Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 40 Not Out
Ghosts of Download is Blondie's tenth studio album, and is available in two configurations - both feature a disc of re-recorded greatest hits, whilst the deluxe edition also has a live DVD, featuring a concert recorded in 1977. The fact that the new album has been relegated to disc two on both releases (with the greatest hits featuring on disc one) might indicate a lack...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why, oh why, oh why?
Ghost of Download proves that Debbie Harry and Chris Stein still have the ability to write a killer hook with clever, insightful lyrics that say something that's been said countless times before, in a way that's never been said. The production is a little tinny and the album sounds like it was recorded and mixed on a laptop which is a shame: a lot of the tracks sound...
Published 12 days ago by Light


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 40 Not Out, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ghosts of Download is Blondie's tenth studio album, and is available in two configurations - both feature a disc of re-recorded greatest hits, whilst the deluxe edition also has a live DVD, featuring a concert recorded in 1977. The fact that the new album has been relegated to disc two on both releases (with the greatest hits featuring on disc one) might indicate a lack of faith in the new material - as has the fact that Ghosts of Download was originally announced for release at the end of 2013, with several release dates in early 2014 also missed.

This concern is largely misplaced, as Ghosts of Download is a bracing listen with a heavy electronic element and a number of guest performers such as Systema Solar, Miss Guy, Beth Ditto and Los Rakas who all add something new. But this is still very much a Blondie album, and Deborah Harry's unmistakable vocals are very much to the fore.

Stand-out tracks include the rocking "A Rose By Any Name" and "Mile High", whilst the driving beat of "Take It Back" is another highlight. Along the way they also throw in a cover of Frankie Goes To Hollywood's "Relax" for good measure.

An eclectic mix then, but it's never dull and whilst the singles are unlikely to trouble the top end of the charts, there's much to enjoy here.

There's no particular surprises with the new recordings of the greatest hits - they are very efficient xeroxes of the originals. Presumably this has been done so that they can licence these recordings (for advertising, etc) in the future - as like many bands they no longer have control over their back catalogue. Whatever the reason, it's a good CD which highlights the fact that Harry's vocals haven't really changed that much over the last four decades. And whilst they are unlikely to supplant the originals in anyone's affection, unlike some other artist's re-recordings of their greatest hits at least they aren't embarrassing.

Overall then, Blondie 4(0)-Ever is a solid collection of new and old songs that is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Deluxe pack is a must for the fans of Blondie + download bonus tracks not on the CD, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
Brave move from the band to try and reclaim their Greatest Hits by re-recording the tracks with the current band and bundling this release with their new 'Ghosts of Download' album, utilmately the new songs are great and the re-recordings fall just a little short, I dont believe I would opt to listen to any of the re-recordings over their original recordings, but.... the new album is great, so many stand out tracks such as 'Rave', 'Winter', 'Sugar On The Side', 'Take Me In The Night', 'Backroom', 'A Rose By Any Name' and 'I Want To Drag You Around'. Even the cover of the classic Frankie track 'Relax' to which I had some misgivings is carried off. A great collection with a '77 live DVD thrown in!. Plus if you buy from Amazon you get the MP3 download of all the tracks plus the three bonus tracks that are availbale on iTunes, a nice final touch from a fantastic collection, well done Blondie, a real treat......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLONDIE remain unclassifiable, surprising and full of effervescent pop fizz!, 14 May 2014
By 
Joseph Brando (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
Those always unpredictable punksters are at it again. After spending most of their post-1999 career cementing the fact that they are indeed a rock and roll band with pretty much rock and roll albums (complete with their trademark forays into every other genre imaginable), BLONDIE return with a full fledged pop/dance album! Basically spitting on those who view anything less than rock as uncool... And seriously what could be more punk than that?

In one of their most cohesive collections since Parallel Lines, BLONDIE trade in their world tracks, and rock anthems for a fun, catchy, summery collection of songs that not only sound great driving in your car with the windows down but also fit in quite well with their back catalogue. All you "Tide is High/Heart of Glass/Atomic" fans who felt neglected by their previous 3 albums .... This one's especially for you! ... The "redux" versions of the classics? No updates could possibly hold a snowballs' chance in Hawaii against the power, energy and nostalgia that the originals carry - Just think of those as a bonus! Concentrate instead on those new fizzy pop delicacies that BLONDIE are well known for.

Within minutes of listening, I found myself singing and humming these, only till recently, unknown songs. Then craving them! Debbie Harry, who is single handedly changing what it means to be 68 years old, purrs, coos and woos her way through the tracks, sounding as icy cool as ever and proving there's no need to fade away and radiate just because you're well into your 7th decade. She may not have died young, but she certainly stayed pretty and cool and groundbreaking and awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get all 16 songs from Ghosts of Download through autorip!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
It's been frustrating for Blondie fans with the last album 'Panic of Girls' having a deluxe UK edition with 2 bonus songs not on the standard album and a German edition with 2 different bonus songs. In both cases the bonus songs were better than some of the standard tracks on the album!

This time around the question is 'How do you get all 16 songs originally slated for the CD release of Ghosts of Download when the CD only has 13 of them on it?' The answer is the free autorip version of the album available through Amazon. A free version of the full album can be downloaded through Cloud Player into your itunes so you get the bonus tracks for free through your computer. I have never used Cloud Player before but it is really easy!

Well done Blondie for getting out another great album and 5 stars to Amazon for autorip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... not impressed at this being released with a redux greatest hits although have yet to listen to that part ..., 3 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
I have to admit I was not impressed at this being released with a redux greatest hits although have yet to listen to that part of the set the packaging is top knotch.
I bought this purely to own Ghosts of Download, I loved A Rose By Any Name the second I heard it last June and was eager to see what the rest of the album would sound like and I was very pleasantly surprised.
I had bought Curse of Blondie and Panic of Girls on their release dates Curse of Blondie only had only a few songs that stood out to me but still those songs made it a worthwhile purchase in my eyes. Panic of Girls the first 6 tracks I adored the rest I will listen to now and then but not on a regular basis. So with that In mind I was some what wary of spending £15 on this new album which was marked up purely for redux hits and a dvd which in all honesty probably wont watch, however much to my surprise Ghosts of Download was pure gold for content. The second I got home I put it in to play and not once could I find a song I would consider to be filler, all the songs have great pace and were sung wonderfully. Blondie's rendition of Relax was completely gob smacking. This is by far the best Blondie album I have heard In a very long time and I believe it is worth the money just for the album and the presentation for the rest of the items it comes with.
I only hope Blondie keep up the quality of this album in future ones it felt like they had put so much time, care and love into this album. This has made it jnto my top 2 albums of the year so far accompanied by Sophie Ellis-Bextor's Wanderlust.
I cant recommend this album highly enough for any Blondie fan and if you're not a fan yet what better way to get to know Blondie than to get this set with a Greatest Hits? My only low point is that no newer songs were included on the Greatest Hits there were definately some gems on Curse of Blondie and Panic of Girls and it would have made the Greatest Hits look a bit more unique than the other 20 odd released already but thats not a massive issue anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practically perfect!, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Double Album release:

Disc 1 - Pink vinyl, greatest hits. All the songs, except 'The Tide is High', are as strong as the original versions. Contains a DVD of 77 era Blondie at GBGB's which is interesting, demonstrates their lack of strong material at the this juncture though the 'best version' of the band is still 'tight', even at this early stage. Debbie Harry has stage presence, even though the quality of the DVD is average, although I don't think the venue seemed good 'acoustically'. As well as this there is a good early flyer of the band and a pamphlet with nice photos, including Warhol preparing her for a photo shoot.

Disc 1 - Blue vinyl, their latest songs. Whilst the songs are good and I would listen to them again, something of a shock to hear such a different sound. Sorta modern euro disco. I would say there are several potential hits here, not that this matters anymore as this is more of a primer to prove to people they still have what it takes to go see! And they do still have it incidentally. Nice to see a pamphlet with song lyrics as well.

There should be a rule that ALL vinyl packages are like this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why, oh why, oh why?, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
Ghost of Download proves that Debbie Harry and Chris Stein still have the ability to write a killer hook with clever, insightful lyrics that say something that's been said countless times before, in a way that's never been said. The production is a little tinny and the album sounds like it was recorded and mixed on a laptop which is a shame: a lot of the tracks sound like they could be up there with the Blondie classics had they been recorded in a studio with the right producer at the helm. Speaking of Blondie classics, the reason for rerecording their GH is unfathomable: why fix something that isn't broken? They sound like a tribute act on their own record and even if someone who had never heard a Blondie classic heard these first and then the originals, they'd undoubtedly prefer the songs in their original glory. If you're a Blondie fan then Ghosts is a worthy addition to your collection but if you're into their classics - skip it and go for one of numerous GH albums available that contain the original, pristine versions of some of the most quintessential pop songs of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime. Perfect. Genius., 22 July 2014
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
If you think music today is not that good, think again. Blondie 4(0)-Ever will make you refelect on how well Blondie and Debbie Harry have evolved. Blondie proves that good things can come with age.

This is the best album since Eat to the Beat, a little better than Panic of Girls, which is also a great piece. Rave, Mile High, Winter, Take Me In The Night and Put Some Color On You stand among the best songs in the album. Debbie's voice is at its best and the other band members only make the music better.

The Greatest Hits are just as good as the original songs. Call Me and Atomic are breathtaking and Hanging On The Telephone is tremendous.

The DVD is a great addition to the package, something of the past to make the present even stronger..

The booklet, poster and prints are beautiful, great lyrics. The album's cover art is not of this world, it is exquisite.

All in all, this is one of the best creations in music. Blondie will live forever.... BLONDIE4EVER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great albums and DVD, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
First the DVD, recording of a very raw sounding Blondie at the cusp of fame and going global. The sounds from the album are there, but with a bit of larsen (feedback) and Debbie asking a bit more Treble here, and bass there! The Redux - re-recording of their hits. Making them sound better if that is possible! The greatest changes are in the vocals, both lead and backing which are more edgy on some like Hanging on the telephone & One way, or softer and gentler like on Sunday Girl. Call Me has certainly had the greatest change of all with sharper vocals and chorus.
Now for the new one, Ghosts of Download. It's a usual Blondie album with a great mix of songs and genres. Some sound very much made for the clubland, others are more Latino, but for me one of the gems is Winter which is almost a ballad but not quite, and the rework of Relax is incredible, starting very sensual and slow and then accelerating into the full speed dance floor filler.
All in all a great package well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth and still sophisticated (albeit without a real rock-out track), 12 May 2014
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blondie 4(0)-Ever: Greatest Hits Deluxe Redux / Ghosts Of Download (Audio CD)
Whilst this is a box (well, slip-case) set of 3 discs, it is "Ghosts of Download" (plus the 3 extra download tracks) that I am most impressed with. I really wasn't sure when I heard "Rose.." with Beth Ditto as a single a while back, but in the context of this overtly pop-tinged album it works perfectly. This album is generally mid/up-tempo, unlike a large percentage of its predecessor, so is s great Summer release. Whilst the guitars are often on the back-burner they are still there, and that traditional Blondie playfulness is never far away, whether its a club-orientated offering or even the excellent "Winter".

"Panic of Girls" started off incredibly, but after 3 or 4 tracks a lot of the opening energy made way for slow, and sometimes ill-advised, reggae based material. Whilst the band and Debbie do this well, it was just a bit too much for me, and I tended to lose interest half way through. Whilst I would love there to have a been at least one rock-out track on "Ghosts" (like "Golden Rod") the vast majority of this material is really strong, and overall the album probably works better as a whole as a result.

There are some stand-out tracks, including "Sugar on the side", "Rave", "Winter", "I Want to Drag You Around", "Take Me In The Night" and the surprisingly successful retake of FGTH's "Relax".

Perhaps the best surprise is the 3 MP3-only tracks (they are on the Auto-Rip version), as these are not filler material but could easily have been included on the album. To be honest "Prism" is a much stronger closing track than "Backroom", whilst "Can't Stop Wanting" is great, raunchy, bubble-gum eletro-pop (Blondie style ofcourse, hence the humour is always there).

The 3-disc set comes with booklet (very nice) with lyrics and lots of photos/artwork, divided between the 2 discs, and a fold-out retro mini-poster. However for some reason the label have decided not to include any Chris Stein photos as 'prints', but to reproduce them as a montage on the back of the poster. I'm not sure how they could have squeezed 4 or 5 small postcards into the slipcase, to be honest, but the sticker on the box should've definitely been removed/corrected once this decision had been made at the manufacturers! Still great to have some new material that hits the mark, as well as several nods to their past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews