Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art history for the discerning reader.
A very illuminating work on the history of the self portrait, with some unexpected information about the origins of the genre.
A well written and scholarly book, with some beautiful illustrations.Altogether well worth reading and keeping for future reference.
Published 8 months ago by Marion Bevan

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating
If reference was made to where each illustration is, this book would be much less frustrating to read. There is no list of illustrations either so you can hunt and hunt before discovering the art work you're reading about isn't illuatrated in the book. I also find the speculation annoying. If we have no way of knowing what an artist 'must have seen', better not mention...
Published 8 months ago by heather s


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art history for the discerning reader., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very illuminating work on the history of the self portrait, with some unexpected information about the origins of the genre.
A well written and scholarly book, with some beautiful illustrations.Altogether well worth reading and keeping for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If reference was made to where each illustration is, this book would be much less frustrating to read. There is no list of illustrations either so you can hunt and hunt before discovering the art work you're reading about isn't illuatrated in the book. I also find the speculation annoying. If we have no way of knowing what an artist 'must have seen', better not mention it?

All this is a great shame because there fascinating information here and a great deal to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Self-Portraits in the context of their time, 7 July 2014
By 
Ralph Blumenau (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an interesting history of the Self-Portrait, which covers not only paintings, etchings and drawing, but also sculpture and pottery (Gauguin made a number of self-portraits in pottery.) It is a scholarly book with a great deal on the literary sources which have inspired (or may have inspired) the work of self-portraitists, and sometimes we have very long passages about such background and about aspects of the lives of the artists before we get to the discussion of actual self-portraits. The interpretations of the latter are always interesting, even when they sometimes struck me as personal and possibly far-fetched on occasions. The last chapter, on Modern and Contemporary Self-Portraits shows (in my opinion, for Hall does not make any value judgments) just how gimmicky, pretentious and plain rubbishy a lot of contemporary art is.

Finding self-portraits fascinating, I enjoyed the book, though I found Laura Cummins’ “A Face to the World” more rewarding - see my Amazon review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent study, 20 July 2014
By 
Self-portraiture as culture - terrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My partner loved this boo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I returned it as I had hoped for more illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews