Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to raw excellence
Despite all the praise it got (uplifting, etc) I wasn't a fan of the last album Wonderful, Glorious. Too much uplift to the detriment of music quality (although I accept this is a personal thing and others may love it). This album, however, is what I love Eels for. Raw, close to the bone lyrics, simple but great melodies, I just think it's a great album. I also like...
Published 2 months ago by Y. Robin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars please why? so disappointing.. mark why?
please
why?
so disappointing..mark why?
Published 9 days ago by harvey duplicate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to raw excellence, 30 April 2014
By 
Y. Robin (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite all the praise it got (uplifting, etc) I wasn't a fan of the last album Wonderful, Glorious. Too much uplift to the detriment of music quality (although I accept this is a personal thing and others may love it). This album, however, is what I love Eels for. Raw, close to the bone lyrics, simple but great melodies, I just think it's a great album. I also like the bonus disc as much as the album disc, which makes altogether a generous number of captivating and strangely enjoyable songs. This is for me perhaps not quite as good as the sublime Blinking Lights, but very close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where I'm At, Where I'm From, Where I'm Going..., 21 April 2014
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last year's "Wonderful, Glorious" was, in my opinion, one of the finest albums that Eels have ever released and, given his impressive back catalogue that's quite a bold claim, however, there is always the question of what we're going to get next from Mark Everett. I have been a fan since "Beautiful Freak" and there have been an eclectic, diverse range of musical styles, some I have enjoyed more than others, but every album has a worthy place in an Eels fan's collection and each is a jigsaw piece that reveals more and more of the whole picture of the man himself. Everett's prolific nature means that the world isn't always quite ready for the new Eels album, but this is something quite different to anything he has ever released before and for those who love Mark's quieter, more introspective moments, this is a real treat. For those who only really like Eels when they are heavy, distorted and rocking out, perhaps give this one a miss, but in doing so, you're ignoring an essential element of Everett's musical personality and foolishly snubbing some candid confessionals; this album, like many of the others composed by him, is deeply personal and he writes about many aspects of his life with the frankness, honesty and insight lovers of his music and words have come to treasure.

If you think of the quieter moments on many of his albums, the softer pieces that provide respite between the heavier rock moments, well, "The Cautionary Tales Of Mark Oliver Everett" is literally an album full of those kind of songs. It's a curiously different and rather beautiful affair. "Where I'm At" is almost an overture, an instrumental introduction to the piece of work, followed by the folky "Parallels" which, although it appears quite unspectacular, is a real grower. The first jaw-dropping moment of this release comes on "Lockdown Hurricane", a truly beauteous piece with a bridge so gorgeous that it gives me goose-pimples. "Agatha Chang", a pretty, but slightly mournful composition full of wistful regret, leaves so much musical space for the vocals that the importance of the lyrics to Everett are apparent. "A Swallow In The Sun" is the kind of song that makes the rest of the world disappear whilst you listen to it, a delicately shimmering track that you cannot help but hold your breath during the brief pauses; in short, it's dazzling. "Where I'm From" is perhaps the most upbeat piece of music on the whole release, a country-tinted song that injects a bit of positive philosophising which helps the roundedness of the project. Perhaps the only track that I don't particularly feel works that well is "Series Of Misunderstandings" which features falsetto vocal on a music box background; it's not particularly bad, it's just not to my particular taste.

"Kindred Spirit" is a classic Everett composition about someone who has slipped through his hands and he needs to win back, with little more than vocals over an electric guitar riff and a strummed acoustic guitar; it's simple, but genuinely lovely. There are echoes of Tom Waits on the utterly brilliant "Gentlemen's Choice", which sees the protagonist examining a life that hasn't gone the way he expected it to. It is, without doubt, one of the very best songs on this album and an instant Eels classic. "Dead Reckoning" is reminiscent of dark, gloomy rain clouds forming and proves to be as musically ominous and downcast as the lyrics, but the sparse, yet optimistic, "Answers" counters that mood with the glimpse of light through the clouds so badly needed at this point in this piece of work. "Mistakes Of My Youth" gently saunters along and, as Everett carefully reminds himself of the bad choices he made and self-coaches himself in order to avoid repeating mistakes, you almost hear the weight falling from his shoulders. Mark Oliver Everett's "Cautionary Tales" come to an end perfectly with "Where I'm Going", an almost hymnal, soulful chunk of gentle optimism, but listening to it certainly provides an emotional ride.

"The Cautionary Tales Of Mark Oliver Everett" is a journey through the authors mind, with doubts, regrets, self-analysis and plenty of demons to slay on the way. A typical Eels album, someone familiar with Everett's work may joke, but given the way this album has been written, recorded and presented, it leaves the lyrical content more exposed and open to interpretation than perhaps any Eels album has done before. The musical composition itself is original, fresh and, more often than not, extremely beautiful, but it always allows the words to take centre stage and there is a beautiful harmony between every aspect of each song; this is a piece of work that feels holistic and complete. Now, it is inevitable that this album won't please every Eels fan, but this is the work of an artist who isn't afraid to make completely different albums, who doesn't blink before changing horses in mid-stream. Yes, you may have to listen to this piece of work a few times before you will start to really appreciate everything on it, no, it doesn't contain a big smash hit pop record and no, it's not always comfortable listening, but this album is simply too good to be dismissed without giving it the time and respect it so richly deserves. The bonus disc, for those who have forked out for the deluxe edition, is well worth the extra money, with some alternative versions of tracks that are on the album, some exclusive original tracks and half a dozen excellent live cuts too. I have faith that people who understand and appreciate Everett's work will love this album, but if you do find it boring, then be aware that you may actually be the boring one... according to Mark Everett, that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. E returns with another beautiful release, 21 April 2014
By 
Marc Sutton (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yet another classy release from the genius mind of Mr. Everett. The number of beautiful melodies this man concocts really is mind boggling along with always worthwhile meaningful lyrics. This is certainly a low key performance beautifully produced and has the same feel as the Eels with Strings live CD. It may take a few listenings to fully appreciate how good it is and although I am a big fan I can only give it 4 well deserved stars as in my view he has released better albums but this is certainly worthy in the Eels cannon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star, what else would you expect!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another great album what else do you expect from the eels! Agatha is a beautiful track...
p.s loved the live show of this in oxford, on the other end of the spectrum from the rocky gig last year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this album and was luck to see it performed live, amazing, very emotive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great new album! E back to his original sound- loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!!!, 1 July 2014
Just Brilliant. If u love all other Eels albums you'll love this. It's slower than a lot else of 'E's work but still a lyrical Genious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Eels, 25 April 2014
By 
Steven Willis (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A new Eels album is always a cause to celebrate, and The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett more than lives up to usual expectations. It’s finely-crafted and beautiful, with absolutely no filler or throwaway tracks – every song justifies it’s place. It’s concise and coherent, with each track following the same theme and leading the listener through the story of love lost and life in general.

It’s an album from the old school, in that it works best when listened to as a complete piece of work. It’s too easy (and incorrect) to say this is “typical” Eels gloomery, despite the subject matter. As with all Eels’ album there’s hope in its heart, and if you’re paying attention it’ll lift you up in the end.

The bonus tracks are an excellent and weighty addition, and the usual “you bought the deluxe edition” message (read by Kool G Murder this time) always makes me smile. However I’m finding it almost impossible at the minute to stop just repeating the album itself, the second it finishes.

This could actually be the best Eels album yet, it’s that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Spring (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of his stuff is better than others - this one is 'better'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Album with a great Bonus Album, 24 April 2014
By 
Cornish Deadhead "Happy Harv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A stripped down Mark Everett sometimes just with a keyboard to supplement his vocals, and other times strings or a chamber orchestra. This is probably the most intense personal album that he has released, and I consider it simply beautiful!

The second bonus CD contains 6 studio tracks, all of which are far too good to be on a limited release, especially the amazing Lonesome Lockdown Hurricane. The 6 live tracks contain a great reworking of Fresh Feeling, with the final one being Peter Green's Oh Well. This last track is the only real rocking track on the two discs and follows the original quite closely, but the big surprise (for me) is how this track sits so well along side E's own compositions.

Packaging is similar to the last 3 two disc editions being a fold-out digipak with a booklet (containing the lyrics to the main album).

In summary I would say that this is Eels best album for a while, but please do invest in the double disc edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews