Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story line with a lot of potential
To the author. Great imagination and a very good story line. The book felt rushed and missed a lot of great opportunities. This could be a great series if you take a little of Webb's way of getting into describing battles more. The building of characters is very rushed and you feel uncomfortable writing about social activities.
My recommendation would be take time to...
Published 7 months ago by readsalot

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is going on with Amazon reviews?
This book is just awful, I don't mean to be offensive but bare minimum it needs a seriously good edit. Looking at the reviews with a slightly more analytical eye it becomes obvious that they're bogus. I have no idea how people are doing this but it really pisses me off that due to clowns like this I now have to try and figure out whether the reviews are actually for real.
Published 7 months ago by M. Myerscough


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is going on with Amazon reviews?, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is just awful, I don't mean to be offensive but bare minimum it needs a seriously good edit. Looking at the reviews with a slightly more analytical eye it becomes obvious that they're bogus. I have no idea how people are doing this but it really pisses me off that due to clowns like this I now have to try and figure out whether the reviews are actually for real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful rubbish. Badly edited. Don't believe the cookie-cuter reviews., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is dreadful stuff, but I daresay the author makes a "lucrative profit" from it. (Not sure a profit can be lucrative - a contract could be, but a profit, not so much, but the author does seem to love the word, using it about 10 times in the first few pages. Spelling mistakes like roll in place of role convince me that the "editor" has not done a great job, and the author's total lack of imagination made this dull.

I'm not convinced that the top brass would look to a mere frigate captain for advice on strategy, either.
I love great SF, but since the death of Ian Banks, it seems that we're unlikely to be treated to anything remotely close. This certainly isn't.

Looking at the high score reviews, they all look disturbingly similar - I smell a rat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars the explanations are lame and the characterisation is non-existant, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The plot is tired (just another spin on 'plucky humans survive against all odds after glactic bullies trash the planet') but the quality of the writing is utterly diabolical. It really is the the sort of prose you'd expect a bright twelve year old to produce in the first flush of enusiasm for writing an 'epic space opera'.

Yes this is pulp science fiction (so I expect to have to sift through the dross now and then) but even for the genre the plot development is lazy, the explanations are lame and the characterisation is non-existant. In fact it really is hard to find a single redeeming feature about this book (or series - yes I actually tried reading the second book just to see if it could possible be as bad - it was!).

The good reviews are clearly bogus. Looking at the rate at which the author is producing books (it looks like one a month) it's easy to see why the writing is so poor. Steer clear and if you want to read something in the genre then have a look at Doug Dandridge (Empires at war) or better still read David Weber or Steve White.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All too easy & lazy, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the key elements of good SciFi is the bits that are not SciFi have to have some basis in reality.
The timelines proposed for building new facilities , integrating new systems etc and reuse of non atmospheric craft to suddenly become capable of lifting hundreds of people off earth are completely unrealistic when the proposed human tech does not a million miles from current.
Lazy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story line with a lot of potential, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
To the author. Great imagination and a very good story line. The book felt rushed and missed a lot of great opportunities. This could be a great series if you take a little of Webb's way of getting into describing battles more. The building of characters is very rushed and you feel uncomfortable writing about social activities.
My recommendation would be take time to describe the tech and how it works in a lot more detail, build the suspense up before battles and during and you have a great opportunity to take this story line forward to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Sci-fi Book, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One if the things I really love about my kindle is the ability to find books of this nature. While there is nothing earth-shattering in this book it is a highly enjoyable read and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Doug Farren or Evan Currie

Please provide a sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever., 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Another rich universe to mine for stories, sympathetic characters and enough action to keep anyone happy. But, there had to be one, The story came across as a bit rushed at times, I wouldn't of minded to hear about the problems faced by refugees after they left earth. I felt that part of the story was glossed over somewhat. What was it like to live in a tunnel. What problems did they face.A small gripe from an otherwise another fine book, I will buy next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good read, just reliant!!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I' m extremely interested in this novel, can't wait for the next book. Will wade end up to be the next marine gen? MR Weil hurry up with the second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book but can't wait for the sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Empire Wars: Destruction (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book couldn't put it down. Would really like to see more in the of the saga.please please more more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews