Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars107
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Lifelong Who fans like me will buy this anyway and won't need a review from me to encourage them, but for what it's worth I think this is exceptionally good. It's very well produced, but most importantly the performance of the band is simply brilliant.

I was a little sceptical about whether this would really be any good. A fine show, certainly, and Pete and Roger can always be relied upon but I did wonder about the overall effect. In fact, in places I prefer this to the original album - something I never thought I'd say after 40 years of loving the original. Roger's voice has matured and mellowed somewhat and his diction isn't as crisp as it was but, by God, that heart-racing power is still all there when he needs it. The high notes in Is It In My Head, for example, are still spine-tingling and I'm One is an absolute masterpiece here, I think, with thrilling, thoughtful vocals, some fine acoustic guitar from Pete and superb work from the rest of the band. Age has brought a greater depth and sense of meaning to their performances without losing one jot of their sheer visceral power and excitement. I'm thrilled and a little surprised at how good this is.

I also think special mention should go to Scott Devours on drums. I didn't think it possible for anyone to replace Keith Moon, and in a sense it isn't - he was a unique one-off. Devours has the sense not to try to imitate the inimitable but he gets the sense and feel of the man somehow, and although the drumming isn't Moon and never could be, it feels exactly right and I think it's a brilliant performance which really adds to the set.

The sheer impact of the final three tracks of Quadrophenia - 5.15, The Rock and Love Reign O'er Me - is stunning. I used to sit in my room at university sometimes, put on Side 4 of the album and blow my head off through headphones instead of working. I think it's even more powerful than that in this performance, which is really saying something. (It's great to have the mini-Greatest Hits section at the end, but I have to play that separately.)

The Who were always a great live band. I saw them just the once, at The Valley in 1974, and on this evidence they're still just as good - possibly better in some ways. This isn't just piece for fans to add to their collections and forget about. It's a genuinely excellent live performance of great music and one that I'll be playing for years to come. Very, very warmly recommended.
55 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
The Who really pull off something here that does full justice to their wonderful original album, and perhaps even moves it up a notch. The term 'rock opera' never quite fitted Quadrophenia for me; it was more a piece of realism, rooted in a social history of a time and place, but lifted beautifully by the soaring music and Daltrey's vocal cry into something really special. Tommy was truly a rock opera but became too detached from the original idea, and Ken Russell's film only took the vision even further into the realms of excess. The backdrop visuals to this live performance of Quadrophenia really capture the spirit of the whole thing and add greatly to its success. Perhaps the greatest surprise is that even without Moon and Entwistle, they achieve such a magnificent sound. This is unmistakeably The Who at their absolute best, and as good as they've ever sounded. Daltrey's vocals are still there and God knows how he pulled this off. There's something very moving about seeing him recreate the magic of his glory years and reinhabiting this wonderful character. Townshend is just magnificent, and has an awesome command and presence. He directs the whole performance, and wrings all the energy, passion and tenderness of Quadrophenia through his guitar and voice. It's great credit to the whole band and everyone involved that they should take the original music even further and lift it still higher. At this late stage of The Who story, it's a remarkable achievement for Townshend and Daltrey; without the aid of the naughty boys at the back, to pull off such a testament to their music and legacy.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Just watched the Blu-Ray and amazing pic & audio quality.
Classic album performed with backscreen footage of Entwistle & Moon
where you get the feeling they are present in spirit.

Only annoying point is the main Quadrophenia live show is presented as the main concert.
To play the encores you have to go to the extras menu and press play.
It would have just been better to have the whole show run through continuously.
Why some groups do this god only knows.

Quadrophenia Live In London - 1hr 35mins
Encores - 37mins

A documentary or some interviews would have been nice but no other extras.
Still...well worth getting just to really turn it up loud.
44 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
This is a review of the blu ray version of this release .If you love this album then you will adore this blu ray. The sound quality and production are fantastic and the way in which they integrated Keith and John into the performances was genius. Unmissable really.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
I was lucky enough to see this show when it came to the Cardiff motor point arena about three weeks before this performance was filmed and was very much hoping that this fantastic show would be documented for all time on a official release.

Whilst no DVD can truly capture the magic of being at a concert in person, this DVD is about as good as it gets--- the performances, the visuals, the sound quality are all truly fantastic and finally do live justice to what is perhaps their greatest work.

This DVD is an essential purchase for any fans of the Who and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I'm remembering distant memories Recalling other names.
I remember reading an article in a music paper in the 70's entitled « In awe of the Who » ; considering the achievement this DVD represents it wouldn't be inappropriate to create the word « whosome » as a neologism indicating something as awe inspiring as the Who.
The Who play to the video clip of the century from the aftermath of WWI to the beginning of WW3. I don't know what it means to younger people but, to me, it certainly looks like a very effective means to raise their awareness. The music rages through, deaths and births, war declarations and peace talks, a selbstdarstellung of a generation who has had to face death from an early age, boldly wished for it in its teen years and learnt to accept it as a final fact.
This concert is a touchstone to check whether you are still a human being ; if you are you're bound to cry at one point or another, be it when you perceive the cahos described by the back projections or when the music is so overwhelmingly perfect it permits to resurrect the bassist of the millenium and the eternal boyish drummer no Who fan has ever forgotten.
I saw the Who perform Quadrophenia in the seventies and retrospectively I cannot but be amazed at the performance they produced back then as a four-piece band when Pete could play both rhythm and lead parts and the band had to battle with out synched backing tapes . I'm glad I saw the original line up but I'm also impressed with the stubbornness for perfection that drives Roger and Pete to take up such challenges when they could be resting on their laurels and sip tea at home. Hats off to Pino Palladino and Scott Devours for their total selflessness in accepting little or no exposure and total dedication to the original members. I also fully trust Bob Pridden has done his best with producing the recording. If there has ever been a faithful Who right-hand man through thick an thin he is the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
what a concert bring back when i seen them in newcastle.

any way yes you see rodger and pete awful lot, you do see scott once or twice but just for a second. you get to see pete brother simon but only on the big screen at the back, close up and its only when he sings the song cut my hair. and even then as soon roger starts singing it back on roger again. you dont see the bass player unless it from the full stage shot of the band and that is from afar.

good sound quailty,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
I bought this for my Dad for Fathers Day as we are both Huge fans of the album, and after finally getting round to watching it we were blown away by how brilliant this concert is. It was absolutely amazing and was a really great performance by The Who. The added content (Extra Songs) Such as "Pinball Wizard" and "Won't Get Fooled Again" were a great added bonus. Well worth the money! Highly recommend to all fans of The Who
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Firstly thanks to Amazon for delivering a day ahead of the official release.

I was at this and the other London shows last summer and have been waiting for the official release to replace the bootlegs that were out within days. The performances by Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey and the backing musicians are excellent throughout. Just listen to the vocals on Love Reign O'er Me and be amazed by what Daltrey can still do and how he is defying his age. Thankfully some of the other songs have now been transposed to lower keys so that he can hit the high notes full on without struggling and I wish that they had done this years ago. Scott Devours deserves special mention for stepping in for the injured Zak Starkey, who, to be honest, isn't really missed as his dep is that good. Simon Townshend works his socks off in the guitar bi-play with his older brother and puts in a great lead vocal on The Dirty Jobs. They even manage to cover most of John Entwistle's brass overdubs with a combination of samples and two live horn players. This produces a fuller sound than you might imagine. The visuals on the back projections are superb and all credit to Daltrey and his design team for creating them and for bringing John Entwistle and Keith Moon into the show so creatively.

The performances and the staging are great and merit the 5 stars, but, for me, there are gripes concerning the production of the DVD. Surprisingly, the mix is quite patchy with the vocals up too far and with a poor low end. At times Pino Palladino can't be heard at all and, even though he plays in a far more orthodox style than Entwistle, the bass end was a key feature of the album and it is lacking. It sounds more like a quick and dirty live TV broadcast mix from yesteryear than a modern live sound recording that's been properly mixed and mastered. There have been some edits and at the start of Had Enough you don't see Daltrey missing his intro cue mid mic twirl and trying to salvage the line and, likewise, when Townshend forgets the lyric during I'm One we don't get to hear him swearing at himself over his cockup while the band treads water. It's fair enough to want to fix those glitches, but why split the show into the Quadrophenia set, run the lengthy closing cedits and then have the rest of the show, (which followed straight on), set apart as a bonus feature? It would have flowed better to screen the whole show complete with band intros and thank yous. Townshend mentions briefly that a lot of people worked on that night's show for free, but they've edited out all the dialogue that would have made it clear that it was a special benefit concert added to the end of the tour and that is the reason why.

It's good news that they've documented the tour and the evolution of the stage version of Quadrophenia, but I'm sure that the footage will be revisited at some point and a director's cut version, or similar, will emerge on some future anniversary.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Having seen the band on this tour this Blue-Ray was a must. If you weren't fortunate enough to have seen them too this is definitely the next best thing. This is the Who in concert, and thanks to bit of technical wizardry, all four of them are present so if you're a fan or simply want to know more, then this is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)