Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great ending to a great series
Ok. This will not win any literary awards. But it has a well realised world and magic system, Will Wight is doing something different with the genre and it is damn good fun to read. A tale of how a young boy matures into a warrior, it avoids the cliches (he does not get the girl, and he does not go into battle alone at the end or make stupid decisions) and it is all the...
Published 2 months ago by J. Kidd

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
Like the title says, it follows on pretty much seamlessly from the previous book, but with no new surprises or twists.
It's perfectly good, for some light weight, by the numbers fantasy, but I think the idea was pretty much explored in the first two books.
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
Like the title says, it follows on pretty much seamlessly from the previous book, but with no new surprises or twists.
It's perfectly good, for some light weight, by the numbers fantasy, but I think the idea was pretty much explored in the first two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great ending to a great series, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
Ok. This will not win any literary awards. But it has a well realised world and magic system, Will Wight is doing something different with the genre and it is damn good fun to read. A tale of how a young boy matures into a warrior, it avoids the cliches (he does not get the girl, and he does not go into battle alone at the end or make stupid decisions) and it is all the better for it. V readable and addictive. Please fix a few typos by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
This trilogy was really quite brilliant I loved every minute of reading this book and will be looking for more of will Wight books in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, needs a bit more pace., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
Not quite finished yet so may update...
It's a good follow on and we'll worth the read. I think the author has tried really hard to give the characters depth and substance by exploring their backgrounds and emotions, however sometimes this seems to slow the story progression and you end up thinking, "just get on with it".
I love the idea of the gates and territories though, pretty original. Would read more of these books (and may have to, there is a lot to finish in this book yet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
This was a very good ending to the series, wrapping up loose ends but he add a few dangling threads at the end. I cant not wait for his new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, but the ending was a bit disappointing, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
This was a satisfactory conclusion to the trilogy, and I enjoyed reading it. My main disappointment was the very ending, in which I thought Simon did something completely unbelievable and out of character. Throughout the books Simon has at least tried to do what he personally thinks is right rather than just doing what he was told, and yet... the book ends as it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Trilogy, 6 May 2014
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
If you liked the previous books you'll enjoy this one. Its still pretty superficial, both in terms of characterization and in terms of events, but if you got this far you'll be expecting that.

I did find that this book in particular shied away from anything dark, you'd get some pretty nasty events but the author kept them just off-screen and they never seemed to impact the main characters.

On the plus side things do come to a conclusion and its a very easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this trilogy. I couldn't put them down until they were all read. Great storyline. Well worth it's five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice end, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
Another good book in this amazing trilogy, in this book you get to know some of the characters better and elements of humour creep into the book. Its not quite as good as the second book because it is too predictable but all in all a nice read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hi, 14 April 2014
This review is from: City of Light (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy: Book #3) (Kindle Edition)
excellent book serie and very original fun exciting series of fast book releases, can not wait to see what next trom this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews