Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ukulele kids beginners book - 6 year old loved it
Ukulele kids beginners book - our 6 year old Grandson loved it. Learning Ukulele at school & so pleased to have his own. He practiced almost all Christmas Day in his bedroom & found the book easy to understand. Great buy!
Published 15 months ago by Nonnapaula

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is for beginners
If you're a non-musician this will be a great book as it really starts from scratch and takes things slowly. If you have taught yourself a few chords and want something more this book isn't for you as you're already at the stage that the book ends at.A good book for someone who has no prior experience on the instrument.
Published on 28 Feb. 2013 by P. Green


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is for beginners, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
P. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a non-musician this will be a great book as it really starts from scratch and takes things slowly. If you have taught yourself a few chords and want something more this book isn't for you as you're already at the stage that the book ends at.A good book for someone who has no prior experience on the instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ukulele kids beginners book - 6 year old loved it, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ukulele kids beginners book - our 6 year old Grandson loved it. Learning Ukulele at school & so pleased to have his own. He practiced almost all Christmas Day in his bedroom & found the book easy to understand. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a very simple, short and clever introduction to learning the ukulele. You will already know the children songs, which will help you to start understanding and reading the notation (not often given in tutors) if you want to. A very basic repertoire of chords is built up and you are easily introduced to strumming to different rhythmic time siganatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a complete newb at ukulele and this was just what I needed, I'd definitely recommend it to beginners with no real musical background like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is perfect for anyone who wants to begin to play the ukulele and needs to learn and practise the basics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless CD and unhelpful book, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this item because it came with the CD and as i'm not the greatest at reading music i thought the CD would help me with the tempo etc. The music on the CD is not from a ukulele so was no help in how it should sound coming from the ukulele and what sort of sturmming pattern is needed for each song. I was really disappointed. There is also nothing in the book to help you "from the beginning" of learning ukulele, its just nursey rhyme music sheets and an irritating electronic sounding CD. I would not recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, 4 Jun. 2011
This book is a good start for a child, in that they may learn the chords and sing along but but doesn't take it any further. I have used it in lessons to assist with music reading but some of the arrangements go below middle C, which is not possible on a soprano. I understand that this is a common occurrence in Uke books but as a child's book, I'd expect it to be a little more accessible. To get the child playing the melody I have sometimes had to resort to transcribing the pieces myself. With a little more though this could be an essential purchase but until that happens, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could do better., 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needs an appendix where all the chords can be found easily. Some of the chord choices are incorrect for the given notes. No emphasis on memorising the chord shapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a bit more work, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
D. Brooks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is good but for a beginner book, it expects you to have memorised the chords shapes on the previous page before you try playing the song. Really needs the chord box diagrams alongside the letters - like you'd get with most other songbooks!

Other than that, the songs are good for children, very traditional, and some that I didn't know, but they are singalongable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says. Clearly laid out and suits my style of teaching., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ukulele From The Beginning (Kindle Edition)
I`ve used lots of from the beginning books and they are always well set out, well paced and with a good selection of pieces. 16 beginner Ukelele players give their vote too. Learned a C chord first lesson and with a bit of tweaking (me playing the G chord) we were able to make a good stab at London bridge is falling down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ukulele From The Beginning
£2.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews