Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This journey will need time
Why do people always rush to brandish a new album as a masterpiece, surely they've learned by now that the best albums are the ones that take time to explore and months later you're still hearing new things. This album I suspect will be much the same.

I'm a long term fan of Anathema, musically I've grown in parallel with this band. I love their music and I love...
Published 10 months ago by Adimus

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They've Done Better
I agree with Martyn Hewitt's review. This album starts out as a good continuation from their previous album Weather Systems. Unfortunately the last four or five tracks dissolve into a huge disappointment. Anathema has developed a style to take you on a journey so well executed on Weather Systems, We're Here Because We're Here and others. The haunting vocals of Lee Douglas...
Published 9 months ago by Malcolm Robertson


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A good follow up to Weather Systems!, 3 July 2014
By 
James Lewan "Aztekblue" (Oxnard, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Maybe a fraction not as good as Weather Systems, but all around great. Especially the title track. I would recommend to all their fans; a definite required addition. Also I love the book format, keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle stuff but good music and a depth of mood in all the ..., 1 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Gentle stuff but good music and a depth of mood in all the tracks.
Sometimes a bit too much orchestra for my taste but it is what I expect from Anathema and I enjoyed the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album/band but the dvd is just the same but ..., 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Just found this band through a classic rock review. Awesome album/band but the dvd is just the same but in high quality sound, no actual video of the band to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not as good musical quality as Weather Systems, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
In my opinion, not as good musical quality as Weather Systems, there is no outstanding song. It is all right, but I had waited a little bit more perhaps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you wont be disappointed., 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Anathema always produce such luscious silky albums this is no exception, a must by if your fan, if not give it a listen, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered - an absolute gem, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
avalon111 (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Could they do it?

That was the question. After We're Here Because We're Here, after Weather Systems and after the triumph that is Universal...could they deliver?

Oh god. Yes.

I got hold of the deluxe CD edition, with the normal CD, 5.1 DTS (which plays through the BluRay player) and a 'making of' DVD. Not having a 5.1 system I sat down with the next best alternative; decent headphones through a hi-fi setup.

I'd noticed in pre-release reviews that no two reviewers could agree on their favorite track, which is always promising.

The key bit. Are the songs 'catchy'? That's one of the joys of Anathema music. Working class kids now grown-up who didn't hail that far from the two worlds greatest song smiths in history. Writing a melody seems to come naturally to Anathema. Must be something in the water. And boy, does Distant Satellites deliver. Some write it might take a few plays to catch-on, but stuff that; there are huge melodies that imprint themselves on the first listen.

'The Lost Song part 1' sets the scene perfectly, unleashing Vincent in all his glory. It's a powerful track, a show-opener as good as 'Untouchable, Part 1'.

But 'The Lost Song part 2' is just crystal magic. And instantly you can hear the confidence in Lee Douglas' voice - the knowledge that she really deserves the recognition she has finally gained (and the awards). If that song doesn't bring a tear to your eyes, you should probably best to check you are human.

And with those first two tracks we are off-and-running, and I was grinning throughout my first listen, knowing that Anathema had done it. Delivered.

From then on you are bathed in the beauty and sheer passion of this music. 'Dusk' takes us to what will be another jaw-dropping anthem, whilst 'Ariel' again unleashes Lee (who must just love having songs written for her that suit so perfectly) and what must be the most heart-wrenching riff from Daniel which I can't get out of my head.

TLS pt3 was already known to me and it goes suitably stratospheric at the perfect moment. 'Anathema' encompasses everything that is Anathema - quiet, soft, melody, intense power and emotion.

There's might have been a risk of the album just becoming too 'epic-heavy', with the danger that Anathema would horribly morph into a sort of British 'Trans-Siberian Orchestra' and it is at that point that the band reveals its willingness to extend its boundaries.

'You're Not Alone' introduces rhythm and adds a bit of 'dirt' when it is needed. It's the weakest track where there are no other weak tracks. But even then its placement on the track-listing is perfect - making a clean break to make it clear that the previous two-thirds of the album are distinct from the final third.

Keyboards and electronics dominate the music in that last third and John Douglas contributes what might just be the equal best track on the album with the title song. I can't attribute a 'best track' - out of nine (skipping 'Firelight') - five are instant favorites.

Anathema though is the sum of its parts - Daniel Cordoso, who isn't yet completely integrated into the studio setup, nonetheless contributes fantastic acoustic drumming (and I presume John had to be confident in handing over the role) whilst Jamie, often-overlooked Jamie, puts in a startling shift with his best bass ever on an Anathema studio album (he's already well-proven live).

A key feature is that the orchestration isn't (sometimes) too intrusive, ensuring less reliance on backing tracks when played live. The temptation to tour with a substantial string section is best to avoid; plenty of bands have come unstuck trying that over decades.

Unlike the previous two studio albums, Distant Satellites doesn't drift away into 'fluffy' songs near the end. 'Distant Satellites' (the song) has such a fantastic dance groove to it that is going to introduce a completely new audience to Anathema, and 'Take Shelter' has such a majestic finale that you stay focused right to the end as the band takes flight. John L would have been a fan of Anathema, and Macca should own a copy of this release.

Favorites? The Lost Song part 2, Ariel, Anathema, Distant Satellites, Take Shelter.

Better than WHBWH and WS? Yes. And finally, better than Judgement, my long-time favorite Anathema album.

Finally. Just a note about the packaging. In a world where many artists moan about illegal downloading stripping away their earnings, Kscope and Anathema have confronted the problem in the best way possible; sell a package that is so desirable that thieving the music through a download or even buying the MP3 is just daft. When music is this good, you really want something to own and possess.

___________________________________

Three months on.

And I still play this album, once-or-twice a week. The Manics 'Futurology' only managed three spins. Tim Bowness' 'Abandoned Dance Hall Dreams' - touted as the 2014 album-of-the-year was played for just a few weeks. My wife purchased a vinyl copy of Distant Satellites, which sounds even better than the CD, though I don't have a 5.1 setup to try out that disk. So once again I have multiple purchased copies of Anathema releases, and absolutely don't mind spending the money on them!

Easily the best album of 2014. And Ariel and The Lost Song pt 2 managed to give progressive rock anthems for the 21st century that leave anyone who listen to them for the first time just gob-smacked with their quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of 2014's albums of the year!, 20 July 2014
By 
Hodge (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
What an incredible album this is. It has hardly been off my PC, stereo and phone since I bought it, interspersed with Weather Systems, the previous Anathema cd, to which this is a worthy successor. It is perhaps a little less guitar driven than Weather Systems, but there are a number of tracks which continue where its wonderful predecessor left off and give it a familiar feel. And there is also an exciting move into some electronic soundscapes which finish the album off with an evocative and ethereal feel.

The three parts of the Lost Song make up the bulk of the album, over 15 minutes of brilliance between them. Not quite the impact of the Untouchable tracks from Weather Systems, but similar in feel and full of meaning and atmosphere. All three are excellent. Part 1 just builds and builds and builds around a simple and lovely melody until it reaches a crescendo and then fades into part 2 which introduces the melody again using piano and leads into a beautiful and haunting vocal from Lee Douglas. Absolutely gorgeous song!

Dusk (Dark is Descending) follows. A powerful, insistent song driven along by drum and bass and Vincent's increasingly strident and emotional vocals. Finishes with a crunching guitar chord and then the simple melody of Ariel emerges, perhaps my favourite track.

'I found you in the dark ....' Lee sings. 'Don't leave me staring at the sun, love so strong it hurts ....'

The song is truly addictive as it weaves its way around the melody and the lyrics, building to a peak where the guitar takes over the theme. Pretty soon you find yourself humming 'love so strong it hurts ....' while you are buttering your toast in the morning!

Lost Song part 3 follows and it is yet another piece of brilliance. An almost jazzy start and a mournful vocal by Vincent is then taken up by Lee. No chorus here. Just driving guitar chords and the ultimate finish in mid-air you always knew was going to come. Superb.

Anathema is another slow burner of a track but once it gets going it is great! Great space and timing in this one, with drums echoing around like distant thunder until at 4 minutes in the guitars start to take up the theme and become a wall of solo's.

OK, even I admit that You're Not Alone is a big mistake by the band. Not only is a very poor track it effectively breaks the spell that the album has created up until now. But it is easy to delete from the computer! I can forgive them.

Firelight is beautiful. Just a sombre piece of organ sounding synth that acts as an intro as it fugues into Distant Satellites. Opinions seem to polarise over the closing tracks of the album but I find them fascinating and haunting. Satellites is a sort of stripped down chillout with simple piano motif over a New Orderish drum rhythm and synth. The vocals by Vincent (I presume) are incredible and the track easily reaches its 8 minutes with you wanting more. Super track.

Luckily you do get more with the captivating Take Shelter. This starts with a quiet male vocal and a beautiful refrain, 'lost myself in you, found myself in truth, lost ourselves along the way ....' This keeps repeating and repeating as the song builds, underpinned by a repetitive drum machine and synth, lounder and louder and with that lovely vocal echoing to a finale.

Despite the duff track this still gets 5 stars from me. Heck, I'd give it 10 if I could! Love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking progressive-ness., 9 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
I have been an avid follower of Anathema's productions for quite a while now. I have a few of they're albums, and this is just another exemplorary addition to those past achievements. For what it's worth, I highly enjoyed "Weather systems" and this is a perfectly natural successor to that album. From a progression of doom metal on they're earliest efforts to what we have now is obviously a big transition, but I think where they have arrived at now on "Distant Satalites" is likely the most comprehensive progressive album from them yet.

There is mellow - beautiful melodies; superb front and backing vocals, and a subtle production. One of my favourite songs on the album is probably 'Dusk', as the track soars to then dip in the middle, which is lovely. So this music can probably be best described as a subtle and melodic brand of progressive music that has a focus on atmosphere, effect and the colours & shades of light and dark. I certainly found this album most refreshing and telling in character, it also has a deep personality to it that I thoroughly enjoyed; and so for that reason I think it worthy of the maximum five stars to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good new album, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Good new album, bit repetitive at times and it take a while to get into it, not as good as the last one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, well worth buying., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Satellites (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, become one of my favourites very quickly. Lovely sound, I only wish it was longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Distant Satellites
Distant Satellites by Anathema (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews