Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man of the here and now
Great songs love some of the covers but preferred the man's own . Put all three cd's in car and listen back to back happy days.
Published 10 months ago by Mark Sampson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The more I listen to it the better it sounds
The more I listen to it the better it sounds. The only gripe I have is all the tracks are a bit 'samey'. I do like though that there is a thread of 'The Jam' sound throughout - that makes it better to listen to.
Published 9 months ago by Lisa Heather


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man of the here and now, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great songs love some of the covers but preferred the man's own . Put all three cd's in car and listen back to back happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The more I listen to it the better it sounds, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The more I listen to it the better it sounds. The only gripe I have is all the tracks are a bit 'samey'. I do like though that there is a thread of 'The Jam' sound throughout - that makes it better to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from Paul Weller, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There's no denying that Paul Weller has had a cyclical career. From the highs of The Jam, he then found himself reaping diminishing returns, both commercially and critically, with The Style Council. So much so that by the end of the 1980's The Style Council were ignominiously dropped by Polydor which meant that Weller had to rebuild his career and reputation from scratch.

Most critics regarded him as a spent force by the early 1990's, but a run of solid albums - Wild Wood, Stanley Road and Heavy Soul - restored his critical and commercial fortunes, so that when his first solo compilation, Modern Classics, was released in 1998 it was able to boast a series of tracks that were very familiar to the record-buying public.

Since the late 1990's Weller has continued to tour and record regularly, but his profile has dropped again. So while this means that the track-listing of More Modern Classics might not contain too many songs that casual fans will instantly recognise, there's still considerable quality here.

"From The Floorboards Up", "Come On, Let's Go" and "Wake Up The Nation" are all flat-out Weller rockers that are typical of his Britpop peak in the mid 1990's. But as with his desire via The Style Council to move away from the straightjacket he found The Jam to be, there's plenty of other musical styles on offer here. "No Tears to Cry" is a little gem, a love-letter to the Northern Soul sound and "Sweet Pea, My Sweet Pea" is a delicate slice of acoustic folk, and like many songs on More Modern Classics has aged well.

The two newer tracks "Flame Out!" and "Brand New Toy" couldn't be more different. "Flame Out!" is a straightforward rock track, driven by a relentless guitar riff whilst "Brand New Toy" has a playful Kinks feel about it. It's a great song and shows that Weller can still produce the goods.

For the lapsed fan, More Modern Classics is well worth picking up. Paul Weller might not have troubled the top of the charts very often in the last fifteen years but he's continued to produce music of a high calibre. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got My Mojo Woking!, 8 Jan. 2015
I was a big fan of PW's solo work through the nineties but for whatever reasons (same problem we all face, so much music so little time) I didn't keep up with much of his stuff after 2000. This box set is a fantastic retrospective of his music over the last fifteen years and includes a great third cd of sessions and live recordings. I highly recommend this for any fans of Paul Weller for who he may have dropped off their radar in the last few years. This box set is a classy proposition as sharply put together as one of PW's suits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic compilation with the added extra booklet in the middle a must for all Paul Weller fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
A. Stephens "hilts3188" (LIVERPOOL U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Modern Classics (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It ace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather another hit, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Modern Classics (Audio CD)
Cannot fault, Weller at his best as usual. Good delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EXCELLENT CD WELL WORTH IT A MUST BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have almost every Paul Weller album and I think this is one of the best. I was surprised to find I love Wishing on a Star. It is well worth buying the three CD box set. The Autorip only comes with discs 1 and 2. I queried this with Amazon and this is due to strict copyright laws but that may change in the future. Don't let this put you off buying it as you can upload the 3rd disc to cloud player later. All discs are equally good. As your average listener, the sound is very good.

Best album I've bought in ages. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Modern Classics
More Modern Classics by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews