Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!
Lifelong Who fans like me will buy this anyway and won't need a review from me to encourage them, but for what it's worth I think this is exceptionally good. It's very well produced, but most importantly the performance of the band is simply brilliant.

I was a little sceptical about whether this would really be any good. A fine show, certainly, and Pete and...
Published 11 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love The Who album "Quadrophenia" and this concert features the ...
I love The Who album "Quadrophenia" and this concert features the whole album being played sequentially by Pete and Roger supported by the musicans assembled for the tour. However, as a listener, not having the elevating atmosphere provided by a huge crowd ariund you (as is the case when hearing this at the actual concert venue), the recorded performance comes...
Published 9 months ago by Kevin Lindsay


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quadmodmenia 2, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
D. Smith "davidsmith151" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who: Quadrophenia - Live In London [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Buy it , Watch it, Enjoy It. One of the best bands ever doing what they do best - playing live and playing Quadrophenia one of the all time classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great performances, but iffy sound., 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who: Quadrophenia - Live In London [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Firstly thanks to Amazon for delivering a day ahead of the official release.

I was at this and the other London shows last summer and have been waiting for the official release to replace the bootlegs that were out within days. The performances by Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey and the backing musicians are excellent throughout. Just listen to the vocals on Love Reign O'er Me and be amazed by what Daltrey can still do and how he is defying his age. Thankfully some of the other songs have now been transposed to lower keys so that he can hit the high notes full on without struggling and I wish that they had done this years ago. Scott Devours deserves special mention for stepping in for the injured Zak Starkey, who, to be honest, isn't really missed as his dep is that good. Simon Townshend works his socks off in the guitar bi-play with his older brother and puts in a great lead vocal on The Dirty Jobs. They even manage to cover most of John Entwistle's brass overdubs with a combination of samples and two live horn players. This produces a fuller sound than you might imagine. The visuals on the back projections are superb and all credit to Daltrey and his design team for creating them and for bringing John Entwistle and Keith Moon into the show so creatively.

The performances and the staging are great and merit the 5 stars, but, for me, there are gripes concerning the production of the DVD. Surprisingly, the mix is quite patchy with the vocals up too far and with a poor low end. At times Pino Palladino can't be heard at all and, even though he plays in a far more orthodox style than Entwistle, the bass end was a key feature of the album and it is lacking. It sounds more like a quick and dirty live TV broadcast mix from yesteryear than a modern live sound recording that's been properly mixed and mastered. There have been some edits and at the start of Had Enough you don't see Daltrey missing his intro cue mid mic twirl and trying to salvage the line and, likewise, when Townshend forgets the lyric during I'm One we don't get to hear him swearing at himself over his cockup while the band treads water. It's fair enough to want to fix those glitches, but why split the show into the Quadrophenia set, run the lengthy closing cedits and then have the rest of the show, (which followed straight on), set apart as a bonus feature? It would have flowed better to screen the whole show complete with band intros and thank yous. Townshend mentions briefly that a lot of people worked on that night's show for free, but they've edited out all the dialogue that would have made it clear that it was a special benefit concert added to the end of the tour and that is the reason why.

It's good news that they've documented the tour and the evolution of the stage version of Quadrophenia, but I'm sure that the footage will be revisited at some point and a director's cut version, or similar, will emerge on some future anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next best thing to being there, 6 July 2014
By 
Yadmaster "Yadmaster" (Melksham, WIltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the band on this tour this Blue-Ray was a must. If you weren't fortunate enough to have seen them too this is definitely the next best thing. This is the Who in concert, and thanks to bit of technical wizardry, all four of them are present so if you're a fan or simply want to know more, then this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing. I was overwhelmed with what a great performance ..., 7 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. Kiley Derek Spencer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who: Quadrophenia - Live In London [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Absolutely Amazing. I was overwhelmed with what a great performance this is. It is a must for any fan of The Who, or Quadrophenia. Being a bit of a purist when it comes to The Who I only really want to see/hear the original lineups (1964-1985). But this is exceptional. Seriously, buy it

11 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who at their very best ..., 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who: Quadrophenia - Live In London [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Brilliant! If you were at this show, or simply love The Who then this is a must.

See if you spot the mistake in "I'm One" !

Great vocals by Daltrey but the old footage on the screen is just brilliant!

Buy it - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who on top form, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great concert and great group. I was at the O2 London to see this live and this was filmed at Wembley.
Excellent presentation of Quadrophenia.
Amazing rework with old footage of the band and interaction with John Entwistle and Keith Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who at their finest!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great DVD the WHO at their finest. The sound and picture quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class all day long, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only word to describe this is CLASS, the sound, the picture, the band just oozes class and quality, I watched this on a Samsung Blu Ray home theatre with full surround sound with a 50" tv *********** booooooom just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like every Who product well balanced in motion and sound, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like every Who product well balanced in motion and sound. Stunning performance. Enjoyed it very much. For me it was in a way to relive the Amsterdam gig again. Hope to see the real deal once again during the forthcoming tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. Batten "Dave Batten "music nut"" (County Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highest quality of sound and vision of the best band in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Who: Quadrophenia - Live In London [DVD] [2014] [NTSC]
£10.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews