Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars33
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2006
This film is in the finest tradition of British wit, humour, intelligence and atmosphere. The acting is superb, the plot is rich, the direction is terrific. I simply cannot understand why it seems to have disappeared from the scene. Could it be that it is too good? Perhaps it is too good? But how do you get *too* entertaining?
Anyway, in case there is anyone out there who accidentally reads this and has not seen the film, *get* it! And see it repeatedly; you are guaranteed to miss bits the first time round, but it is so much fun that you will not find it to be an imposition to see it again.
99 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have actually seen the DVD release. Great picture quality and sound. Original trailer etc. all told a fantastic bargain and I never thought I would have it on a commercial DVD. The film is very much of its time and quite fascinating to see so many well known faces and the London background. This is a film makers fantasy view of London...or is it? Nicely packaged with slimline space saving case. Well worth a purchase. Excellent value.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
At last available on DVD - I just loved this movie when it first appeared in cinemas. Saw it a couple of times and then it disappeared. I was so disappointed when it did not get a release on DVD. But now it has a release date at last and I cannot wait to see it again. Denholm Elliott is fantastic in it as is Alan Bates and the script is sharp and fresh.
19/07/14 Watching it right now and it is every bit as good as I remember it. Naturally it is dated but it still works as a satire and black comedy. A witty, sharp script by Frederic Raphael and a fantastic central performance by Alan Bates make it a joy to watch, not forgetting Denholm Elliott playing it to the hilt as a louche wastrel.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
At long last, one of the best British films of the 1960s has made it onto DVD. In 1964, this wasn't a big box-office success, as many had expected, and its director, Clive Donner, never did anything remotely as good in the rest of his career, so this film has rather been forgotten. But it's one of the sleekest, slyest comedies Britain has ever given the cinema, and the savagery under its glossy surface is palpable. The upwardly-mobile hero (Alan Bates) is quite prepared to kill to get what he wants, and his utterly selfish attitudes are designed to win him every success in the changing Britain of the Swinging London era. But it's not tied to its period in the way that so many 60s films are - indeed, it might be said to predict the Britain of the Thatcher era. The dialogue by Frederic Raphael is often stingingly witty, and Denholm Elliott's performance as the old-fashioned bounder who gives Bates his lessons in poshness is quite superb - it started the actor on a revived and extremely busy film career. The cameraman was Nicolas Roeg, little-known at the time, but seizing every chance to demonstrate his skill.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
I love Alan Bates! From 'A kind of loving' right up to 'Gosford Park'. (blueprint for Downton) via Mel Gibson's 'Hamlet' he is a wonderful actor and he doesn't let down here. Charming 1960's social ladder romp with a twist but I must admit a few implausibles are present here, not least the ending. An extra ten minutes to the film would have revealed all methinks, but all in all just go with the flow and be immersed in a most delightful entertainment and a superb colour print. (Well done Network! )
n.b. Check out Gallery in Special features. All pics are publicity stills bar one. It looks like a scene from the film (but isn't) whereas the dancing party has spilled out onto the front lawn of the big house, if it wasn't for the fact that if you look carefully you can see a grey Merton Park Studios equipment van in the far distance!
Hilarious!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Have been waiting for this to be released on DVD. It was one of the best of British films of the 60's. and still very enjoyable today. Like the new slim plastic case. Hope more DVD's are released in these as are more space saving.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
[...]
The first 2min aren't so hot, but stick around. Omigosh, I wanted to rewatch it immediately, that hasn't happened forever. If you like Whit Stillman, or Roger Dodger def check this out, great rapid fire dialogue, great English class commentary. So much better than something like Darling w/ Julie Christie. Yes, it's a young man's fantasy, but a female reviewer on amazon.co.uk said "is it not more popular because it's too perfect? 5 stars!"

So many great lines, watched it over my Saturday morning coffee and was glowing all day long. DVD isn't out till June, but it's streaming here
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I can only agree with the high praise from previous Five Star reviewers, and must thank them for their views.
High review ratings always catch my eye as I check out the suggestions that appear below the films I am browsing. Many great discoveries have been found through this helpful format.
This is an Excellent Film, Highly Enjoyable Entertainment..
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I last saw this movie in the cinema when it first came out. At that time I thought it was brilliantly funny and beautifully acted. Alan Bates and Denham Elliott were perfect. My good opinion of it has not changed. This is a classic of British cinema.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Wonderful. Great print. Well overdue.

Only complaint - Network's packaging states film is shown in original 1.66:1 ratio. It isn't.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)