Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray for Curtis
Each album he makes gets better and better. His total confidence shines through in this CD.
Backed by just a five piece band, including himself of course on tenor sax, the sound produced is just magnificent. Three new songs written by Curtis and seven standards. Each given a unique treatment making them sound as fresh as ever.
The duet with Cyrille Aimee, "You...
Published 3 months ago by M. A. Dunnington

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
His last album, Let's Go Out Tonight was excellent (5 stars) so I expected a lot from this. But there's nothing original here, and the edge that was on the last album doesn't appear here, just mostly standards as others have done many times before, perhaps going for the Michael Buble audience. We'll be seeing him live later this year, and I hope he plays songs from the...
Published 3 months ago by NJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray for Curtis, 30 April 2014
By 
M. A. Dunnington (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
Each album he makes gets better and better. His total confidence shines through in this CD.
Backed by just a five piece band, including himself of course on tenor sax, the sound produced is just magnificent. Three new songs written by Curtis and seven standards. Each given a unique treatment making them sound as fresh as ever.
The duet with Cyrille Aimee, "You Make Me Feel So Young" is definitely a highlight of the disc - in fact she is so good I'm searching to buy her Cd material now.
A very classy album - 40 minutes of pure jazz pleasure - most tracks giving opportunity for some excellent solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
His last album, Let's Go Out Tonight was excellent (5 stars) so I expected a lot from this. But there's nothing original here, and the edge that was on the last album doesn't appear here, just mostly standards as others have done many times before, perhaps going for the Michael Buble audience. We'll be seeing him live later this year, and I hope he plays songs from the previous album as well. Haven't given up on Curtis, but I think he can do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hooray" exceeded expectations", 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
Great value just love all on this CD prompt excellent service, having tried to purchase in my local town shops to no avail all sold out came back ordered direct from Amazon next day delivery bonus... Was able to download onto my IPad "free" from this purchase. How's that for value......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a shame,,,,,, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
Heard some of the songs in the recent visit to Ronny Scotts. Curtis and his band were brilliant that night. The CD however is somewhat cold,,,,,too clean,,,, not enough density of sound for me. Also the overall content is too depressive, in spite of the title. shame as I don't think I will give it too many plays. Will still go and see him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 11 July 2014
By 
A. Godsall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
Great new album from Curtis .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is still Curtis making love to you with his voice, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
Saw the lovey Curtis at Ronnie Scotts last week and oh my, what a performer he is. His voice is laden in warm chocolate and he is sexy as hell. So, it was a no brainer that I would buy this new album. Although not all the songs are as catchy as in the Lets go out tonight album, this is still Curtis making love to you with his voice. He just gets better and better with each year. Please buy to learn for yourself just how tremendous this artist really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utter class, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Chris (Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
To quote the great Jazz club sketches off The Fast Show......"Curtis Stigers.......nice!" This album is amazing...such mellow tunes that are very easy on the ear...highlights for me personally are The Way You Look Tonight and Valentine's Day (the best track on the album). Buy this CD, you will not regret it...it will be the best few quid you have ever spent on an album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
this is okay the songs are great but somehow was expecting more, I loved him singing certain songs but felt some he did not do justice to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
Could not believe that this CD arrived just 36hrs after ordering - fantastic! There was a very small mark on the outer casing but nothing to worry about. I love Curtis Stigers andlove this album which plays perfectly. Really pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars curtiis stigers cd, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooray For Love (Audio CD)
my wife was delighted with the cd. and was very pleased with the service. we would use your firm again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hooray For Love
Hooray For Love by Curtis Stigers
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews