Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A midlife crisis on the move
This is a thoughtful and thought-provoking exploration of the soul. It's much more like a stage-play than a feature film, and definitely won't be to everyone's tastes.
'Locke' showcases Tom Hardy's astonishing acting talent as he appears solo on screen for over an hour. It's a very ordinary story, in many ways, or an ordinary person who makes one of those...
Published 5 months ago by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU DON'T TRUST GOD WHEN IT COMES TO CONCRETE
The entire film takes place in a car. Not just bits and pieces, the whole thing. Locke (Tom Hardy) is driving to London to see the birth of his child by a one night stand. It will take him about 90 minutes, and like a Hemingway novel, it is done in real time. Ivan spends almost the entire trip on the phone and when he is not on the phone he talks to his deceased...
Published 11 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A midlife crisis on the move, 13 Jan. 2015
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Locke [DVD] (DVD)
This is a thoughtful and thought-provoking exploration of the soul. It's much more like a stage-play than a feature film, and definitely won't be to everyone's tastes.
'Locke' showcases Tom Hardy's astonishing acting talent as he appears solo on screen for over an hour. It's a very ordinary story, in many ways, or an ordinary person who makes one of those life-choices which have important consequences. But it's also a very small story, with a tiny plot, and a claustrophobic feel to it. Very definitely art-house, not multiplex.
Some of the photography of the car in motion on the motorway is utterly gorgeous. But the whole film has a curiously muffled tone to it - as if we're distanced from the protagonist. We don't share the same space as him but are often separated by the windscreen or window, and occasionally it feels as if we're viewing everything at an angle.

This is a remarkable movie, one which touches on domestic issues that will be common to millions. Having said that, it's not exactly enjoyable. Admirable, maybe, but hardly a lightweight piece of entertainment.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Project of Life., 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Locke (Amazon Instant Video)
I really enjoyed this film. It didn't take long to engage with the character of Locke because Tom Hardy was fantastic in the role. Everything from his welsh accent to his physical movements were brilliantly executed given that he spends the whole film driving from Wales to London while his world comes crashing down around him. I could really empathise with Locke and found myself worrying that he would come to some harm. The claustrophobic space of the car together with the applied pressure from the incessant phone calls really added to the sense of urgency and the unfolding of his project managed life and work. This film will make you think about why people live the way they do and how sometimes lives are dictated by careful management in a desperate attempt to erase the past or to always do the right thing. I thought that it could have been called `Something Concrete' because there are so many parallels between the mortar and life, get it wrong and everything crumbles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling - but don't call it a "thriller"., 10 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Locke [DVD] (DVD)
It's wrong to call it a thriller, hence all the poor reviews from disappointed people who expected blood, guts, guns and fast action.
For me this is one of the best films ever. If you have any interest in family life, belief in principles, job dedication, and yet also in how we are prey to a mistake, this film is for you. Don't expect a cast of thousands, do expect a superb principal actor and a fascinating interaction between him and the rest of the characters whom we only hear yet never see.
If at the end of it you reflect on the nature of human frailty, and the difficulty of having enough compassion to be able to forgive, and somehow between the two things still striving to do the right thing; AND not wanting an ending with everything done and dusted - then this is your film. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Civil engineer drives down M1., 23 May 2014
By 
R. J. Farrer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Locke [DVD] (DVD)
And it all happens at night...
Doesn't sound that interesting as a "pitch" to the producer but this gripping film works very well because of excellent acting from Tom Hardy and a believable script.
Locke's work and domestic life unravels as he drives south to be at the birth of his child from a brief affair. We share his tension and come to recognise that he is trying to 'do that right thing' at great cost to himself and family.
A most original and dramatic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glorious, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Locke [DVD] (DVD)
this is brilliant, similar in style to the ryan reynolds film buried, this all takes place in one location , a car. That will never sound like a great premise i know but this is brilliant and hardy flexes his acting over his muscles here and does a brilliant job. Hardy plays locke whose desire to be a better man than his father means that his world is about to collapse, brilliant and tense, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'IVAN' CANNOT BE IN THREE PLACES AT THE SAME TIME', 26 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Locke [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My decision to buy this one had much to do with 'Tom Hardy' rather than anything either heard or
indeed read, he's surely one of todays leading-lights as an actor.
'Ivan Locke' has a seemingly idyllic life both at home and at work, the climax of his career should
take place in the morning, however a phone call received turns his world upside down, he just has
to respond.
He's on the way to be with 'Beth' who he'd had a one-night stand with, she's about to give birth to
his child.
He really should be at home watching the match, and be in work early the following morning to
receive delivery of a massive consignment of concrete for the construction of what he considers
his project, however he's on the way to London.
He has to try and explain things to his wife and his work colleagues , his decisions could cost him
everything.
He is upsetting and concerning many people as he answers call after call on the road, his life is
beginning to unravel whilst driving.
Just when it can't get any worse, it does, over and over again.
There are many possible outcomes to the several different issues he's trying to deal with on the
road to London.
This is a very different style of movie, not sure i've ever seen it's equivalent down the years....this
is primarily a one-man show, plenty of different voices on the other end of the phone however.
The film is pretty compelling viewing, an intense journey indeed.
Certainly worth viewing.
Special Features -
* Commentary with writer/director - 'Steven Knight'
* The making of Locke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU DON'T TRUST GOD WHEN IT COMES TO CONCRETE, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Locke [DVD] (DVD)
The entire film takes place in a car. Not just bits and pieces, the whole thing. Locke (Tom Hardy) is driving to London to see the birth of his child by a one night stand. It will take him about 90 minutes, and like a Hemingway novel, it is done in real time. Ivan spends almost the entire trip on the phone and when he is not on the phone he talks to his deceased father.

Ivan decides he needs to do the right thing by being at the birth of his child because of his poor relationship with his father. He imagines everything will be good afterwards. He takes calls from his son watching the football match. He has told his wife what has happened, and she is not dealing with it very well. The woman giving birth has issues as he talks to her and the hospital staff. Ivan is the foreman over a large concrete pour that will happen in his absence. He has to deal with corporate while micro managing a drinking worker through his job over the phone. He does so very cool and collectively, yet things don't go his way.

The film never went anywhere. After 20 minutes or so in the car, I was groaning as I knew this was going to be another one man play. Fans of "Vehicle 19" or "Buried" should love this one too. Oh the drama.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best British films I've seen in a long time, 3 May 2014
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Locke [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this British gem of a film at my local multiplex cinema and I was completely taken in by it. It was one of the best British films I'd seen in a very long time. It had pretty much everything, drama, suspense, and terrific acting by Tom Hardy I thought.

It tells of Ivan Locke, who's happily married with two sons, who leaves work in Birmingham on his way home or so we're led to believe. He's on his way to a hospital in London and be there for the birth of his baby he had with another woman. He wants to "do the right thing" and be there at the birth of his baby. With plenty of calls on his Bluetooth hands free kit, with names of his family, work colleagues and the other woman, coming up on the screen, it all makes for a gripping and frenetic 80 minutes. He also speaks to his dead father as though he was there in the car with him.

All the action takes place in and around the car of Ivan Locke. Very strange some might say. May be. But it kept this viewer gripped right on through to the end. My eyes never left the screen for a single moment. It's one of the best films I've seen so far this year at least. It's a brilliant idea and in all honesty, the film works on so many levels. It's dramatic, emotional, and completely absorbing to this reviewer anyway. I would recommend it definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, different drama, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Locke [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Locke is a relatively high concept premise - you probably know this already but I think it's worth pointing out that the entire movie takes place in one setting - a car. And we see just one actor, our driver Ivan Locke (Tom Hardy). It may sound a little ridiculous but for me it really worked - a cracking little masterclass in acting from Hardy and doing a lot with a little from writer/director Steven Knight.

To say much more about the plot would detract from the spectacle I think - Hardy is driving somewhere and he has various important phone calls to make and receive along the way. The voices on the other end of the phone are the only other interaction we have with the outside world, listen carefully and you'll hear some familiar voices (or you can just check the cast list). From family to work colleagues to bosses etc, the drama is amped up as we move along through these interactions.

As with similar one set films - Buried, Lifeboat, Vehicle 19 etc - this is not going to be to everybody's taste. I loved it, my girlfriend hated it and one glance at the Amazon ratings back up this difference. I think the acting is good enough and the directing inventive enough to make this worth your while though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising and tense., 21 Oct. 2014
By 
C. Cooney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Locke (DVD)
Don't bother if you want explosions and robots hitting each other. However, if you're prepared for a tense, grown up film then this is for you.
Everything takes place within a single car journey and while that sounds like it could be dull, in fact it's absolutely mesmerising and Tom Hardy's performance is utterly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Locke [DVD]
Locke [DVD] by Steven Knight (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews