Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good page turner
OK the idea was good, the execution was a little patchy and the 13 "turn" heroine was obviously 18+ and it would have helped if that was made clear. Overall however it was a good page novel and I am looking forward to the next in the series.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, what a pity ...
I'm glad I only paid £1.83 for this eBook, because although it had a nice little storyline it was REALLY annoying to read.

The author's grasp of grammar, punctuation and sentence structure is sadly lacking and her spelling is frankly atrocious. Mostly, that's extremely irritating, but I admit to having had a little giggle a time or two when the context made the...
Published 6 months ago by ImReallyAnElf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, what a pity ..., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
I'm glad I only paid £1.83 for this eBook, because although it had a nice little storyline it was REALLY annoying to read.

The author's grasp of grammar, punctuation and sentence structure is sadly lacking and her spelling is frankly atrocious. Mostly, that's extremely irritating, but I admit to having had a little giggle a time or two when the context made the error amusing - for example with the mix-up between "current" and "currant". The image of the heroine's work partner as a currant is one I particularly enjoyed. Less amusing errors included such things as "peak" instead of "peek" and "steading" instead of "steadying". This type of error appeared throughout the book and was very distracting.

The author has a tendency to mix tenses, which I found annoying and, again, distracting. Her characters' speech patterns are sometimes stilted, for instance using phrases beginning with " I will do ..." when in today's converational mode you'd expect "I'll do".

I was appalled at the number of times she ended a character's words with a period then continued with "She said". Really jarring.

That said, the heroine and her companions are likeable and the book is written both in the first person when the heroine is starring and in the third person when someone else is, which I appreciated. The story is suitable for both Adult and Young Adult audiences - there's no romance or sex involved and it's light and doesn't take much time to read, so very suitable for whiling away an afternoon.

I just wish it had been decently edited - if so I'd have gone on to buy the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars STOMICH ULSERS, 16 July 2014
By 
Paul (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
Think 'stomich ulsers' is pretty poor? There's no mention of dried fruit in the story, but up-to-date stuff is 'currant', and "the Empire is stagnate, Adrian." There's a blooper in every paragraph, and it detracts from what might otherwise be a reasonable start to the series. Some plot elements need to be thought through, for instance when our cadet meets the entire Admiralty Board, she knows most of them as they've been swanning about the Empire rather than staying at their desks in the Admiralty, working.

Like another reviewer, I shan't be buying the next in the series, unless the author is paying me to do the editing. But hopefully, Ms Beery will make enough out of this book to afford a copy of Word, or maybe Scrivener. She could even download the free OpenOffice if she wanted, with an equally free dictionary from which to run a selling check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bad suprise..., 20 Nov 2014
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
Didn't like story much just not for me and thought Ri character was a male for ages wish made so new was female from basically the beginning extra. Once realise this it became very predictable even saying that the story it's self wasn't too bad.

And unfortunately I got 2nd book at same time sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea., 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
I thought the story a little unpleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good page turner, 6 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Nuneaton Warwickshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
OK the idea was good, the execution was a little patchy and the 13 "turn" heroine was obviously 18+ and it would have helped if that was made clear. Overall however it was a good page novel and I am looking forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still a great book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
Good book you dont think of the main heroin as 13 when you read 18 maybe.found the writing a little hard to get thought at some points.but still a great read full of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
nice story, few nagging details ( size of fleet is either very small or a few coincidences occur to make ships and characters happen to be in places. ) but manages to flow well. for once there is no attempt to explain everything, this fits with the main characters back story. will read book 2 to see where it goes from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for following the action, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
Good story with action and interest leading to a great lead on for a follow on story. Hope its soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Defender of the Empire: Cadet #1
£1.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews