Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As punk rock as it gets.....
As much as Body count get labelled as a Metal or Rock band I hear a sound not so far removed from the Modern day Exploited or a better produced Black Flag...this CD owes more in tempo and rage to Hardcore Punk than much of the Grunge or Thrash bands that were around at the time.
It's a great CD of fine social comment and sheer power..it's one I hadn't played in a...
Published on 27 May 2011 by Mr. A. J. Skelton

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be careful which edition you're buying
There are two versions of this cd. You can distinguish them from the cover: On the original (which contains the song "copkiller") the tattoo on the gangsta's chest reads "Cop Killer", while on the censored reissue ("copkiller" is replaced by "freedom of speech") the tattoo reads "Body Count". This photo shows the original (unsencored) issue.
I ordered it from one of...
Published on 16 Jun. 2011 by Kostas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As punk rock as it gets....., 27 May 2011
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
As much as Body count get labelled as a Metal or Rock band I hear a sound not so far removed from the Modern day Exploited or a better produced Black Flag...this CD owes more in tempo and rage to Hardcore Punk than much of the Grunge or Thrash bands that were around at the time.
It's a great CD of fine social comment and sheer power..it's one I hadn't played in a while but on doing so I realised it should get an airing more often from the witty social comment of KKK bitch through to the Punk murder ballad Mama's gonna die tonight.
It's the album that keyed me more into Hip Hop than other contemparies such as Public Enemy...this isn't Hip Hop but as that's Ice T's day job the lyrical flair and delivery on this made me check out that side of his work too..the vocal however isn't really in the rap arena and as such this sounds more Rollins Band than RATM..a fine debut..successive CD's by the band have been strong but in many ways this is their standalone one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
For those who've never heard BC before, imagine 1980's style thrash metal and Punk rock, combined with vocals from rapper Ice-T. Although the real star of the show here in my opinion is guitarist Ernie-C, as there are so many memorable riffs on this album, you'll probably get a sense of deja-vu.

Apparently very controversial when first released, the music itself still sounds timeless. If you're a fan of rap metal, this is the album that pre-ceeded it all, the original, and it's an absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast raw and furious, you�ll either love it or hate it., 2 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
Body Count
This album is a great example of "freedom of speech". The music has a unique angle that has only in recent years been acknowledged through new artists. I don't think any tracks from this particular album would appear on commercial radio. The album is a cross between rock & rap, with its heavy raucous baselines and moody explicit lyrics; the raw feel that this album produces takes you immediately to air guitar city central. Most of the tracks on this album tell their stories with attitude. The Body Count style could be compared to bands such as Clawfinger or Limp Biscuit, a sort of Anthrax/Rainbow meets Ice T.
Body Count is a brilliant album if you are not easily offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original album from Body Count still shines!, 7 July 2006
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
You have to admire Ice-T's balls for releasing this album. At the time he was one of the most respected Artists in the industry.... and he was signed to 'Warner'!

The aftermath of this record was death threats, blame for the LA Riots, even the White House quoting it and of course being dropped by Warner when Ice-T wouldn't back down. Although Cop Killer is now missing from the album (as it was quickly dropped after all the media hype by Warner) it still doesn't lack any of the punch and still hasn't dated over ten years after it's initial release.

Body Count changed Metal, lead the way for bands like Limp Biscuit and RATM, and thankfully have a new album out tis summer! Long may they continue!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
Now here is an album that depicts its time, anger and hostility. I remember seeing the riots on TV. Early 90's was still a time of fight the system and ICE T and others had the soundtrack. Together with RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE it was a massive F U to all politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome CD, 17 May 2013
By 
Mr. T. Blane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
Had this when it first appeared, lost my copy, now got it back. I was trying for vinyl format but its collectable at £200. The songs on this CD are so powerfull that I forgot all about the petit problems that seem to be in the news at the moment.
A total must have for any rock/metal fan out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BC rocks, 9 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
great its ice t and the bodycount crew great bit of hard rock worth a listen if you like your music with a good tune and message .as usual hard rockin hrd guitar drums its a classic of its day..i guess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BC Should Stay In Da House, 16 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
This album is very Explicit, but in a good way first listen to people that are not fans or just a first listen you'd think that they're a racist group but actually listen properly they're against racism and they tell us to stop being racist in a funny way [listen to Momma's Gotta Die Tonight] you'll see what i mean, KKK Bitch is another great song of theirs as well as Freedom Of Speech [the lyrics are true] in today's world. ICE -T is definatley suited for Thrash Metal this album is superb if you like Body Count and this album then get their other albums!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bodycount cd, 7 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
This cd is one that I have been after for a while, so it was great to find a copy advertised. It arrived quickly and in very secure packaging-that I was impressed with-and on playing it for the first time, found that it was in as good a condition as advertised. It is definitely a seller that I would use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fire next time: Revolution, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Body Count (Audio CD)
Good old Body Count. This was the real stuff. Forget about NWA, Cyprus Hill and Dr. Dre-Dre T-Man Honk Da Dodo (OK, I just made him up, but you do get the point). Body Count sounded as if they actually meant it!

Communism had just fallen, the Gulf War had ended in an American victory, the New World Order was in the making, world history was coming to a glorious end...and absolutely nothing had changed in the United Snakes of Amerika. (Dan Quayle was vice-president.) A month after the release of this album, the LA Riots erupted.

I readily admit that I loved every minute of this album in my younger, radical and more anarchistic days. This album is hard core in more ways than one. We're talking STO, RCYB, Love & Rage, Slingshot, The Shadow.... This was their kind of music, and revolution was in the air. Not the airy, hippie "revolution" of flower power, but the real, raw stuff. Amerika's finest were finally going to get what was coming to them. The New World Order was going down.

It didn't, of course. Instead we got...Bill Clinton! Still, I admit a certain nostalgia when listening to Ice T and his Black (!) trash metal band Body Count. Apparently, "Cop Killer" is still a no-no in the United Snakes, but the rest of the songs seem to be included on this "official" version of the eponymous debut album. For a time, another song created quite some stir as well, "Momma's gotta die tonight". Actually, the song is a protest against *reverse* racism, but it can be difficult to get, especially if you don't listen carefully to the lyrics...

Being a (reasonably) White boy, it was this anti-racist, colour-blind angle that got me hooked on Body Count. I never been much of a fan of the Nation of Islam or the African United People Kwanzaa Uhuru Swahili Party. Most such groups are on the CIA payroll anyway.

:D

OK, you may interpret this review any way you see fit. Incidentally, I liked "New Jack City", too!

And now, sports...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Count [Explicit]
Body Count [Explicit] by Body Count
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews