Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.39

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2001
With "604" Ladytron have managed to take the best of 80s synth-pop and make it sound fresh and modern. Tunes like "Discotrax" and "The way that I found you" with their thumping beats draw you in from the first time you listen to it, while "I'm with the pilots" and "Jet age" get better and better each time you play them. The lyrics are meaningful enough to avoid cheesiness, and place Ladytron's music in the upbeat alternative genre. However with "Paco!" it is clear that the band don't take themselves to seriously. The album is strong with a few instrumentals but enough excellent tracks to keep you listening all the way through. In ambition, I would say Ladytron are attempting to refresh the 80s sound in a similar way to Dubstar's first album "Disgraceful" (before they went down the toilet), with strong influences from Kraftwerk to the best aspects of The Human League or even New Order. Definitely try it; Ladytron could be the act that saves the British alternative scene from the miserable torpor it has sunk into...
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2001
Derivative in the best sense of the word, this has rarely been out of my stereo since I bought it two months ago. It's a masterpiece of retro that also manages to sound very modern at the same time. Think Stereolab in pop mode. A lot of the songs have been released as singles, to criminal public neglect, but there are no fillers here - the album works as a whole brilliantly. "Disco Traxx" (not a single yet, but it should be) is a high point, and there are many others: "Paco" reinventing "Are You Being Served?", "Ladybird" sounding like Black Box Recorder meets Younger Younger 28s, "This Is Our Sound"'s double vocals, the way "Jet Age" takes off... All priceless. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2001
Ladytron are breathtaking. "604" is all early eighties futurism, deadpan cool and flawless pop sensibility. Songs like "Playgirl", "The Way That I Found You" & "Paco" have the kind of fiendish melodies that burn permanently into memory. If you need to categorise them, file them along with other groovey 80s revivalists Laptop, Zoot Woman & Future Bible Heroes, although I suspect Ladytron may be in a league of thier own.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2001
Ladytron's album could have been made in 1980 if the Human League had a really good day. Many of these bands using old analogue instruments can be a tad experimental, but 604 is full of perfect synth pop tunes that any fan of Pet Shop Boys/New Order et al will warm to immediately. Kraftwerk fans will notice that He Took Her to A Movie rips off The Model in the nicest possible way.
One of the best albums I've bought in a long time. So buy it, take it home put on some quasifuturistic silver clothes and enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
If you have never heard Ladytron before think of a female voiced Kraftwerk for the new millennium and you wont be far off. Having said that they are not just modern copyists and have their own musical and social agenda. Fantastically emotive and hugely catchy songs almost give lie their cynical outlook, like Stereolab although less psychedelic they deserve to be heard by a greater audience and they should be a must buy for anybody like myself who still loves and knows the true quality of VINYL.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2003
I love this album! I bought it about a year ago and sold it quickly after as i was down on money, but i put it on a mini disk so i could still enjoy its full glory.
The whole album has a onderfully retro yet futuristic feel about it, from the avid candid social commentry to the dancefloor chillers you cant beat this album.
Stand out tracks are too many to mention, although i particularly love Discotrax, He Took Her To A Movie and This Is Our Sound.
I first encountered their wonders on a compilation with Paco! on it, fell in love straight away.
addition to any ones collection. Full of wit and electronic wonder. Truly original, truly standout!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
Groundbreaking....is the perfect word to describe the unforgetable debut ablbum by Ladytron. A few months ago I was lucky enouch to see them live as a support act for Franz Ferdinand in one of the Edinburgh festival concerts. When i first saw them i wasen't sure what to think but after I was bought their 604 album my opinion of them completely changed. The band have brought snynth-pop back to life and each song will stay in your head for days. Personal highlights of the album for are the the fun catchy tune "Paco" or the greatest electric record of our time, "playgirl" but each song will inspire you to buy an analogue synth and wont fail to make you dance around the room within a few minutes of the album being played. That may just be my opinion but for anyone who is an openminded music fan like myself, 604 would be money well spent, to end all i can say is,
BUY THIS ALBUM
DISSAPOINTMENT WILL NOT FOLLOW
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2002
In 1979, the world was a different place. After a disasterous
'winter of discontent' during which the whole country seemed
to go on strike, the Tories came to power. Punk rock had
already peaked and people sought something else musically.
Sure, some of the former practioners of punk staggered on,
endlessly disappearing into their own micro-universes of
three-chord monotony. It mattered not. I had seen the new
way and it changed my life.
Gary Numan, Sparks, Ultravox and The Human League blew me
away. I'd never knowingly seen a synthesiser but soon
began to hear them and the sounds they produced. Synth
music entered a musical void and nothing would be the same
again. Twenty-three years on and we're still feeling the
fallout...
604 is a great album by a band who deserve to be huge but
probably won't be. Bands like Ladytron are one-offs and
thank God for them. The songs are tautly-written but with
flair and melodic nous far above your average bedroom synthesist
(myself included!). It's difficult to find a more perfect
modern pop song than Playgirl or The Way That I Found You.
They have a unique sound and very special.
Buy this album. You won't be sorry.
Al Ferrier
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2001
this is for sure going to be one of the best cd's of 2001 ! i do not know where ladytron are coming from but to me its sounds like fantastic japanese pop (pizzicato 5). this cd is a mixture of the cardigans, pizzicato 5, blonde redhead and many more... 16 sweet pop tunes with a little twist that help you make your day a little more brighter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2002
Unlike other bands in the current synth revival Ladytron manage to hold down their own unique style . Thumping drum patterns and synth bass combined with Kraftwerk style melodies and gothic electronic organ make for an infectious album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)