Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
I have read several of the books by this author and all have been fantastic without exception. keep it up please.
Published 11 months ago by D Harding

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the explanations are lame and the characterisation is non-existant
The plot is tired (just another spin on 'plucky humans survive against all odds after glactic bullies trash the planet') but the quality of the writing is utterly diabolical. It really is the the sort of prose you'd expect a bright twelve year old to produce in the first flush of enusiasm for writing an 'epic space opera'.

Yes this is pulp science fiction (so I...
Published 7 months ago by RugbyMonkey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the explanations are lame and the characterisation is non-existant, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The plot is tired (just another spin on 'plucky humans survive against all odds after glactic bullies trash the planet') but the quality of the writing is utterly diabolical. It really is the the sort of prose you'd expect a bright twelve year old to produce in the first flush of enusiasm for writing an 'epic space opera'.

Yes this is pulp science fiction (so I expect to have to sift through the dross now and then) but even for the genre the plot development is lazy, the explanations are lame and the characterisation is non-existant. In fact it really is hard to find a single redeeming feature about this book (or series - yes I actually tried reading the second book just to see if it could possible be as bad - it was!).

The good reviews are clearly bogus. Looking at the rate at which the author is producing books (it looks like one a month) it's easy to see why the writing is so poor. Steer clear and if you want to read something in the genre then have a look at Doug Dandridge (Empires at war) or better still read David Weber or Steve White.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is going on with Amazon reviews?, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is just awful, I don't mean to be offensive but bare minimum it needs a seriously good edit. Looking at the reviews with a slightly more analytical eye it becomes obvious that they're bogus. I have no idea how people are doing this but it really pisses me off that due to clowns like this I now have to try and figure out whether the reviews are actually for real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful rubbish. Badly edited. Don't believe the cookie-cuter reviews., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is dreadful stuff, but I daresay the author makes a "lucrative profit" from it. (Not sure a profit can be lucrative - a contract could be, but a profit, not so much, but the author does seem to love the word, using it about 10 times in the first few pages. Spelling mistakes like roll in place of role convince me that the "editor" has not done a great job, and the author's total lack of imagination made this dull.

I'm not convinced that the top brass would look to a mere frigate captain for advice on strategy, either.
I love great SF, but since the death of Ian Banks, it seems that we're unlikely to be treated to anything remotely close. This certainly isn't.

Looking at the high score reviews, they all look disturbingly similar - I smell a rat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All too easy & lazy, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the key elements of good SciFi is the bits that are not SciFi have to have some basis in reality.
The timelines proposed for building new facilities , integrating new systems etc and reuse of non atmospheric craft to suddenly become capable of lifting hundreds of people off earth are completely unrealistic when the proposed human tech does not a million miles from current.
Lazy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of events happen that seem a little too easy and convenient (inventing magic weapons and building ships and ..., 12 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Spoilers! An ok novel, but no more than that. The story idea is interesting enough but the writing is very unexciting and workmanlike, and also very predictable. Characters are never properly fleshed out, the alien races never really described in sufficient detail. Lots of events happen that seem a little too easy and convenient (inventing magic weapons and building ships and buildings in a matter of weeks). There are no villains other than the alien Kleese race, who aren't properly developed anyway. A better author would have put in more twists and turns, maybe a human traitor, some more chapters about survival on Earth, a lot more about the destruction of the planet. It all seems to fall very neatly into place for the humans after the Earth is destroyed very early on. The author has a very fast work rate in writing books but I wish he would spend more time on editing and finessing their work as there are some good ideas here that would benefit from being more developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read several of the books by this author and all have been fantastic without exception. keep it up please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read and a promising storyline, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really like Raymond's work, he knows how to tell a story and keep it rolling along at a decent pace. Ok, so the characters aren't that deep and the science is a bit "convenient" in places but that's the great thing about fiction, it's... fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was an enjoyable read with engaging characters and a good pace. I look forward to the next instalment, soon I hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good sci fi, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I liked very much the story line and am looking forward very much to the next book in the series.
It really is a shame that it takes me such a short time to read an excellent book knowing how long it takes the author to write them.
I wonder where the humans will go from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved the book., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic read. Please continue this series. I enjoyed how you developed the plot and turned some of humanities less appealing traits into real strengths. But I want to see more bugs!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews