Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just before they hit the big time
There are a few Talking Heads live albums out there but for a group that developed with every studio release this is no bad thing as each live outing preserves a certain stage in that development. Many of the details of this release are in the extensive blurb provided by Amazon so it's worth noting that some of these performances may be available elsewhere. It's also...
Published 3 months ago by Big Jim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Disappointing. Muddy sound quality.
Published 24 days ago by R. G. Kerr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just before they hit the big time, 12 May 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Performance (Audio CD)
There are a few Talking Heads live albums out there but for a group that developed with every studio release this is no bad thing as each live outing preserves a certain stage in that development. Many of the details of this release are in the extensive blurb provided by Amazon so it's worth noting that some of these performances may be available elsewhere. It's also worth noting that there isn't much, if any, evidence of post recording tarting up so the sound quality is occasionally a bit dense and we have a warts and all record, between track tuning and all. We also have Tina Weymouth's bass much further forward in the mix than on the studio tracks, which is definitely no bad thing. For me this adds to the immediacy of the recording and ensures that this album will be getting regular plays in the Big Jim Household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performance, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance (Audio CD)
I've wanted this since 1980 when I got the Cities import 45 with the live version from this show.
The last of the original 4 piece...they should've put this out 40+ years ago...Psycho Killer/Life During Wartime/Take Me To Thje River SMOKES. This is a snapshot of a great American Band that would sustain this level of greatness for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This should have been released years ago!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance (Audio CD)
I've been a big fan of Talking Heads since first hearing the single "Take me to the river" and was lucky enough to see them at this point in their career when they were touring Fear Of Music. As previous reviewers have noted the sound quality at points isn't perfect but for me it adds to the feel of the recording otherwise this is a very good cd showing Talking heads on mighty form.

An absolute must own for Talking heads fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK Quality Broadcast - But What an Awful Cover, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance (Audio CD)
The quality of this broadcast CD aint great but it is passable - but just ge the download as it has no artwork to speak of and no notes whatsoever. It's a shame this company have to cut corners like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talking Head's fans take note, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance (Audio CD)
Has the Talking Heads ever made a bad album? no and even in the recorded live broadcast this is a fantastic addition to any fan's music library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Aug 2014
By 
R. G. Kerr "razorboy" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance (Audio CD)
Disappointing. Muddy sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Performance
Performance by Talking Heads (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews