Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of British Old Boy!
I bought the vinyl and it's a top quality package. Like many people, I've already got at least one version of every song on this double album, but a fantastic job has been done here in compiling a selection that really plots out the last fifteen years and clearly showcases the talent that is Paul Weller. It demonstrates his unique skill in continuously being able to come...
Published 1 month ago by Chris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it used to be!
Pretty much sounds identical to his last album !! I think these days Paul only wants to play what Paul wants to play, This was much in evidence at the latest Forest Live Gig at Cannock Chase a few weeks ago. What he did was good, but he left his audience wanting more.... there was no real big finale.....we only went this year as he was quite good last time we saw him at...
Published 29 days ago by JudeG


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of British Old Boy!, 29 July 2014
By 
Chris (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the vinyl and it's a top quality package. Like many people, I've already got at least one version of every song on this double album, but a fantastic job has been done here in compiling a selection that really plots out the last fifteen years and clearly showcases the talent that is Paul Weller. It demonstrates his unique skill in continuously being able to come up with something fresh and new.

I have no problem in recommending this to anyone, Weller fan or not, as it epitomises the very best in British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First Class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
LEGEND!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what can you say about Paul Weller that has not already been said , great album , great song writer all-round performer keep it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent music from a great British Songwriter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man of the here and now, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great songs love some of the covers but preferred the man's own . Put all three cd's in car and listen back to back happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from Paul Weller, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There's no denying that Paul Weller has had a cyclical career. From the highs of The Jam, he then found himself reaping diminishing returns, both commercially and critically, with The Style Council. So much so that by the end of the 1980's The Style Council were ignominiously dropped by Polydor which meant that Weller had to rebuild his career and reputation from scratch.

Most critics regarded him as a spent force by the early 1990's, but a run of solid albums - Wild Wood, Stanley Road and Heavy Soul - restored his critical and commercial fortunes, so that when his first solo compilation, Modern Classics, was released in 1998 it was able to boast a series of tracks that were very familiar to the record-buying public.

Since the late 1990's Weller has continued to tour and record regularly, but his profile has dropped again. So while this means that the track-listing of More Modern Classics might not contain too many songs that casual fans will instantly recognise, there's still considerable quality here.

"From The Floorboards Up", "Come On, Let's Go" and "Wake Up The Nation" are all flat-out Weller rockers that are typical of his Britpop peak in the mid 1990's. But as with his desire via The Style Council to move away from the straightjacket he found The Jam to be, there's plenty of other musical styles on offer here. "No Tears to Cry" is a little gem, a love-letter to the Northern Soul sound and "Sweet Pea, My Sweet Pea" is a delicate slice of acoustic folk, and like many songs on More Modern Classics has aged well.

The two newer tracks "Flame Out!" and "Brand New Toy" couldn't be more different. "Flame Out!" is a straightforward rock track, driven by a relentless guitar riff whilst "Brand New Toy" has a playful Kinks feel about it. It's a great song and shows that Weller can still produce the goods.

For the lapsed fan, More Modern Classics is well worth picking up. Paul Weller might not have troubled the top of the charts very often in the last fifteen years but he's continued to produce music of a high calibre. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it used to be!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Modern Classics (Audio CD)
Pretty much sounds identical to his last album !! I think these days Paul only wants to play what Paul wants to play, This was much in evidence at the latest Forest Live Gig at Cannock Chase a few weeks ago. What he did was good, but he left his audience wanting more.... there was no real big finale.....we only went this year as he was quite good last time we saw him at Cannock a couple of years ago. We saw him at the NIA inbetween and it was very lacklustre so this was last chance saloon! We will just keep playing the old stuff from now on & save our pennies for Paloma Faith who is very entertaining live!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what more can i say,it's Weller,LEGEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blast from the past great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Modern Classics
More Modern Classics by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews