Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARRIVE ON THE TIME AND DAY STATED
ELAINE PAIGE, another wonderful singing star and Performer, her voice and Diction is Excellent and I have all of her Compact Disks
Mr Leonard Franklin Ellis
Published 1 month ago by Leonard Franklin Ellis

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed
What a missed opportunity ! Where are any tracks from Anything Goes !! Where are a few more from Chess Like Nobody's side and mountain duet ? How about. Rainbow High from Evita ! Anything Elaine does is worth having but think this Ultimate collection would have been more complete with a bit more thought !!
Published 2 months ago by G.E.PALMER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARRIVE ON THE TIME AND DAY STATED, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
ELAINE PAIGE, another wonderful singing star and Performer, her voice and Diction is Excellent and I have all of her Compact Disks
Mr Leonard Franklin Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally the RARE singles we wanted! But why not more?, 16 May 2014
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I'm surprised by some of the negativity about this release. I'm actually over the moon to get 4 rare '80s singles on CD format for the very first time! Everything else is just a plus (the plus being all the hits, a club remix, unreleased songs and a whole lot of original A&B side singles on the bonus CD).

The rarities which makes this LTD edition so special are Paige's cover of Bette Milder's camp-tastic disco anthem "MY KNIGHT IN BLACK LEATHER", the sweet lullaby "ROCKING", the firey "HE'S A DREAM" and sorry Elaine but the very "B-side" B-side "OH MAJOR". But where are the others we wanted like "TAKE ME BACK", "UP SO HIGH" and "LIKE AN IMAGE PASSING BY"!? I'm ONLY marking this album down by one star as it's a bit pricey and I would have liked more rarities! I'm guessing however the reason we only have the four on the bonus CD is the compilation is a Warner Music release so they've stuck primarily to what they own/have!

There has never been a LIMITED EDITION release of any past EP album. So my verdict is it's a great concept -- lots of information and great songs contained here -- all remind us of the diverse recording career Elaine Paige has had over the last 5 DECADES -- full of chart successes and magical "Memories". After taking a trip with EP down her "Memory" lane I can understand why she can belt out with utter conviction the lyrics to "I'M STILL HERE"!

If you are a newbie Elaine Paige fan and are just looking for the "ULTIMATE" best of her best then I'd suggest you just buy the standard edition of The Ultimate Collection. This edition is for lets say the "hard-core" EP fans out there....who like me want all the unusual rare stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elaine at her finest, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
All the obvious hits are here but there are some hidden gems to-check out the duet with Sinead O'Connor -or Elaine's version of Rocking. The Second Time is one of her most beautiful songs and check out her version of Judie Tzuke's For You -a great introduction or for a die hard fan like myself a great way of picking some of Elaiine's rarer songs such as her version of Flashdance on Cd for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
What a missed opportunity ! Where are any tracks from Anything Goes !! Where are a few more from Chess Like Nobody's side and mountain duet ? How about. Rainbow High from Evita ! Anything Elaine does is worth having but think this Ultimate collection would have been more complete with a bit more thought !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Selection, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
As this is suppose to be 'The Ultimate Collection' I expected much more. There could have been a box set with added DVD celebrating 50 years in the business?? Obviously hard core fans will buy it but for everyone else I suggest Elaine Paige Sweet Memories which has a far better selection of songs.

The artwork booklet is minimal and from the written word in the booklet it seems that Elaine Paige had very little to do with the CD itself. There has been a lot of social media hype over this CD and I was expecting much more than actually was delivered.

Also it seems to be extracting more money from fans as if you want yet more 'extras' you also have to purchase the digital download version.

Amazon are the best as they delivered the disc on time when preordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Great album, great actress! With the anniversary Elaine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
very good classic albern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elaine Paige at her best! This lady is a phenomenal performer whether on ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Elaine Paige at her best! This lady is a phenomenal performer whether on disc or live! Even though she's about to give up concert tours, long may she continue to produce excellent CDs to satisfy her fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Yes, most of the songs on here have been released before but not all on cd plus a few previously unreleased tracks which are worth the money alone.

The mixture of songs from EP's career really shows the versatility of her voice going right from the beginning through to Follies (a song only to be found on the Follies soundtrack until this cd).

There are omissions I would have loved on here but then I guess we all have our own favourite songs and it would be an extremely large bundle to include everything from such a career and mine will be different from everyone else so all in all this is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 15 May 2014
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
going against the other reviews here, i really like this collection.
The Remixes sound great and are very different from what i have heard from Elaine in the past.
Overall a good collection, Great Delivery by Amazon as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version)
The Ultimate Collection (Deluxe Version) by Elaine Paige (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews