Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential
Universal have done right by Ms Grace Jones' magnum opus, "Nightclubbing": the remaster by esteemed Kevin Reeves is truly superlative. The album's wide stereo sound field is beautifully crisp, clear and transparent, with plenty of bottom end from Sly & Robbie - and so many delicate, iridescent touches from Wally Badarou's keyboards and Sticky Thompson's...
Published 10 months ago by Jack

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Music / Apalling Vinyl
Never heard Grace Jones' music before, but really like this album. However, the state of the vinyl is appalling. As is usual with Universal releases, the vinyl is pressed at GZVinyl in Czechoslovakia. And as is usual for GZVinyl pressings, the vinyl itself looks appalling. Held up to a bright light there are a myriad of defects, most notably finger marks from latex...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Universal have done right by Ms Grace Jones' magnum opus, "Nightclubbing": the remaster by esteemed Kevin Reeves is truly superlative. The album's wide stereo sound field is beautifully crisp, clear and transparent, with plenty of bottom end from Sly & Robbie - and so many delicate, iridescent touches from Wally Badarou's keyboards and Sticky Thompson's percussion! Ms Jones' Island trilogy was always aural nirvana, but now "Nightclubbing", at least, is absolutely compulsive listening. All the mixes on the second disc sound flawless, also.
The packaging is indeed fairly flimsy with no outer sleeve, but the booklet is well-produced and Darryl Easlea's liner notes detail the album's context, along with some great pix of La Jones.
Now Universal need to get cracking on "Warm Leatherette", "Living My Life" and "Slave To The Rhythm"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightclubbing - If Only All Deluxe Edition Remasters Were This Good, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Good album made great by extended mixes. Take a lot of funk and add reggae, blues, soul and jazz plus spice up with some pizzaz and you have a unique combination. This album was made in 1981, but it hasn't aged and will it still sounds fresh in 2021.

Remastering adds extra kick and zing (like it should) and gives sinewy, throbbing muscle to the sound. I have been playing CD2 constantly since receiving it. Like any good CD it reveals hidden layers on each listen. A lot of care went into the recording, and it shows. Credit to Kevin Reeves at 4th Floor Studios for a good remaster.

'The Compass Point All-Star band' really hit their stride here. Sly & Robbie’s drum and bass give sympathetic rhythm whilst Wally Badarou’s keyboards shimmer over the top and the guitar and, and… Check out the compilation ‘Funky Nassau’ for more.

Disc 1 (38:26) Original album, no extras even though there are more out there.

Disc 2 (76:59)
All good to fantastic - but the quiet tracks sound really great and allow the music space to 'breathe':
• I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango) 12” version (5:40)
• I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango) Spanish version (Esta Cara Me Es Conocida) (4:33)
• Walking in the Rain 12” version

Pull Up to the Bumper was the lead single – great track with multiple mixes that are all essential variations on the original:
• Long Version UK 12” (5:45) definitive
• Remixed Version (7:17) – mostly instrumental – often found on 80s compilations.
• US Party Version (5:00) – good – straight into vocal intro(?)
• Instrumental ‘Peanut Butter ’ (5:11) – extra funk factor.
• 1985 remix (6:26) re-released after ‘Slave to the Rhythm’
Sly & Robbie think it’s their best groove – and these versions show that they are right.

Extra tracks are good, but the remixed tracks are even better.

Sleeve notes are comprehensive - a full essay. Covers the story of some of the covers - Bill Withers 'Use Me' is unrecognisable. Shame the sleeve notes missed out on a few factors e.g. giving credit to the gay audience who were the foundation of her initial success; no record sleeve images; the album and singles were not big 'pop hits in 1981 - they were ahead of their time. But hey these are small gripes for such a great reissue.

If you already have the ‘Private Life – Compass Point Session’ (‘PLCPS’) and are wondering whether it is worth taking the plunge on this version – then just do it. I'm so glad that I did! Points to consider are:
1. The sound is better again that the good sound on ‘PLCPS'. Really throbs through a good sound system. ‘PLCPS’ was good for it’s time but was released 16 years ago!
2. The mixes are different, in a good way. The mix of ‘Walking in the Rain’ from ‘PLCPS’ is not on here.
3. CD2 is 77 minutes of great stuff plus you get a free album!
4. The sleeve notes are really informative.
In other words just buy it - they may give her other albums the same deluxe treatment!
P.S. 1981 was a diverse year for music – for another extreme check out the 4CD box set of ‘The Sound’.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You really should..., 21 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
If you have ever been slightly curious about Grace's musical career then you could do a lot worse than start here. She had (and still has) the ability to turn a song into her own regardless of whether it was originally a male or female orientated vocal. Most people think she's bonkers. Well, she may be on camera, but on disc she rules...period. This album WAS cool anyway but this version really does do it justice.

The band that played behind her when she recorded her Nassau trilogy (this one, Warm Leatherette and Living My Life) were REALLY at the top of their game. Grace only adds to it by being completely cool at what she does. She is more a narrator rather than a vocalist but that only adds to the mix. She ALWAYS pulls it off. I much prefer when she does a male vocal a la Demolition Man (Sting song). She injects it with a personality a thousand times more than he ever could.

Do yourself a favour and invest. Grace is HUGELY underrated.

You're welcome. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered and deluxe, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Nightclubbing is my favourite Grace Jones album and arrived this morning and comes beautifully packaged,with a great little booklet containing photos and info.Now the good news,i owned the previous release of this which i bought around 1990,which sounded terrible even then.so putting this deluxe version on today was pure bliss,sounds absolutely amazing.had it on my ipod and there were sounds that i have never heard before,such as the thunder on "walking in the rain".Includes lots of 12" mixes.pull up to the bumper being the most famous.some b-sides but the real star of the show are 2 previously un-released tracks one being a superb jones-esque cover of gary numan/tubeway army,me,i disconnect from you,which is worth the price of the album itself!The whole album is superb and should take pride in any serious music aficionado collection.superb release 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All About Then, 28 May 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Sums up an era, in particular 1981, nuclear war, nihilism, sex and a deep sense of foreboding wrapped up in warm bodies. Operating as a cold warm breath in a colder suspended air, the world bounced along in darkened clubs rather than euphoric gigs. The energy from the 1970's seemingly had been expelled into a morphined stupor. In return, here was a gay influenced journey back to Iggy and David's sojourns in West Berlin. Grace could have been part of this dynamic duo but the fact is she tagged along later.

As a collection of songs it operates in delivering a chasmic cathedral like ambiance, as the bass announces its beat - to bring back multiple memories, each lilting along to a reggae rhythm, done to a cod death by Sting. Here it has a touch of authenticity due to Sly and Robbie's bass blast of everpresent dread, where they transform "Demolition Man" into something pristine.

Pull up to the Bumper, you are never sure whether she is pointing to the front or the rear and to some extent who cares? Nightclubbing crawls to a death by Tuinal, yes it was what was happening, brand new people doing their own version of the nuclear bomb. Done it Again, another great comedown track, similar to Uber Tango. Use Me is a paean to S&M with a virtual plea to be used which along with "Feel up" asks for an electric frottaging thrill of a touch sensation. Grace was in touch with both the avant and the present and here delivers a masterpiece.

Throughout she stretches over the top, her voice hardly raising or rising from a deep sense of modeled but never forced sense of a weary sigh alienation, She beams out a cultural anomie with a breathless touch of the microphone. Seemingly she caressed this era and this album somehow did the impossible in summing up the post punk comedown to bring in another new sensation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Excellent album - bonus tracks superb. Gary Numan would love her version of Me I Disconnect From You.
Don't be fooled by the picture of the supposed book. It's just like any other CD insert. But the music is what counts and that's great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best remaster of 2014!, 4 May 2014
By 
ChrisWN (Santa Cruz, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Blu-ray Audio)
This is my favorite blu-ray audio title at the moment for a number of reasons. First, I'm a child of the 80s & for whatever reason, high def audio formats (DVD-A, SACD, FLAC) always seem to favor the standard 70s album-oriented rock titles, which I had tired of in the 80s. So it's nice to see something from the 80s make it onto the new blu-ray format, particularly a title that hasn't seen a release on any of the other formats. To add to that, it's not a release I would have expected on the format so soon in the game, as it didn't have any #1 hits on the US or Uk pop charts and Grace was probably better known in the US for her late-night Letterman appearances than for her music.

A single listen, however, confirms that Grace Jones' Compass Point Sessions for this 1981 release really were under-rated gems which didn't get the attention they deserved (outside of gay clubs). Grace Jones' earlier disco-era stuff was really a mixed bag and she didn't really become the artist she is until these more experimental releases (combining reggae, dub, disco, new wave & avant garde rock). The sound of the blu-ray really is magnificent. I didn't think the original CD (despite the edits) was that horrible- sounding, but it also didn't really shine either. The blu-ray really draws out details (the sounds of rain in Walking In The Rain, the sounds of dogs barking on Feel Up...) very nicely. Like most others, it offers 3 options. I've been so used to just listening to the PCM stereo track, which sounds nice here, but because I love the album so much, I decided to run through again on the other formats & this is the first time I really noticed a difference.....The Dolby TrueHD version sounds outstanding....very 3-dimensional (despite being 2.0) & full sounding, love it, don't think I'll go back to the PCM stereo for this one.

...and now for the real joy...the blu-ray contains all the tracks (22 in total) of the deluxe 2xcd version on one disc in all 3 formats. The bonus tracks (all the 12" versions & b-sides, with the exception of perhaps the Megamix medley & one or 2 others) are also remastered (and not from vinyl!) to full effect....and you can pick up all of them on one disc for less than what one of the rare OOP 12" singles probably would have cost you a few years ago. To add to that you get a download code for mp3s of all the tracks. UMG has really done right by this one (for once....after all those other blu-rays of albums that had also been released as multi-disc boxes without any of the extra material on them), hopefully they will do the same for all future releases. I can't wait for the remainder of these sessions (Warm Leatherette (1980) & Living My Life (1982) to make it to blu-ray audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1981 Studio Album, 3 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
In 1981, Grace Jones returned to the music scene with what was perharps her very best studio album, Nightclubbing. The Nightclubbing album certainly gained wide recognition from critics and was even voted as Album Of The Year by New Musical Express Magazine.

Again Grace returned to the startling format of combining Reggae, Rock, New Wave, Funk and R&B. The diverse, atmospheric arrangements are utterly compelling on all of these recordings.

Nightclubbing opens with the hypnotic, trance-like Walking In The Rain. Grace speaks and scowls through the entire recording and bizarre as it is, it still emerges as totally compelling with its blend of New Wave and Reggae.

This leads into what is her ultimate classic with the fantastic, driving R&B/Funk tune, Pull Up To The Bumper. Grace Jones delivery is highly effective on this track and has such immediacy and an infectious feel. Pull Up To The Bumper eventually became a Top 20 seller in the U.K.

Use Me is a catchy, highly effective reggae tune where Grace ignites the recording again with her diverse vocal approach whilst the title track, Nightclubbing is a bizarre cover of a David Bowie track. Synchronised sounds are combined with Graces stark delivery which surprisingly combine well together.

Art Groupie is more dated sounding though still works whilst the subtle mixture of French jazz, new wave and reggae on the startling, I've Seen That Face Before is another compelling, though blatantly weird affair. She conveys such spirit, fire and passion on her inspired re-working of Stings, Demolition Man.

The strong Jamacian vibes on the interestingly experimental, Feel Up is another cracking affair but the ultimate surprise on the album is served with the late-night jazz number, I've Done It Again. This lush, exotic number is given life by Graces exuberant delivery where I have honestly never heard her sing in such a soft soprano and sound so effeminate as on I've Done it Again.

Grace Jones, Nightclubbing became a Top 40 seller in the U.K. and stands as her best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TORCH SINGER, 14 July 2000
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Nightclubbing is the best starting point for those wishing to explore Ms Jones' immediate post-disco phase. This 1981 album followed the previous year's groundbreaking Warm Leatherette and was a commercial triumph. More accessible than both Warm Leatherette and Living My Life, this second work in the Sly & Robbie trilogy is packed with outstanding songs of lyrical and melodic distinction. They include compositions by Bill Withers, Astor Piazzolla, Sting, David Bowie/Iggy Pop, Barry Reynolds and Grace herself. The sound is crystal clear and despite the Jamaican influences the album has a bohemian European air about it.

Varied yet cohesive, Nightclubbing successfully explores different directions but gives the overall impression of a concept album. It is polished and sophisticated, displaying none of the raw edges of Warm Leatherette and offers a broader appeal than Living My Life. On the opening track Walking In The Rain Grace applies her semi-spoken vocal style over a light pop-reggae beat. Notorious for its risqué lyrics, Pull Up To The Bumper with its jerking Jamaican rhythms and car horn samples is a perennial club favorite which has seen a multitude of remixes and covers down the years.

The slower numbers are Bowie & Iggy's Nightclubbing which is sinister rather than celebratory and I've Done it Again which is romantic and soulful as opposed to the title track's menacing undertone. Speaking of which, her interpretation of Sting's Demolition Man takes menace to new dimensions; it's the most explicitly rock-influenced song here and packs a punch. Bill Withers' Use Me & her own composition Feel Up are both buoyant uptempo tracks, the first being a show of defiance with an infectious reggae beat and the second a Caribbean feast with rattling percussion, choral vocals, what appears to be flutes & whistles and a dialogue in French patois between Grace & a male vocal.

The magnificent Art Groupie is the most poetic & literary track with a flowing rhythmic lilt and a synth that resembles the golden age of Human League or Eurythmics. Reggae meets an accordion on the bouncy Libertango, a catchy bilingual track on which Grace speaks and sings elegantly in French and English. The album concludes with the wistful ballad I've Done It Again where an introspective lyric and an understated sound create a delicate gem. The follow-up Living My Life concluded the Sly & Robbie trilogy and therewith the reggae & dub phase of her career.

On her 1986 and 1989 albums - Inside Story & Bulletproof Heart - Ms Jones focused on soulful pop music. Then followed 19 years of silence. It was only in 2008 that Grace worked with Sly & Robbie again, on the challenging and ultimately rewarding Hurricane where Brian Eno and Tricky count amongst the other contributors. In my opinion, Nightclubbing remains Grace's masterpiece, a work that best demonstrates her distinctive styles as vocalist, interpreter and composer via an exceptional set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great introduction to Grace Jone's music, a classic from the first note, get this cd, volume up to 10..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews