be the same memoir with some parts possibly re-written, now re-named 'Battleworn - The memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan'.

If that's the case it really should say somewhere "previously...
Published 2 months ago by biro man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, great insight, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Having a best friend who is a Captain for 29 commando and served 3 tours in Afghan I know how upsetting it was when his team lost good men and many more injured which if it wasn't for the medics more lives would have been lost, this spurred me to read this book on recommendation. The book is well written and gives such a graphic account on what life is like in the thick of it from the medics point of view, it has humour and sadness and keeps you enthralled throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable down to earth, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
I don't think that anyone truly appreciates what troops go through, these unsung heroes are never mentioned, never acknowledged and definately understood. All aspects of combat are covered without all the patriotic bull s*** that normally accompanies to many of these accounts, This is an amazing account of before during and after, a no holds barred read. read it and understand it. Chantelle Taylor has brought the sights sounds and smell of war into your mind and senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book written by an outstanding woman., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
This is a story of a combat medic on tour in Afghanistan. The author takes you on a journey in which we have to admire the stress and pressure our armed forces have to endure. We never get to hear about the day to day goings on in a combat zone.

And as you read this book you have to keep reminding yourself this is a female soldier who endures the same harsh conditions as her male counterparts.

A truly brave warrior, a credit to herself and her unit and the men she served with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
A great detailed account of a medic in forward location. Sgt Taylor details her responsibility to her team battle group and patients. Would recommend for both military and civilians alike as sgt Taylor aptly describes military isms. Look forward to reading the next instalment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
another no holds barred story from this writer. Honest,sad and sometimes funny, and down to earth vocabulary make this a brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for a true insight into exactly how it was in Afghanistan during the height of the insurgency, 18 May 2014
By 
Dave Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Brutally honest, absurdly funny, the gritty and sometimes unglamorous truth about life in one of the infamous hot-spots in Helmand Province during the most fierce fighting of the war in Afghanistan. The appalling living conditions alone would be difficult to comprehend for most, let alone a climate which arguably is unsuitable for human existence. Add to that the daily contact with the enemy and you may just start to appreciate the true grit which the British Military are made of today. See into the mind of one of the finest front line soldiers (with a med-pack) you will likely find anywhere and how she copes with the conditions, the climate and the brutality of war. DS - a former Royal Marine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing read!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing book. So much military humour and heartache. Chantelle has written the account in such a way that the reader is with her and her guys. Even if you have never served in HM Forces you cannot feel but part of the team. The book took me back to memories past and I relived some scenes in my mind. Very well written Chantelle! BZ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, really shows war in the raw and ..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, really shows war in the raw and the courage of our soldiers.
By not going into great graphic detail I particularly liked the respect shown to the families of the KIA or injured - unlike some similar books where the names and horrific injuries are described in great detail. This must be very distressing for families.

I can almost "see" the characters "Channy" is describing.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
This book is a very good read I Couldn't put it down. Being in the ambulance service it was good to read about how she deals with the trauma, as this is where are trauma training has come from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 22 July 2014
By 
A. J. Patton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleworn: The Memoir of a Combat Medic in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
A brave lady,made me proud. We should acknowledge our armed forces far more than we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews