Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back With A Bang
Kelis is in very fine form on her sixth album 'Food'. Her
colaboration with producer and co-writer Dave Sitek on new
label Ninja Tunes has resulted, at least to my hairy ears,
in the most coherent and consistent recording of her career
so-far. The sound is richer; the arrangements deft and her
husky soulful voice has never sounded more at home...
Published 6 months ago by The Wolf

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cd
Not the best cd by Kelis sadly :( there's only song that I can rate 5 stars 'Jerk Ribs', the rest of the album i can only rate 1-4 stars. Also this has a card case which i find don't last long. I wouldn't really recommenced this cd sadly but thats only my opinion others my think differently, which i have no problem with. :)
Published 5 months ago by Rackel C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back With A Bang, 23 April 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
Kelis is in very fine form on her sixth album 'Food'. Her
colaboration with producer and co-writer Dave Sitek on new
label Ninja Tunes has resulted, at least to my hairy ears,
in the most coherent and consistent recording of her career
so-far. The sound is richer; the arrangements deft and her
husky soulful voice has never sounded more at home. There are
thirteen numbers in the set and not a bad egg in the nest.

Mr Sitek's deployment of horns adds a satisfying warmth and
density and can be heard at their best on tracks such as the
gospel-tinged opener 'Breakfeast'; the funkily loping 'Jerk Ribs'
and the slinky R & B of 'Hooch' which is further augmented with
some nice jangly guitar and breathy backing vocals. Ms Rogers'
delightful take on Labi Siffre's 1971 composition 'Bless The
Telephone' is a more stripped-down affair which, together with
the captivating 'Floyd', contributes welcome dynamic variation
to the mix but for my money the raucous bluesy stomp of 'Rumble'
delivers what is probably the project's most uplifting moment.

One of the strongest and most engaging releases this year.
A tasty treat destined for my 2014 Summer soundtrack.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelis cooks up a smorgasbord of tasty tunes., 5 May 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
On her sixth album “Food,” Kelis pleases our music-buds with some tasty tunes served on a R&B platter, the 13 dishes served with some Afro-beat, funk, gospel and Memphis soul flavors, with a sprinkling of jazzy horns and a dollop of electro-pop. Her husky, weathered voice is well-suited with this material. Kelis's four year old son Knight Jones opens the album with the lines: "Hey guys! Are you hungry? My mom made food!" Here’s what’s on the menu:

First dish served is “Breakfast,” a gospel-ish track filled with bass, horns and whistles. Next on the menu is “Jerk Ribs.” This funky track has a real ‘60s/70s soul-vibe, and as she sings “This is what it looks like” the horns provide the necessary big band feel. The soulful piano-ballad “Forever Be” with a sprinkling of synth, is the straightest pop-song on the album, another track infused with bass, horns and strings. This is followed by the slow jam of the seductive blues-ballad “Floyd” as she sings: “I want to be blown away, Blow me away.”

Kelis turns up the heat with the sultry, mid-tempo ballad “Runnin’.” Next song, and probably the funkiest track on this album, is the horn-filled funk anthem "Hooch," one that is perfectly suited to Kelis’s husky voice. This is followed by the up-tempo “Cobbler,” another funky, dance-floor ready track with a strong James Brown-vibe (great song, although I disliked the high notes near the end). There is also one cover on this album, an acoustic version of Labi Siffre’s 1971 song “Bless The Telephone,” a duet with Sal Masekela that has a folksy, almost Simon and Garfunkel-ish vibe.

She goes for sexy and sultry again with the funky “Fish Fry” as she begs “Give me what I want, Give me what I need,” pines for "That tall drink of water I notice in the corner" and sings: “I need ice cold water” (love the bar-room call-and-response “She needs ice cold water” part in this track). Next up is the powerful, funky Afro beat of “Change,” which starts slow but builds towards an emotional power-house vocal performance, followed by the soulful “Rumble” and the gospel-ish, piano-driven ballad “Biscuits ‘n’ Gravy.” The slow, string-laced ballad “Dreamer” closes the album.

Kelis reinvents herself time and again. Each new album is different from the preceding one, just like “Food,” which is a huge departure from 2010's electronic dance album "Flesh Tone." So if you’re looking for the same type of electro-pop, it might not be to your musical taste. But that said, this album is a very palatable dish, hence the five “Michelin” stars for the “Food” that gourmet chef Kelis has served. Gotten hungry? Order “Food!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy in the tummy, 23 April 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
Music and food seem to go hand-in-hand for Kelis through various projects. Following the release of "Tasty" (2003) and its massive hit single "Milkshake", Kelis graduated as a saucier, hosted her own cookery show, previewed a sauce line as well as a clothing line, and has been working on a recipe book for some time. In contrast to previous album, the electro-dance "Flesh tone", new album "Food" is filled with funky grooves and bluesy melodies, built around blasts of brass and soundtrack-like orchestral moments.

Food as a concept takes on so many meanings, but as a theme it is better described through "consumption". Kelis, rather than be political or existential, focuses on how humans consume the world around them through memories, experiences and lifestyles. This new album was reportedly written with influences from the records her parents played while growing up. Obviously, she understands that a meal provides more than sustenance for the body, this is so much more than a gastronomic concept album.

Here she is at her most homely and reflective. One could argue that "Food" is a cleverly disguised break-up record. Her divorce with rapper Nas provides lyric material which Kelis addresses with strength and maturity. Her vocal delivery is flawless; her husky, soulful voice demands full attention from the listener. Big bouncey beats, deep throbbing bass, crunchy guitar riffs, pulsating hip-hop grooves, snappy drums, dramatic strings, bright horns, hints of gospel, elements of folk; "Food" is a jazzy-tingled, soul-fueled, R'n'B-flavoured 13-course delectable feast of deliciousness.

Although Kelis has yet to receive the acclaim she deserves, with this new set of songs she gives another dynamic to her already multi-faceted portfolio. In a time when her former collaborator Pharell is enjoying global success with the brand they introduced on her first albums, Kelis is confident enough to dig into her genre. "I know I don't look it but I can cook", she croons, and based on this banquet, she really can. In the past, she took pride in her milkshake that brought all the boys to the yard; she can now expect a whole lot of customers to relish her food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Her best album., 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food (MP3 Download)
Her best album so far. Her vocals never sounded better and the production is excellent. loving the horns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, sassy & soulful, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
Smart, sassy & soulful! Kellis' gravelly tones bump & grind their way through the tracks that any 70's soul diva woulda been proud of. One of my album's of the year so far. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelis - Food, 29 April 2014
By 
Mario Velicky "mario1211978" (Trnava, Slowakei) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
Im not a album fan. I mean I do not always buy a album. Kelis Food was really a good try. I love Kelis. Im not able to do so great review like already made in this reviews, but the album has good strong songs, I think Kelis voice changes with her age...you can hear it in her music and she has strength and give it in her songs. I can always be thankful for that. This album gives me music for good mood, for cooking and for a good friend conversation as backup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelis album., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
Great album and instantly available once you've hit the buy button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
Another great album by Kelis. Nuff said!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different form what was expected but not disappointed, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food (MP3 Download)
Love this!! This album has a great sound, I'd forgotten what a fantastic voice kelis has, found myself humming the songs around the house after only listening to it once, so put it on again! Nothing like the pervious albums I have of hers, eg. Kaleidoscope and Tasty, this is my new chillin album for the summer I think! I've also downloaded 3 free artist lounge tracks from this on Amazon mp3!! Paid £3:99 in total, will be recommending : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely cd delivered on time, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Food (Audio CD)
lovely cd delivered on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Food
Food by Kelis
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews