Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing but impressive tale plucked from the massacre that was the invasion of Nanking.
Flowers of War isn't exactly an easy watch. It tells the story of a group of convent girls trapped in a Catholic Church and held hostage by the Japanese during the Nanking massacre of 1937. Although it makes for uncomfortable viewing at times, ultimately it is a very rewarding watch.

Based on a true story it's a story of human resilience, sacrifice, ingenuity...
Published on 17 Dec. 2012 by The Truth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cut version only 142 mn and not 146 mn
i saw it it missed 4 mn of violent war
you can see everything in movie censorship.com
so it is a bit boring like this
i did command it again in unrated version ddd house and you can find the unrated version too in yes asia
Published 19 months ago by Marc Bouhana


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing but impressive tale plucked from the massacre that was the invasion of Nanking., 17 Dec. 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flowers of War [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Flowers of War isn't exactly an easy watch. It tells the story of a group of convent girls trapped in a Catholic Church and held hostage by the Japanese during the Nanking massacre of 1937. Although it makes for uncomfortable viewing at times, ultimately it is a very rewarding watch.

Based on a true story it's a story of human resilience, sacrifice, ingenuity and ultimately triumph. The horrors of war and impact on the civilian population as Japan seize the Chinese capital are frankly addressed and brutally depicted; as are the strengths and weaknesses of the human spirit, along with extreme examples of it at its best and it's most horrific.

Although I've given this 4 stars it is, in a lot of ways, a 5 star film. Although the war ravaged scenery isn't exactly beautiful in the conventional sense, it is stunning to see on screen. And with Bale cast in the central role there is of course plenty of superb acting throughout.

The rest of the cast don't quite live up to the same standard as Christian, but you can't help but become emotionally involved in their story and the predicament they find themselves in all the same - this is one of those stories, so intense is its nature, it crosses cultural boundaries and resonates on some deeper level of humanity.

Overall it's a very good film. I don't want to use the world enjoyable, as somehow that doesn't seem right given its contents and subject matter, but as the mixed cast play out the tale of events, it's easy to see why they're events that have gone down in Chinese folklore.

The Bluray, as a whole is very good - the picture and sound are perfect (although apparently in the wrong picture ratio, but I didn't notice this and only found out reading some reviews here) and there are a few interesting extras, such as a very revealing interview with Christian Bale which give you a small insight into some of the ways this man works to pull of off his incredible performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers of War [DVD] (DVD)
First let me get my gripes out of the way: my copy is marketed by Revolver Entertainment and is 136 minutes long,not 146 minutes as advertised on Amazon's product description.
The dvd jacket states subtitles are in English:yes there are English subtitles but ONLY to cover the dialogue that is in Chinese/Mandarin and/or Japanese, NOT for the English spoken for much of the film.As much as I admire the Chinese actors for their ability to speak in English I found it difficult to follow at times.It was a bit Benny Hill-esque to my ear.

The film itself is magnificent.I have seen City of Life & Death [DVD] and City Of War: The Story of John Rabe [DVD] which are extremely harrowing,with little respite from depicting the horrors of the occupation of Nanking by the Japanese.

This film manages to show some humour and compassion as well as the extradordinary horrors experienced by the Chinese.

As such it can draw a much wider audience to see this terrible event in 20th century history.Even my wife was impressed with the production watching with me.

I've always wondered how and why the Japanese have gotten away with the atrocities committed during this pre-WW2 battle and occupation; perhaps the treatment of our own prisoners of war during the larger war overshadowed Nanking's massacre.The scale of the rapes and killings have never matched the supposed justice meted out after the war against the little men behind the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Just Another Story of Misfortune...", 14 Aug. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flowers of War [DVD] (DVD)
Christian Bale stars as John Miller, a mortician on his way to Winchester Cathedral in the middle of war torn Nanking 1937 to bury a priest. The Japanese are taking control of the city. As a westerner Miller is allowed some leeway. When he gets to the church, he discovers they have no money to pay him. There is a group of a dozen girl students who want out. While he is trying to sort things out, a group of local prostitutes arrive seeking refuge from the war.

John Miller immediately shows us his bad side. In addition to the conflict between the Japanese and Chinese, the students don't want the working girls there. The working girls want out of Nanking too and promise John "unimaginable pleasures" from all of them for safe passage.

Eventually, Miller dons a priest cloak and goes from zero to hero as he works relentlessly to save the girls. It is a story which shows how the least of us become heroes.

Much of the movie is in English, the rest has subtitles. There is some first person narration by one of the students. I thought the oriental actors did a better job than Christian Bale who reminded me too much of Jeff Bridges. Chinese actress Ni Ni as Yu Mo gave us a good performance.

There are war scenes, killing, and a few rape scenes, although this is not a grindhouse exploitation film. No nudity, some f-bombs lobbed in Chinese. The film, as expected, has its emotional ups and downs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers of War [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its a touching movie,really underrated,watch it before judging!A great story,thrilling performances and a beautiful cinematography!Highly recommendable,you should watch it...one of the most incredible stories ever told!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASSIVE!, 3 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Flowers of War [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film! It's absolutely epic in scale and features some of the most incredible actions and war sequences I've ever seen. Christian Bale is so cool in this film, i couldn't recommend it highly enough. If you love huge war films like Saving Private Ryan and Black Hawk Down - this is totally for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, if difficult, viewing., 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Flowers of War (Blu-ray)
I am not aware of the history and story behind this film, so would not be able to say how accurate a description it is of the events that happened. However as a film, it is brilliantly told and acted. The acting is tremendous and the action scenes so realistic, without glorifying the violence. There are moments of humour, lots of sadness and emotion, and at times really uplifting. The film has some subtitles, but if this puts you off, don't let it as most of the film is in English dialogue. At times, I was on the edge of my seat as the tension got unbearable. A must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE MOVIE!!, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers of War [DVD] (DVD)
OMG!! This is truly one of the most emotional films I have ever seen, from start to finish you will be glued to your tv set, Christian Bale is amazing in his role and makes you ask yourself what would you do if you were in his shoes.An amazing story line well acted and very powerful scenes you will most certainly need your tissues at the ready, from start to finish you will be so moved that this film will stay with you for a long long time absolutely brilliant movie makes you realise how precious life really is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, but needs to be watched, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers of War [DVD] (DVD)
the film was well acted but brutal, very brutal and leaves lingering thoughts there of man's inhumanity towards other people, a period of history that is not really told, though the city of life and death, Escape from Huang Shi, city of war all provide a new view pre European world war, one I had no insight onto and following on from these with books of the subject matter opened my eyes.
watch this watch the others to say I enjoyed them is wrong but I would return to them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the coward in us all want to stand up!, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers of War [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love all types of films, of all genres. This is one of them that hit me, not because of the gruesomeness it displays or EVEN the glorified Hollywood spin that got put on it.

No, it made me take a step back in my head and think of the many sacrifices other people made throughout time for the little comforts we take for granted each morning we get up and moan about our daily grind.

This is a brilliant film and; and well cast. It hits you and in a way makes you fell good to know that real people made these kind of sacrifices for how to put it 'our fellow man' it really touched me and will with an honest heart say I welled up inside.

Please watch this film, if not for the lack of being educated about what happened in 1937(The RAPE of Nanking) over a period of about six weeks in which coincidentally most Japanese records of the event were 'Lost', this is something that has been historically SWEPT under the carpet and should be 'outted'. There is lots more then depicted to know, but; this gives a insight to some of what happened.

Over all this is still a powerful film and; deserves more credit then it ever got and on the Blu-ray it looked great too as; there was little SFX needed, although it is not as detailed as City of Life and Death, it's still a great film and if you're not touched by it, get a check up to see if you actually possess a Heart!

Would Highly recommend this film(good if you want a loved one to cry on your shoulder) as it's excellently made and put across.

Hope this helps anyone who's thinking of buying without SEEING(watch it!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the screamish!, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers of War [DVD] (DVD)
Wow a very disturbing brutal film in places but fantastic acting by all the cast really especially Christian Bale.

Enjoy really isn`t the right word to describe this film but it is totally riveting from start to finish showing the brutality of an invading Japanese army on the Chinese citizens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flowers of War [DVD]
The Flowers of War [DVD] by Yimou Zhang (DVD - 2014)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews