Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great riffs, I can't help loving this album
I am almost tempted to not like this album if only because of the hype that is gathering over the band, but that would be highly unfair. This is actually a highly effective modern rock album that puts the song first and provides an instantly memorable sound. Yes it's a bit formulaic in places, you can't avoid the Biffy Clyro comparisons, not just because of Sam McTrusty's...
Published 1 month ago by Big Jim

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and ... it will divide
This has nothing on Vivarium. It's good. But, just good. It's all gone a bit too Snow Patrol for me. I've seen the guys play live a few times now, they are brilliant so I do recommend you go see them if you haven't already, nice lads too.

My biggest criticism with this is that it's all just a bit too radio pleasing. Some of the lyrics are a bit dodgy also. The...
Published 1 month ago by Travis Bickle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great riffs, I can't help loving this album, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
I am almost tempted to not like this album if only because of the hype that is gathering over the band, but that would be highly unfair. This is actually a highly effective modern rock album that puts the song first and provides an instantly memorable sound. Yes it's a bit formulaic in places, you can't avoid the Biffy Clyro comparisons, not just because of Sam McTrusty's strong accent but because tracks like "Be a Kid" and "Brothers and Sisters" (a brilliant track by the way) share similar song structures. However there are other influences on offer here. "Fall into the Party" channels their inner Big Country, "Cell Mate" has echoes of the Foo Fighters and "Rest in pieces" could happily appear on an Aztec Camera album. So the influences are pretty high quality and let's face it to be "innovative" nowadays takes a bit of doing and is more than likely going to sound awful so why not stick some great songs in front of loud guitars and beefy rhythms and have bloody good fun. More power to their elbows I'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
Great album containing some brilliant songs ignore the negative reviews below especially the one where the reviewer clearly thinks they are writing some glossy magazine. Enjoy and good luck to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year! ROCKS!!!!!, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
WOW,WOW,WOW, this band just get better and better. They started on a high note and just keep going beyond the stars. Forget all that X-factor chart music rubbish that has trashed the UK's music industry, THIS is what real music sounds like and should be top of everyone's list. Right now Scotland has some of the best bands around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album!, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
this is a great album! I ordered the great divide after hearing track 5: brothers and sisters on kerrang so I didn't really expect much after only hearing one track but I was pleasantly surprised its actually a great album and i'm glad I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous album, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
In my opinion not as good as their previous album - a bit more mellow - but, still, I love them and this is a great CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and ... it will divide, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
This has nothing on Vivarium. It's good. But, just good. It's all gone a bit too Snow Patrol for me. I've seen the guys play live a few times now, they are brilliant so I do recommend you go see them if you haven't already, nice lads too.

My biggest criticism with this is that it's all just a bit too radio pleasing. Some of the lyrics are a bit dodgy also. The extra tracks are really good. Not sure why they are just added tracks, should have been a part of the album. If you like this album, you will love Vivarium. 'Caribbean War Syndrome' is an amazing song. Better than anything on this album. Check it out now.

In summary, Great Divide is fine, it should propel them, they deserve it. I said to Sam about 5 years ago in my home town of Hull that it took Biffy many albums to get their, Twin Atlantic no doubt will do it the same way. One recommendation please for the next one, make it a bit more rough around the edges, crank up the guitars and leave out the pop.

Good luck though boys, I will be seeing you on tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's excellent., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd heard a couple of tracks on the radio last week so thought I'd buy the album. It's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop? Rock? Who cares. It's a great listen., 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Great Divide (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to this album.
I get that some people think this latest album from Twin Atlantic has gone a bit too 'pop-rock', but just put that to one side if you're listening to it for the first time. I think categorising it as such will unnecessarily put some people off. Pop or rock - whatever you want to call it, it's just a fantastic album. There are some really brilliant tracks and fantastic riffs, as well as some more contemplative songs that really balance it out.
It might not be for everyone, but I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Delivery, Great Album, What More Could You Want, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Divide (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Fantastic album favourite band by a mile :) Twin Atlantic rock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as their first album but still some great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Divide (Bonus DVD)
Great Divide (Bonus DVD) by Twin Atlantic (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews