Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful uplifting voice - a remarkable young Dutch operatic star!
Excellent - a beautiful, pure, youthful voice, yet she sounds mature and emotional, with spectacular top notes! - I so like this CD (with mostly opera arias, but some other songs too) that I bought several more as gifts... Amazing that such a beautiful, powerful sound comes from such a young girl - she was still 9 when she recorded this album in February 2014 (in England...
Published 9 months ago by Alan Munch

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great talent but needs more life.
Watching Amira sing on HGT on youtube, I was deeply moved by the purity and innocence of this young lady that I wanted to buy a CD. The songs are sung beautifully but on reflection it needs the visual impact of seeing this child sing that makes the difference. I look forward to Amira making a DVD in the future but wish her a happy and successful life.
Published 8 months ago by Sudhir S. Shah


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful uplifting voice - a remarkable young Dutch operatic star!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
Excellent - a beautiful, pure, youthful voice, yet she sounds mature and emotional, with spectacular top notes! - I so like this CD (with mostly opera arias, but some other songs too) that I bought several more as gifts... Amazing that such a beautiful, powerful sound comes from such a young girl - she was still 9 when she recorded this album in February 2014 (in England - there are interesting YouTube clips showing her do it!). Her operatic singing has a wonderful tone and seems to flow naturally from deep in her heart.
When little Amira Willighagen, aged nearly 9½, got on a train from Nijmegen to Zwolle in August 2013 to audition for Holland's Got Talent (HGT), she hoped to appear once on TV and that they would like her singing. Within a few seconds of her opening her mouth, her life changed forever, as the jury and audience instantly recognized her exceptional voice. I watched the YouTube clips of Amira singing on HGT many times (those 3 songs are on the album), and was captivated by her singing, but also by her engaging personality and demeanour. Her audition (shown on Dutch TV on 26 October 2013) stunned the judges (another 'Susan Boyle moment') and quickly 'went viral' - she had learned to sing opera by watching YouTube clips, because she liked the songs very much. Amira is a credit to her family and The Netherlands - and has a God-given gift that makes the spirit soar and touches the emotions. The Dutch violinist and conductor André Rieu invited her (and her brother Fincent who plays violin) to a masterclass, after watching her HGT audition; then after she won the HGT final on 28th December 2013, he invited her to sing at his famous summer concerts in Maastricht (which she did on 11th and 12th July 2014). She also performed in the USA, Germany, Switzerland, South Africa, Argentina, Monaco, France and the UK during 2014, in between going to school.
Amira used her first concert earnings to build a playground for children in a township in South Africa, and in the CD inlay she tells - in her own handwriting - that she saves money for poor children to make playgrounds for them (she set up a charity for this work in November 2014). She dedicates this CD to her grandmother, who was her biggest fan, who died in late 2013 in South Africa. Amira wants to do something good with her talent, and try to make children and other people happy with her voice, but she wants to have time for other things too. What a refreshing, selfless little girl - may she go on and on, enjoying her singing and using her gifts to bring joy others. (And she seems to be very good at athletics too... must be the lungs!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational CD by 9 year old Amira, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
There are 10 tracks on this outstanding CD which are: Babbino Caro, Nella Fantastia, Voi Che Sapete, Pie Jesu, Caro Mio Ben, Song to the Moon, Ave Maria, Ombra Mai Fu, In Trutina and Nessum Dorma. I was totally blown away when I first viewed Amira in Holland's Got Talent on Andre Rieu's website ([...], click on Previous Items and then Previous Items 2013 - Jul - Dec and scroll down to Amira Willighagen, where there are several videos of Amira). Having seen Amira perform, the CD becomes even more spectacular because Amira was just 9 years old and to be able to sing Nessum Dorma, an extremely difficult aria is spectacular. I play this CD frequently and have given many away as presents. Amira has been invited to perform at Andre Rieu's Maastricht concert in Holland on Saturday, 19 July, 2014, which is being transmitted Live to cinemas round the world. Tickets to a cinema near you on [...] Amira has enormous talent and didn't have singing lessons to achieve this. The Netherlands has gained a megastar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
An absolutely wonderful CD. It is just delightful, to listen to. Her voice is so good, it is almost untrue. And to think, that it should improve as she gets older! I fully expect to buy her next CD, when it comes. But I hope she does not miss too much school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
Buy it! Buy it! Buy it! Amira won the Voice Holland and she is absolutely amazing. I can't stop playing this cd and have counted the days until it came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little Amira, 14 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
Little Amira Willighagen has an amazing singing voice that an adult singer would envy. Even more amazing is that she was singing opera arias by the age of nine without having any formal training. She is a natural. She became an international star when her performance of "O Mio Babbino Caro" at Holland's Got Talent became a YouTube sensation with more than 20 million hits. In this debut album, Amira sings familiar crossover classics. They are beautiful. I am looking forward to hearing more of Amira in the coming years as her voice matures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a voice!, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
I came across Amira by chance when looking for another singer on U-tube. Amira has a most amazing voice for a then 9 year old. If one closes one's eyes and just listen, it is not difficult to imagine a very mature female singing instead of a very young girl. She is certainly very talented. I found, and still do scores of times later, listening to her voice very moving particularly as all the 3 songs she sang on Holland's Got Talent are very popular ones. Obviously there will be critics but one must not forget her age and the fact that she was self-taught. I can only highly recommend this CD by Amira, you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From YouTube to CD, a natural progression, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Allum "adnalm" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
Like many, I discovered Amira on YouTube, and for the first time I was 'moved' by opera singing (despite my love of classical music, Opera has never appealed to me). The purity and youthfulness of Amira's voice comes through very clearly with this recording, and so far I have not tired of it, listening to it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love every track, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
Amira Now this Album you just have to buy .I love every track .The one that shines most for me is song to the silvery moon .But it is played all day in my car as I work .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing this young girl's voice is a pure joy to ..., 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
Amazing this young girl's voice is a pure joy to listen to it will reduce you to tears every time especially Song to the Moon. Look forward to hearing more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... Day which was such a surprise as well as delight. Overall, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Toby T (North Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amira (Audio CD)
I ordered this after seeing Amira's TV performance on Christmas Day which was such a surprise as well as delight. Overall, this CD makes really enjoyable listening,made more so by having seen her perform on TV and video clips - you need to remind yourself how young she is. A couple of the songs on this album don't quite hit the mark but taken in context they show what tremendous ability she has. Let's hope she receives good care and training as she matures - there could be much more for us to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amira
Amira by Amira Willighagen
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews