Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2014
Not much one can add to what's already been said about Saki other than agreeing he's one of the wittiest, blackest writers in English ever.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
You have to know which bits to read. His best short stories are the crispest, sharpest, funniest short stories in the English language: there is not a word wasted, and every joke works. Some are light and vicious, some are dark.

Read The Open Window, Sredni Vashtar, Tobermory, The Storyteller, and then you'll either be hooked or not.

Most of his work is now quite dated, as it's about the world of the English upper classes before the first world war. But it's a fascinating view of that world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Love Saki's stories. Building up a collection of my favourite things in Kindle form.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Such a pleasure to read these short stories. They are beautifully written. The character descriptions are at times hilarious but the subject content is true to life. I have never ever enjoyed reading short stories, they usually irritate me with their shallowness but these are brilliant. I highly recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Stories from a bygone era but in the two short novels Saki was way ahead of his time and so much still has meaning today.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
I'm enjoying this collection and sorry that I have not read any of his works before now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Classic. Essential reading and a great reminder of my early life.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Pleased
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Either you like Saki, or you don't. I am not a great fan, but his stories are varied and interesting. Saki is Saki, and there's no other writer like him.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
bought as an ebook, saki needs a real book:(
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse