Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality music as expected from Miranda
Miranda has the ideal voice for country music, and there's more of a country feel to this album than some of her earlier albums. I particularly like All that's left (featuring the Time Jumpers), perhaps because it's the most obviously country track here - and it's a great fun song too.

Miranda does seem to like using expletives, although she avoids the really...
Published 5 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but with flashes of magic!
I have 4 other Miranda Lambert albums and I have to say this is the most disappointing. After the wonderful promise of the great single "Automatic" the rest of the album doesn't stack up. One track with her friend Carrie Underwood is pretty good, however, it's more like 80's hair metal than Country Rock. There's a couple of average Ragtime blues tracks on there...
Published 4 months ago by D. L. Potts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality music as expected from Miranda, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
Miranda has the ideal voice for country music, and there's more of a country feel to this album than some of her earlier albums. I particularly like All that's left (featuring the Time Jumpers), perhaps because it's the most obviously country track here - and it's a great fun song too.

Miranda does seem to like using expletives, although she avoids the really bad one. You can see from the track listing what she uses; my review might not be posted if I repeat them :-) One expletive is used a lot on the track before All that's left, reflecting on a lot of old things that Miranda enjoys, including Black and Decker tools. I wonder if Black and Decker (who I worked for twice, each spell being a six-month temporary assignment) will feel flattered or insulted. I hope flattered; they still exist albeit as part of a larger entity called Stanley Black and Decker.

There are many other great songs here, including Smokin' and Drinkin' ([featuring. Little Big Town]), Hard staying sober, Another Sunday in the South and Gravity is a ....

This may be Miranda Lambert's best solo album yet, although I haven't heard Kerosene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's back!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Matthew Channell "Badgerking" (Poole, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
The first lady of Texas honky-tonk country music is back with a great record of tracks that demonstrate her fantastic voice, her sense of humour and her knack of choosing excellent supporting musicians and collaborators. Platinum has hit after hit from the Salon soul of the title track to the pure sass of Little Red Wagon. If you like Country that makes you tap your foot rather than cry into your beer than Miranda is for you. Yeee Haaaaa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined for Platinum (Overall review and track-by-track), 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
Miranda slays again with her 5th studio album, "Platinum", after a looong three year wait since her 4th album, "Four the Record". "Platinum" is Miranda's most sonically ambitious album yet, exploring different musical realms while still maintaining her strong country roots. The album embodies many emotions and by extension holds a song for everyone. "Platinum" is commercial, yes, but something about it beckons that it is far from ordinary. What makes "Platinum" particularly special is Miranda's ability to combine dark wit with some truly evocative lyrics. There's clever humour ("Gravity is a Bitch"), attitude ("Little Red Wagon") and nostalgia ("Automatic"). "Platinum" embodies everything you would expect a country album too, and much, much more. :)

My favourite songs and the stand out songs of the album:

"Platinum". The title track is possibly the most pop sounding song ever released by Lambert, even though it is still undeniably country. It's light-hearted, feminine and fun, also combining Miranda's trademark humour with kick of sass. Although "Platinum" is not just about selling loads of records (which she has).In a recent interview Miranda stated "I don't want to sound pretentious. It's about platinum records, but also the color of an Airstream, and the color of my hair".
Favourite lyric: "What doesn't kill you, only makes you blonder"

"Little Red Wagon" is the classic Miranda stomper on the album, and one of her most musically ambitious songs to date. Fuelled by attitude, wit and a raging guitar, "Little Red Wagon" is indisputably Miranda, even if it is a cover. The song almost produces a classic rock feel, while still resting in contemporary country.
Favourite lyric:"And you're just trying to slow this rolling stone/But I'm on to you, babe"

One of my personal favourites on "Platinum" is track five, "Priscilla". While it was not directly written by Miranda, it was written by her close friends, Nicolle Galyon and Natalie Hemby. They have witnessed her and her husband, Blake Shelton's constant scrutiny by the media. "Priscilla" is clearly written from Miranda's view point, about how she and her country superstar husband deal with all the attention. The song draws connections from the couple's lives to that of Elvis and Priscilla Presley's. However, "Priscilla" is less of a comparison and more of a show of empathy on Priscilla Presley's part. It's upbeat, yes, but also real and open.
Favourite lyric: "How do you or don't you get the love you want when everybody wants your man?"

"Bathroom Sink" is the only song entirely self penned by Miranda on "Platinum". It's a soaring song about self worth while being sure to leave out the cheese factor. Starting off moody and slow, "Bathroom Sink" talks about the very un-glamours process of getting made-up, then eventually erupting into a explosion of frustration, which works very well with the lyrics. The music and not-an-exact-rhyme lyrics come together perfectly to create this dark, painfully honest song.
Favourite lyric: "I'm looking forward to the girl I wanna be/But regret has got a way of staring me right in the face/So I try not to waste/Too much time at the bathroom sink"

Track 10 is the humorously titled "Gravity Is a Bitch" about the misery of getting old. It's another simple song however "Gravity Is a Bitch" moves slightly away from the country side and venturing in to a almost jazz/blues club area. It's a very interesting take for Miranda, who has scarcely looked into this territory. The song is darkly humours which seems to be the only thing in it that is classically Miranda, which is not necessarily a bad thing here, though.
Favourite lyric:"You can nip and tuck and squeeze it/But you're never gonna beat it/'Cause gravity is a bitch"

"Holding on to You" is a beautiful, swirling, love song. This song is some of Miranda's finest work lyrically, musically and vocally. It's understated, sweet and sultry. "Holding on to You" exudes a old timey feel, not in the way "Old S***" and "All That's Left Does" but in a way that is reminiscent of rock 'n' roll.
Favourite lyric:"I've seen a newborn child put stars in her mama's eyes and I prayed to the man in the moon/I got drunk with The Highwaymen, felt the burn of the desert wind/Seen some promising 'I do's'/Ain't no moment like when I'm holding on to you"

Another musically ambitious track, "Two Rings Shy" leads with a circus themed ambience. In a recent interview, Miranda claimed to have recorded sounds from a real circus and then added them to the track. It's a fun, interesting song but one that also holds a rich message.
Favourite lyric:"The main attraction's leaving, let the side show pay the rent/Take this diamond back and you'll be two rings shy of the big top tent"

"Hard Staying Sober" is a simple- yet still dynamic- track. It is reminiscent of Miranda's previous albums, particularly "Kerosene", all the while reaming current and fits nicely on "Platinum". The song starts off with Miranda's sweet vocals sitting on top of a twangy guitar. The lyrics are simple but pack a real punch especially when combined with the music and Miranda's voice. Midway through the break up song, you think it has come to an end, however, after a few seconds of silence Miranda breaks in with heart-wrenching passion and lyrics. I defiantly think this is the underdog of the album, but one of the highlights, also.
Favourite lyric: "It's hard to quit this smoking, when my will to fight is broken/It's hard to quit a habit in the rush/Hits me in the morning, just like you I'm looking for them/Can't seem to put down this pick-me-up"

Overall "Platinum" is a wonderful album and I would recommend to anyone, particularly lovers of country music and rock 'n' roll. :) Super awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Girl - country sounds, 5 Jun 2014
By 
roger's reviews "Rog" (Tamworth, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (MP3 Download)
This latest from Miranda Lambert gives great, simple, genuine, sometimes BAD! (as in naughty!) country words and music. This is my first of Miranda's albums, and I reckon its what country music SHOULD sound like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
Yet again Miranda comes out with something fresh and new but still real country. There is not a forgettable track on this album, I particularly love Little Red Wagon, Babies Makin' Babies, Two Rings Shy and the Shanondoah 'tribute' Sunday in The South.

One of my favourite country albums of the past 5 years.

Any fan of Miranda's Lamberts voice will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not as brilliant as I've come to expect., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
Okay, lets be honest. Miranda Lambert could just sing the contents of a phone book, and it would be 90% better than what most singers come up with these days, but I can't help feeling slightly disappointed with her latest album.
Nothing seemed to hook me from the first listen, which is unusual for her if I'm honest.

Saying that though, it's a solid collection of songs that are just as humorous as we've all come to expect from ML, and her songwriting seems as good as always, but IMO there's just something missing, that I can't put my finger on.
Definitely her weakest offering yet, but 5 albums in, she isn't doing too badly.

Ironically, considering the album title, this is her first album not to reach Platinum status in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation!, 3 Jun 2014
By 
M. Grove "mark5211" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
I'm a fan of rock music but over the past year I've been listening to artists like Eric Church, Florida Georgia Line, Lindi Ortega, The Tennessee Three, Tim McGraw and Kacey Musgraves and slowly but surely getting into this genre of music,
The only artist I've been 'struggling' with was Miranda Lambert, although I liked her last CD's and her version of 'Wrote a song for everyone' on John Fogertys latest CD, I didn't think her previous stuff contained any knock-out tracks, but what a surprise when I played Platinum for the first time last night, compared with her last CD's this is a revelation, totally professional and an extremely listenable experience.
I can't list all the good tracks on this CD because everyone is excellent, The CD is quite Poppy/Rocky/Country in moments and is a lot more lively that someone like Kacey Musgraves latest CD, The album strays into a more country/vintage sound near the middle for a two or three of tracks but then reverts back to a soft rock country sound again for the final 6 or 7 tracks.
I think this CD could be the breakthrough album for Miranda in the UK and maybe with a tour she could gain some popularity over here as it is well deserved with this latest effort.
Girls, Platinum Smokin' and Drinkin and Automatic are excellent and that's only the first six tracks, from track 8 (Old ****) its country all the way until track 13 (Holding on to you) when the pace slows down with a couple of classic ballads a bit more country and some pop, the album stays strong to the end with no duff tracks, Give this CD a listen too as you won't regret buying this one its great and sure to get many more 5* reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can do better, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
I have loved all Miranda Lambert's albums to date both solo and with the Pistol Annies. (A music collection is not complete without 'Four the Record' which is a masterpiece.) However, 'Platinum' is disappointing because the quality of tracks is so uneven. You get 16 tracks but will rapidly realise that this would be a better album if tracks 3, 8, 9, 10, and 14 had simply been omitted because either the songs or the arrangements just don't belong here. Best tracks are 'Automatic' 'Bathroom Sink' and 'Holding On to You'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality top to bottom, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Neil Gibbs (Cardiff, South Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
Her best yet ! This is a long record but the quality control is so high it flys by when you listen to it.It has quality ballads and excellent up tempo tracks complemented by excellent guitar breaks.Even better is mid album set of songs that showcase Miranda's country roots and further enhance her standing as a benchmark of contemporary country music !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This I one of the best country music albums I've bought for a long time, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Platinum (Audio CD)
This I one of the best country music albums I've bought for a long time. Almost every track is a cracker, and you cant say that about most CDs. Each track seems to be a different style, and whoever did the arrangements for this album, deserves plaudits.
Buy this one, and enjoy. Modern country at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Platinum
Platinum by Miranda Lambert
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews